We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just Excellent :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 62 Castle Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
62 Castle Street
Ranked #47 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Excellent :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was lovely ....

The room was huge clean and stylish! The windows were huge and overlooked the Main Street.

We had a sofa and table and chairs to eat our room service and watch a film at night.

The bathroom was very clean and the rooms spelt like they had just been cleaned.

Great location and brilliant price.

Will be staying again in the future I'm sure.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieMullany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing report!

My team & I are thrilled you thought our hotel to be as superb as it truly is.

We have to agree, our location is fabulous & perfect to see the sights & sounds of Liverpool.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon - perhaps join us for Afternoon Tea in our bar & restaurant - it truly is a wonderful affair.

Best wishes,

Emma Wright

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    225
    96
    35
    29
See reviews for
41
466
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Having very much enjoyed a previous visit to Castle Street in June 2012, my only real complaint had been the noise from adjoining rooms and the docks (though we had stayed the night the Olympic torch arrived in town!) We returned to Liverpool to catch the Turner/Monet/Twombly exhibition at the Tate in late October and this time requested a quiet room. We were allocated a room that was even more spacious than the one we had stayed in on our previous visit, with a seating area (including a comfortable leather sofa and table) and a large bathroom. Best of all, thanks to the peace and quiet and a wonderfully comfortable super king size bed, we slept so soundly we almost missed check out! In addition to this, the staff were attentive, efficient and friendly. In all, 62 Castle Street offers a great boutique hotel experience at a very reasonable price - I'm very glad we decided to make a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are glad you returned to visit us again!

We hope you enjoyed the exhibition & also our beautiful & spacious room!

My staff & I are always willing to accommodate any requirement as best we can & I am glad we met and exceeded your expectations once again!

Please do visit us again soon, it looks set to be a great year for Liverpool & its growing arts & culture industry.

Best wishes,

Emma Wright
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife booked us in here as my birthday present, no doubt after carrying out her usual in depth research, and what a great choice she made.
The location is great as it is very close to James St Station and only a 10 minute walk from Lime St Station. L1 and the other main shopping streets are nearby, as are Albert Dock and Matthew Street. If you don't mind a bit of a longer walk, it's not that far to walk to the Cathedrals and most of the other sites as Liverpool centre is relatively compact.
The hotel is very welcoming with very nice public areas and helpful staff. Our room was spotless and very roomy with a split level area with a comfortable sofa. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in.
We had an excellent stay in Liverpool thanks to our hotel and the friendliness of the city as a whole.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mally2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am thrilled to hear you and your partner has a wonderful stay in our hotel in such a wonderful city as Liverpool.

I'm glad you both received a warm reception & I hope you choose us again, the next time you decide to visit.

Perhaps, join us for our excellent breakfast in our onsite Restaurant & Bar - we hear the sausages are amazing!

Best wishes,

Emma Wright

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We only had a one night stay, wished it was longer. Central position close to L1 shops, restaurants and James Street train station. Lovely good sized room with a huge, very comfortable bed, quality bedding and furnishings, we had everything we needed and the staff were efficient and helpful.
Would definetly stay again, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afonview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We wished you'd stayed longer too!

I am thrilled to hear you were impressed with our standards, service & of course, our beautiful rooms & enviable location.

Our value for money is always competitive - keep an eye out for our up & coming offers this year!

Best wishes,

Emma Wright
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Excellent location near shops and restaurants (and The Cavern). However our room (204) overlooked Derby Square which is very noisy from very early and the room was draughty. On arrival the room was very cold as a large mirror had been placed to toally block the only radiator in the room ! The desk phone did not work and the TV had no reception. When we reported these things, a fan heater was brought, we were told to use the bedside phone and the TV was restored.The bathroom was awful - the light over the mirror to shave was set so that one side of my face was in darkness, there was mould in the cheap plastic shower tray, the toilet seat did not fit - it was cheap plastic, the shower was cramped and with a poor flow of water,amenities were not renewed, the tissue box was empty and the towels were thin. There were no dressing gowns. In common with the rest of the hotel, our room and bathroom had been modernised on the cheap. There was peeling paint much in evidence and many lights had been replaced with inappropriate bulbs.Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 204. Ask for a quiet room (if there is one!) and check the standard of housekeepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I had our Christmas treat at 62 Castle Street this weekend. We have been here a few times before and I have to say that this time, I did some research, came prepared and we had a fantastic night.

After speaking to reception a few weeks ago, we asked for the insider view of which was the best room available and 306 was suggested. This room is on the corner of the building and has a split level with the bed on one level and a seating area below.

The room was wonderfully warm on arrival on a cold day in Liverpool and the bed was to die for from a comfort perspective.

This was the perfect room and I would advise getting some advice from the hotel prior to arriving to make sure you get a good room as we have been given rooms that were not suitable in the past.

I only have 2 gripes though. The first is that you do get street noise early in the morning as bottles are emptied from the bar and secondly, the bar itself just inst very good and we struggled to get 2 glasses of Baileys!!! The music in the bar early on was also too loud and I am not a fan of loud music in scarcely occupied areas!!!

The hotel itself though, 10/10, well done 62 Castle Street and see you again very soon!!

Room Tip: We had room 306 which was lovely but book your hotel and then speak to them to reserve a room of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mj2000uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

62 Castle Street has been reinstated as my favourite play to stay in Liverpool. We had a lovely master suite room and the bed was sooooo comfy.
The whole hotel was toasty warm as well, on a very chilly winter weekend.
Will stay here again .... and again...and again!
My only slight bug bear, is that there was this time and last time mould on the bathroom sealant, which is both totally preventable and curable using bleach. Housekeeping should be more particular about this as it is not nice to see.

Room Tip: Front/ Castle Street facing rooms have large windows and are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J3KTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
I am thrilled you had such a fabulous time with us - we agree- our beds are the comfiest in Liverpool!

Thanks for bringing the maintenance issue to my attention - it is currently being looked into by the correct department.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit to Liverpool. Have a Merry Christmas.

Best wishes,

Emma Wright
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Heywood House Hotel
#16 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Hope Street Hotel
#11 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#32 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,554 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Property: 62 Castle Street
Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 Castle Street is a 4 star hotel in the heart of the City Centre. 62 Castle Street is a Grade II listed building which was built in 1868. The luxurious hideaway of 62 Castle St is more than just an exclusive hotel. The original site was known as "The Old Bank" although, dramatically transformed in 1985 the building has maintained its unique features including, the main staircase, huge marble pillars and stunning high decorated ceilings, not forgetting the old bank vaults, which still remain intact to this day! The 4 star hotel offers 20 individually designed Suites offering guests high quality and spacious rooms. All rooms have King-size beds, a lounge area with sofas or lounge chairs and a flatscreen LCD TV. All rooms have two phones in the room, and are equipped with a desk for working or used as a dressing table. The large stylish rooms include modern en-suite bathrooms with powerful drench showers and some with Baths and all luxury toiletries. The rooms have an amazing full Length leaner mirror which is a main feature in the rooms. The rooms are even large enough to unwind and do Yoga. Some rooms have Juliet balcony doors which flood the room with natural light. 62 Castle St Hotel does not have its own restaurant/bar, however we are in the heart of the city centre and our team have a wide knowledge of the best places to dine. Whether you are coming to Liverpool 1 for a shopping extravaganza or experiencing the excitement of the Beatles phenomena or simply visiting for business, the hotel is within easy reach of everything Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing