We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Ranked #48 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Returning visitor”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Hotel is in an excellent location to both the Airport and local ammeneties, It is very clean and well maintained, the staff are extremely helpful and always willing to help. I have used this hotel on many occasions and it has great conference facilities and i look forward to my return again in the future. 5* for me!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    259
    137
    49
    25
See reviews for
149
233
50
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have made several visits to this hotel and always found the staff extremely professional and pleasant. From the cleaners to receptionists they are a credit to the Holiday Inn chain. In particular, Louise, Vicky and Pamela are worthy of high praise.

Room Tip: really good cooked breakfast till 10am
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

booked in for one nite before our fight next day to Barcelona, great location to Airport comfortable rooms clean and everything you need for a overnite stay, reception staff friendly, Breakfast was great set in nice surroundings and very clean and know one bothers with you T V to watch and a selection of morning papers to read, would def stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswood
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

When you book telephone the hotel and tell them that you have seen it at a cheaper price, Look at Laterooms.com or some of the others and see what they offer the same hotel as the hotel has a price match policy. Buffet breakfast is ok but no Bacon. Wifi only availible in the reception/bar area.

Room Tip: When you book telephone the hotel and tell them that you have seen it at a cheaper price, Look at La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I booked a one night stay at this hotel whilst visiting relatives in the
city as an economy choice. It is sited approximately 6 miles from the city
centre off the main road and in the middle of an industrial estate. On
arrival at the hotel to check in at approximately 9 p.m. I went to reception
where I was made to wait without acknowledgement whilst the Receptionist/
Bar Maid was busy serving a large group at the bar which adjoins the
reception desk. No effort was made to summon another staff member, if there
was one, and after eventually being able to check in went to my room.

The room was of reasonable standard with ambient lighting, bed lights and a
table lamp at the desk by the T.V. To enable you to read or work as you wish
The first problem was that this did not work and when I made the fault
known to reception I was told that there would be someone coming on duty at
11 p.m. That would be able to fix it! As I was going out for the evening
this was O.K. And it was done by the time I returned.

As part of a supposedly International Hotel group I could see no facilities
for International travellers in the form of instructions for use of any of
the facilities which I find very surprising in a "City of Culture".

After a good nights sleep I got up to shower and dress and went to make
myself a cup of tea from the provided kettle and condiment set in the room
only to find there was none in the room only 3 sachets of coffee 4 teaspoon
sized cartons of milk, sugar but no sweeteners which I normally use. As you
are in the process of "getting ready" you certainly don't want to be waiting
whilst you phone to reception and have to wait for them to be brought up to
you at that time of the day.

I went down for my breakfast to find that it consisted of a choice of Baked
Beans, sausages ,what appeared to be reconstituted powdered scrambled egg -
(overcooked). When I requested bacon I was informed "We don't do bacon" and
neither were there tomatoes,mushrooms or anything else to accompany this.
The sausages would have good contenders for a World War 2 recipe book as I
think there was very little meat content in them. Then to the toaster - Thin
sliced bread put through once brought out two very lightly singed slices -
put through for a second run to brown it up a bit brought them out nearer to
black!! Then to the butter to put on the toast stored in plastic pots in a
dish next to the hot breakfast cabinet. So well liquefied when opened. Then
the marmalade which was obviously bought with greatest economy in mind -
tasteless runny gloop! All of this was able to be enjoyed? In the ambience
of the barn of a room serving as reception - bar and dining room with a
lovely outside view to the car park of the Garden Centre next door.

In fairness to the staff they seemed to be friendly enough but just doing
their job with the facilities provided and they have to work with.

All in all I think I would have been better served by choosing a 2 Star
family run guest house which cares for it's guests better and charges less
so giving greater value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Manga Spain
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We arrived late into Liverpool airport so this hotel is in great location as only a few minutes away from the airport. The bar is always open so a couple of drinks before bed is great too. And in the morning you wake fresh to set of on your onward journey nice and fresh, specially after the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Chose this hotel as it was close to family. Arrived late in the evening after a horrible Train journey. Vicky abnd Louise both very welcoming and friendly on reception. Good sized clean room on the first floor (Wifi reaches there) Bfast starts af 4am ! breaskfast is buffet style and consists of usual cereals and continental as well as Hot scrambled eggs, sausages, beans & toast. All in all a good hotel, nothing special, apart from the service. It was a very bsuy weekend yet the staff were still able to smile and talk to you rather than the usual impersonal service. Thank you Vicky and Louise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Address: 1 Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#33 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool John Lennon Airport is ideally located for both Liverpool Airport and as a base for exploring the fabulous City of Liverpool, which is celebrating as European Captial of Culture 2008. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value for money so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile. We offer complimentary secure parking at the hotel for any guests staying overnight or attending a conference in one of our 3 purpose built meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing