We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stylish hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 62 Castle Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
62 Castle Street
Ranked #51 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stylish hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

Brilliantly located for all Liverpool's attractions - 5 mins from Albert Docks and the main shopping areas.

Great, well-equipped large room with seating area, plasma screen, kettle, iron etc. Beds large and comfy with soft duvets. Lighting in corridors and rooms very dim though!

Breakfast was fantastic!

  • Liked — Soft and comfy beds
  • Disliked — Strange lighting
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    230
    103
    37
    36
See reviews for
43
484
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

Stayed at 62 Castle Street during a recent two-day trip to Liverpool. The property is located in a refurbished older building a few blocks from the major wharf attractions in Liverpool.

We arrived very late in the evening after driving from Bath. The hotel has no organized parking scheme, although you can park on the street until 8:00 a.m. The location is a little seedy at night (typical industrial city downtown) so be alert and cautious.

Upon check-in (10:00 p.m.) we couldn't access the building because the front-desk personnel was nowhere to be found. The restaurant next door ("Room") was closed, but the cleaning crew let us in after we rang the bell a few times.

The rooms were huge and very modern. We were on the 5th floor facing Castle Street. The furnishings were very comfortable (great bed). There was wired internet access in the room (fast), complimentary bottle water (still and sparkling), and a coffee/tea service. The bathroom was remodeled, and consistent with the modern theme. The bath products were good. I couldn't get the towel warmer to work (but being American, I'm not used to warm towels anyway).

Watch out for the sharp edges on the furniture -- I banged my knee on the bed twice. The room was large enough to accommodate a king-sized bed; two lounge chairs and a leather covered coffee table (in lime green) near the wall-mounted flat panel television; a desk; and a table for two -- it wasn't crowded at all. Our traveling companions had an even larger room with a couch. The beds are on raised, carpeted pedestels. It's a bit of a trip hazard in the night.

We had breakfast in the "room" restaurant in the morning. Expensive--10 GBP for the cold breakfast (buffet) and 18 GBP for a hot breakfast (I had ham on a large english muffin and a glass of OJ + coffee for $36---eek!) but the service was prompt and efficient.

Because we drove the car all day both days, we didn't have the pay for parking. We did park it at the end of the day on the second day, and the hotel gave us a validation...but it didn't work.

Check out was efficient. The bill was accurate. In total, the place was good value. Liverpool is being revilatized and I'd stay here again (although some tempting competition is coming from American brands like Hilton that are building in some of the new developments along the Albert Dock).

  • Liked — Good value. Good location. Huge rooms.
  • Disliked — Unhelpful staff. Expensive restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reston10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

Having booked our stay BEFORE reading Tripadvisor ,me and my boyfriend were a bit nervous about staying at 62 Castle St,but we had a wonderful time.Staff were really friendly,on arrival we sat down at the big desk in reception and were checked in by the receptionist who chatted to us about what we would be doing during our stay,we had a lovely room (202)very bright and airy with a balcony and beautiful big windows.The room was spotless with a big double bed,ipod speakers,fluffy towels and a big TV screen mounted on the wall which you could swivel round and watch from the bed if you wanted to! !We booked this as a treat to go and visit the Tate and the Klimt exhibition,being from just outside of Liverpool we are ashamed to say we hadnt visited the Tate before!
62 Castle Street is just a walk away from the Albert Dock where the Tate is and the perfect place to go and explore the city.We couldnt believe the transformation of the city centre with all the new shops opening ,In the evening we had a couple of cocktails in Room and then we ate in a little Spanish tapas reataurant around the corner from the Hotel called La Vina which had a really good atmosphere and we felt like tourists in our own city!!Liverpool is definately changing for the better and its now a great place to visit and if we treat ourselves again we will definately go back to this Hotel.

  • Liked — Building,room,big bed,staff.
  • Disliked — lighting on the corridor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

The hotel itself is beautiful. Old style, could be described as romantic, but the room itself was a joke.
I arrived around 6 pm (room 307) and first thing that I found strange was the lighting. Even with windows opened and all the lights on I coudn`t see inside my suitcase.
The room was not cleaned from previous guests and the reason I know is because there was a t shirt!!! hanging next to the closet.
The carpet obviously wasn`t hoovered for months (maybe it`s the dark) and bathroom had a dust even on taps.
Since I was going out that night and had early meeting, I had no time to complain.
Worst part though was the windows. I have closed them and could still hear seagulls in the backround all night long.
The receptionist was really grumpy, but breakfast were good.
Please save your money and stay somewhere where they actually care about their guests. See my pics.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londongirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cymru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

Initial impressions of the room were possitive however on close inspection the bathroom had not been cleaned properly, the grouting around the bath and mirror had huge gaps all around. The large windows were filthy and didn't close properly,On the ledge outside were cigarette ends and an empty packet . One expects some wear and tear but the furniture was badly marked.
The web site is not in keeping with the reality

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ffiffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

Based on all reviews of this hotel we were excited about staying here, who wouldnt be especially for a romantic weekend. the hotel itself is stunning, rooms amazing and we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who showed us to our room, nice touch in this day and age. However, come sat when we came back to the hotel, our room had not been serviced properly, the linen was not changed, bed badly made,tea or coffee not replaced, toiletries not replaces including the basics like toilet paper and emptying bins.

Room service does not exist, menus in room said breakfast served up to 5.30 and when at 4.30 i tried to order toast they told me tough. that was after 3 attempts to get through, hung up on twice and they could not provide me with tea and toast but could do me a club sandwich nothing else. The room service is not provided by the hotel and the receptionist was like thats what they said...

Later on After complaining, something i never do, the guy on the desk said that he would try and get toilet paper sent up to the room if not it would be first thing in the morning!!!

Come Sunday the receptionist apologised and said she would sort it out and talk to her manager on Monday. Our room was not serviced properly on Sunday either, extra towels were provided (on the hall floor) with water beside them, nothing else. Same bins, no soap, no linen etc. This time the bed wasnt made properly.

When check out on monday arrived, the manager was not available. We were staying around as our flight was late and 4 hours later she still was not available.

All in all, this hotel is not worth the money as there is no service. Simple things are not met. Jurys would provide better.

  • Liked — split level room nice, comfy bed
  • Disliked — service room and availability, shower too low, couldnt fill kettle in sink, not practical
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AW11A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

My partner and I stayed here for one night on 26 July. There are lots of good things about this hotel, but there is much wasted potential here too.

We arrived a bit earlier than the advertised check-in time but were given our room straight away, which was a good start.

The building has been beautifully converted and our room (303) was huge, set out across two levels, and well-equipped with TV, CD player, iPod docking station and magazines. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom is very generously sized, but given the space I was surprised that there was no separate shower cubicle.

The location is perfect, really central. I should say that, as you’d expect on a Saturday night in this location, there was noise from the street, and there isn’t any double glazing.

However, it's let down by a lack of attention to detail. The room hadn’t been cleaned properly, the light in the wardrobe wasn’t working, the décor is shabby with water damage clearly visible on the ceiling. The bathroom tiling has seen better days and there was a large crack in the loo near the hinges. The reception area and desk are messy, and reception staff seemed rather lack-lustre. All in all it just didn’t live up to my expectations of a luxury boutique hotel which is a shame because this place could be great.

We had a fantastic time in Liverpool and I’d love to go back soon, but not to this hotel.

  • Liked — Location and room size
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmacLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Heywood House Hotel
#17 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Property: 62 Castle Street
Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 Castle Street is a 4 star hotel in the heart of the City Centre. 62 Castle Street is a Grade II listed building which was built in 1868. The luxurious hideaway of 62 Castle St is more than just an exclusive hotel. The original site was known as "The Old Bank" although, dramatically transformed in 1985 the building has maintained its unique features including, the main staircase, huge marble pillars and stunning high decorated ceilings, not forgetting the old bank vaults, which still remain intact to this day! The 4 star hotel offers 20 individually designed Suites offering guests high quality and spacious rooms. All rooms have King-size beds, a lounge area with sofas or lounge chairs and a flatscreen LCD TV. All rooms have two phones in the room, and are equipped with a desk for working or used as a dressing table. The large stylish rooms include modern en-suite bathrooms with powerful drench showers and some with Baths and all luxury toiletries. The rooms have an amazing full Length leaner mirror which is a main feature in the rooms. The rooms are even large enough to unwind and do Yoga. Some rooms have Juliet balcony doors which flood the room with natural light. 62 Castle St Hotel does not have its own restaurant/bar, however we are in the heart of the city centre and our team have a wide knowledge of the best places to dine. Whether you are coming to Liverpool 1 for a shopping extravaganza or experiencing the excitement of the Beatles phenomena or simply visiting for business, the hotel is within easy reach of everything Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing