We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't stay here !”
Review of 62 Castle Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
62 Castle Street
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Not sure where to begin......we stayed here this weekend coming to Liverpool for a family wedding. My husband and I stayed 2 nights my two boys came for 1 night cost £650 all together.
Before we arrived I noticed that the hotel restaurant and bar was closed if you look on there website the photos of the bar and restaurant are the main feature of this hotel. This will be run as a completely separate entity when it reopens in May. the current hotel website is therefore grossly misleading.The images on the website were my reasons for booking.
I emailed the manager before we arrived with my concerns that half the hotel was closed should there be a reduction in the room rate ! She wrote back that when I booked 2 months before it was on the there website that the bar and restaurant was closed.
I am not interested in the money its the life style I always look for and the enjoyment of staying in a beautiful boutique hotels in a beautiful city like Liverpool so all v disappointing to say the least. When we arrived on Friday night we were told we had to pay in full by the night porter which was not a good start to a customer relelionship.We did not, but tried to go on line to find another hotel for the sat night. The wifi didn't work on second floor. I was told that it only worked on ground floor, but actually it did not work there either.
The room was large, a bit on the grubby side,aircon noisy and we could not open windows ! Very dark definitely needs decorating.
In the morning we found the temporary lounge where they were serving breakfast. found out we were not on a B and B tariff and so had to pay for it on top.Again the room so tired and need of decorating.staff friendly . For breakfast we would have been better off going over the road to Pret !
I know this hotel is owned by a large company from Ireland. I am not the complaining type but feel there was no goodwill to us by the manager, who we were unable to meet face to face. We always try to choose lovely hotels, as it enhances the enjoyment of the city we are visiting. Liverpool is great though!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nailsworthshammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience here at 62 Castle St. Firstly I would just like to confirm that you contacted the hotel on the day you were arriving to ask for a discount off the rate you had already booked, I checked and you made your original reservation a month after the Bar & Restaurant was closed so this information was clear on the website at this time, I refused to discount your rate as the Bar & Restaurant is not a package deal, however I did, as a gesture of good will offer to cancel your bookings at no charge so you could book alternative accommodation to ensure you had an enjoyable stay in Liverpool, which you declined. It is also on both the website and your booking confirmation that wifi is only available in the public areas and internet access in the guest rooms is hard wire connection. Whilst checking your booking I noted that you booked and received confirmation that you had chosen to book a Room Only rate so were charged for the breakfast taken. The hotel endeavours to give our guests a great experience whilst visiting the City so to make up for your disappointment that the restaurant was closed, I supplied you with an extensive list of the quality bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel so you could make a reservation if you wished. I am sorry you feel that you were not shown goodwill by me discounting money off your stay but as the I have already mentioned, the bar & restaurant were not a package so I think my response to you was fair. The Bar & Restaurant is now open so I do hope you return to us to try it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 793 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Location fantastic, room was lovely but absolutely too hot! The air con was neither use nor ornament and the windows were locked shut. So we had to sleep on the bed rather than in it!

The cooked breakfast looked lovely but both of us had an upset tummy after we had eaten it. I had one bite of the sausage and left the rest and the scrambled egg was greasy and very runny! Better quality food needed to say the hotel is priced highly.



Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank KCR2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for writing your feedback, I would have liked to have heard from you during your stay with regard to the quality of breakfast so that we could have corrected things whilst you were still here with us at the hotel. I can only apologise for the heat in the rooms, as I have mentioned in other reviews the air con units are being serviced and new parts ordered, unfortunately not as quickly as we would like. I hope that your experience here has not put you off coming back to 62 Castle St.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Brilliant location, layout of the reception and the rooms. Something special. But the execution and the fashion of which it is maintained is appalling for a hotel that markets itself as a boutique hotel. Checked in that was fine, we then started to unpack and I noticed the air conditioning unit was open and half repaired as if the workmen had just left. The plug mechanism was fully dismantled, I love going to hotels putting them back together unfortunately I couldn't mend the shower that dripped continuously, I then noticed that a bulb had gone as well. I raised this with reception and they offered me a fan as the air con throughout the whole hotel had been down since Thursday and an engineer would not be out until next week. That is not acceptable. The other items were unexplained how a room could be signed off to be ready with all those things wrong. For the bulb I was told to leave a note for the maids and they would change the bulb, the next day the maids had just moved my note next to the lamp and hadn't actioned. I then looked around the rest of the hotel and noticed paint peeling from the walls with the hotel actually looking tired, it was really disappointing. Two final points is that wifi is not available in the rooms which is not what you expect from top hotels, which I thought this was, finally the car park is discounted at Q-park - I walked there around 10 minute walk with all our luggage to then place the discount card in the machine for it to be rejected. As I was in a rush for a flight I didn't have time to mess around with this hotel any longer, really disappointed for weekend that was hampered by a hotel that could be something great but instead is no better than £30 a night hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us at 62 Castle St. I can only apologise for the air con unit, if we have contractors in the rooms they don't always leave them as we like and with the hotel being so busy this has obviously been overlooked and not check prior to your arrival. With regard to the bulb, I have spoken to each of my team and no one can remember this conversation, we have a supply of bulbs at reception and the team will change the bulb if they are notified, never would they suggest you leave a note for housekeeping. We have internet in the guest bedrooms and wifi in the public areas, this is in the information on our website and also on booking confirmation to make guests aware of this prior to their stay. I can not comment on the reason your ticket was rejected, I know that reception give clear instructions on which ticket to put in first, unfortunately there is nothing that the hotel can do about this but thank you for mentioning it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I have been quite bemused and confused by the negative comments about 62 Castle street and cannot recommend this as a place to stay, highly enough. It is a wonderful hotel, charming and full of character. It's housekeeping is to a very high standard, it is perfectly placed in the city centre just minutes away from the Liverpool 1 shopping complex, yet with its secondary glazing and beautiful soft lighting you could easily be in a remote country hotel. Our room was gorgeous with a huge comfortable bed and all in-room amenities. I felt very safe staying here, with staff available 24 hours a day and a secure door system which many hotels do not have. The staff are extremely professional and friendly and the manageress Elaine clearly takes pride and pleasure in the guests experience, thank you to all of the staff who made our stay here so lovely, especially the housekeeper who serviced our room beautifully each morning, we will definitely be visiting again and highly recommend 62 Castle Street to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsRichtea73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put your experience at 62 Castle St on here and also for your positive comments about the hotel and the team here. We pride our selves on interacting with our guests and it was a delighted to speak with you both about your time here in the city and to try and make recommendations to make the most of your stay. I do hope you will both return very soon to us here at 62 and to continue to explore Liverpool !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

When I originally booked this hotel, the reviews were all good. With a few weeks to go, I had concerns. The reviews weren't great. Mainly due to lack of cleanliness.
First impressions- Location is great, just off Liverpool one and 10 minute walk to the Albert Docks. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 2nd floor, overlooking the Law Courts. The executive suite was great. Very spacious, a lovely clean bathroom, with a great shower, and the most comfortable bed ever, with crisp,clean and white sheets. The lighting was great during daylight hours. At night the room was lit by various lighting means, very cosy, but not great for applying makeup. Our only moan was the poor condition of the windows and the design of the sink tap. The tap was so close to the sink, not only was it difficult to wash hands, it was virtually impossible to fill the kettle. These were minor issues. The first morning we went out for breakfast. The second morning we had breakfast in the restaurant. The restaurant and waitress were very nice, but the breakfast is overpriced.
Our main reason for visiting Liverpool, was to watch a game at Anfield. Awesome, Liverpool won. Very easy to get a bus to the ground. Shopping and eating in the city centre is great. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank clareian7274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at 62 Castle St. As you are probably aware the hotel is a Grade II listed building and unfortunately the maintenance is never ending, the windows are on the list to update as the current windows have been permanently fixed due to health and safety, unfortunately the design of the sink taps is another matter and for this I can only apologise. I hope that these issues will not stop you returning to 62 Castle St.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Amazing location, could not have asked for better.
Building, reception and staircase was really nice. Room at first glance was lovely also, but after the first day I started to notice that it wasn't as shiny as I first thought. For example it was clean but the likes of skirting boards radiators etc had a a thick layer of dust. The windows were rotten inside and out. The sealant round the bath was worn away and tiles on the floor were all worn which I couldn't tell if it was dirt or scratches! The room wasn't lit very well, it could do with either more lamps or more light fittings in the ceiling (I dont think there were any at all). Was surprised there was no mini fridge?!
However the bed was a dream, literally. The staff were so friendly and helpful, could not fault them at all.
I just think for a boutique hotel and the price there could have been a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here at 62 Castle St.
I note your comments about the dust in the rooms and have spoken with our housekeeping department to ensure that it doesn't happen again, I can only apologise for this error. We are currently working our way through refreshing the rooms but with a listed building it has its difficulties such as existing windows, however we have, before Christmas, retiled all the bathroom floors so I think the marks are the grout that have not been removed completely. I thank you for your positive comments about the team and will certainly share them with them as it is good to have nice feedback on the service we deliver. I hope that you do come back to the hotel at some point in the future to see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had high hopes for this hotel but after checking in they soon went! Our room was so dull and dismal with peeling paint and a general not clean feeling. We went out for meal and on our return found the night manager standing outside locked out!!!!!! He had not got a clue what to do, and two of us had to pull the sliding door aside to get to the inside push button, Not good!
We then arranged for breakfast at 6.45am and arrived at the breakfast room to find it locked, when we found a member of the kitchen staff she unlocked the doors and switched the heating and lights on……or did she? It was so dull and cold in there!
We asked for a drink and some cereals, she said we don't have cereals… My wife didn't get her drink and the toast we ordered never turned up! It must have been hiding somewhere with all of the staff!!!!
We checked out and booked into the Ibis around the corner and what a difference….Light rooms, warm rooms, pleasant staff and food!!!!

Room Tip: Go to the Ibis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilHems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here at 62 Castle St. I am sorry if your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. I can only apologise over the incident with the front door, unfortunately the door was faulty and we had to wait for the contractor to send an engineer, hence the reason it closed and had to be manually pulled open, this has now been rectified. Our breakfast times are clearly stated on all the hotel literature, including our Welcome letter that is handed to every guest at check in and the guest packs in each of the rooms. Heating in lounge area is part of the hotel heating system so would have automatically been on as it was in all the guest bedrooms. Again I am sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 98 in Liverpool
1,654 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,258 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $74 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 Castle Street is a 4 star hotel in the heart of the City Centre. 62 Castle Street is a Grade II listed building which was built in 1868. The luxurious hideaway of 62 Castle St is more than just an exclusive hotel. The original site was known as "The Old Bank" although, dramatically transformed in 1985 the building has maintained its unique features including, the main staircase, huge marble pillars and stunning high decorated ceilings, not forgetting the old bank vaults, which still remain intact to this day! The 4 star hotel offers 20 individually designed Suites offering guests high quality and spacious rooms. All rooms have King-size beds, a lounge area with sofas or lounge chairs and a flatscreen LCD TV. All rooms have two phones in the room, and are equipped with a desk for working or used as a dressing table. The large stylish rooms include modern en-suite bathrooms with powerful drench showers and some with Baths and all luxury toiletries. The rooms have an amazing full Length leaner mirror which is a main feature in the rooms. The rooms are even large enough to unwind and do Yoga. Some rooms have Juliet balcony doors which flood the room with natural light. 62 Castle St Hotel does not have its own restaurant/bar, however we are in the heart of the city centre and our team have a wide knowledge of the best places to dine. Whether you are coming to Liverpool 1 for a shopping extravaganza or experiencing the excitement of the Beatles phenomena or simply visiting for business, the hotel is within easy reach of everything Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing