We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but overpriced”
Review of 62 Castle Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
62 Castle Street
Ranked #55 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, near the shopping at Liverpool One and the Albert Dock and close to the Cavern Club area. The building and bar area are impressive. The hotel staff were very helpful also. The hotel rooms were very spacious and clean. The issue I have is that it is not value for money at £145 a night. The rooms are in need of an update, both on the fixtures and fittings and a lick of paint. The air-conditioning was very noisy and disturbed our sleep as a result. It did not keep the room all that cool either (top be fair it was the hottest day in Liverpool since 2006 though). None of this would be all that much of an issue if the room was £80 a night, but at the price it is I expect a lot more.

The breakfast (which is not included in the price) was OK. My wife had to send back the Eggs Benedict as the had hard boiled the eggs, but this was done without fuss and it was second time lucky as they were good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevegrant76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 800 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Having dined here for tea for 2 is well worth a visit: Staff very attentive without being rushed, service with a smile.

Best book a table before hand!! Well worth another visit for special occasions and to relax

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location. Lovely old building beautiful large room and very special long bath. Staff were great and very helpful.
One negative was breakfast.
Went across the road for a decent pot of tea after breakfast they left you to help yourself to tea bag and water from a thermos flask.
My eggs benedict left a lot to be desired eggs solid muffin tasted of vinegar. My partners full English was OK Would advise room only to shop around for breakfast as there is loads of choice local

Room Tip: Executive worth going for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Staff were very pleasant. Hotel clean and tidy with nice decor. Our executive room was very spacious and bed very large, although still quite warm even with the air con on. Views of liverpool from our windows. My partner and I had differing opinions of the bed - whilst I found it pleasant to sleep in he found it uncomfortable and the duvet too heavy. Would have been nice if they had provided a sheet for over us instead of just a thick duvet which was slightly uncomfortable in summer temperatures.The bathroom was also nice and large but the shower had poor power and there were some mouldy spots around the bath. Neither did they provide hair conditioner.
Breakfast at the restaurant was lovely, although they did not have the full selection of food which the menu stated (no bagels) and a poor selection of cold choices that could have been left out and handled by others. The waiter would not let us choose where to sit, so sat uncomfortably either side of other silent tables making it an awkward atmosphere. He was also quite cold with us and seemed to want to hurry us out when he wasn't checking his phone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamnotanugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a work colleague's recommendation. It was everything he said it would be. Great location, boutique style hotel, high ceilings, very clean and very friendly staff. Lovely leather armchairs in room, flat screen TV and a beautiful bathroom with exquisite toiletries and the thickest towels I have ever had in any hotel. Breakfast in the restaurant downstairs which was not so good on the first morning (bit overdone), but excellent the next morning; must have been a different chef. I would definitely recommend this hotel to couples for a romantic stay. Don't think it's really suitable for children though. There was a split level floor in the bedroom we were in which might be a nightmare if you have children.

Room Tip: Our room was facing into the square which was really interesting watching people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnylnoddens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. We were blown away by the room as soon as we walked in. High ceilings, curtains floor to ceiling, beautiful bathroom and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The service from every member of staff we dealt with was excellent. They were happy to help us at every opportunity. Because our return flight was later than checkout they kept our luggage until we went to the airport. The location is fab with Matthew Street not even five minutes away. Would recommend anyone to stay here and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My partner and I visited Liverpool to see an exhibit at the Tate and nabbed a good deal on a room here. What a stunning hotel. The rooms are modern and plush, the bathtubs ample, the downstairs restaurant very good. I highly recommend this hotel - it's conveniently located for shopping, business etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegaraMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 100 in Liverpool
1,728 reviews
Hard Days Night Hotel
#29 of 100 in Liverpool
3,342 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#18 of 100 in Liverpool
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4,349 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#14 of 100 in Liverpool
2,591 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#37 of 100 in Liverpool
2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $87 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 Castle Street is a 4 star hotel in the heart of the City Centre. 62 Castle Street is a Grade II listed building which was built in 1868. The luxurious hideaway of 62 Castle St is more than just an exclusive hotel. The original site was known as "The Old Bank" although, dramatically transformed in 1985 the building has maintained its unique features including, the main staircase, huge marble pillars and stunning high decorated ceilings, not forgetting the old bank vaults, which still remain intact to this day! The 4 star hotel offers 20 individually designed Suites offering guests high quality and spacious rooms. All rooms have King-size beds, a lounge area with sofas or lounge chairs and a flatscreen LCD TV. All rooms have two phones in the room, and are equipped with a desk for working or used as a dressing table. The large stylish rooms include modern en-suite bathrooms with powerful drench showers and some with Baths and all luxury toiletries. The rooms have an amazing full Length leaner mirror which is a main feature in the rooms. The rooms are even large enough to unwind and do Yoga. Some rooms have Juliet balcony doors which flood the room with natural light. 62 Castle St Hotel does not have its own restaurant/bar, however we are in the heart of the city centre and our team have a wide knowledge of the best places to dine. Whether you are coming to Liverpool 1 for a shopping extravaganza or experiencing the excitement of the Beatles phenomena or simply visiting for business, the hotel is within easy reach of everything Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing