We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
62 Castle Street
Nearby Hotels
The Nadler Liverpool(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$97
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$137
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aloft Liverpool(Liverpool)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Heywood House Hotel(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
$68
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$144
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
363
250
110
45
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
250
110
45
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplit levelshower screensitting areawatch tvalbert dockhuge roombooked this hotelcity centre hotelbars and restaurantsbeautiful buildinglovely hotelmatthew streetironing boardcomfy bedlovely roomreception staffbrilliant location
Filter
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 812 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here after the football - great city centre location, 2 min walk from Liverpool One and 10 min cab ride to Anfield + great italian San Carlo's over the road. Hotel rooms very spacious (or ours was), listed on Mr & Mrs website & very comfortable. Not the most luxurious boutique hotel I have ever stayed in, however still very nice & good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricvic69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review. We love our enviable location too – it’s perfect for taking in the sights and sounds of Liverpool! We pride ourselves on the perfect night’s sleep and we do hope you will choose us again on your next visit to Liverpool – perhaps try our delicious A La Carte Menu in Merchant Bar & Restaurant.

Best wishes,

Emma Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My Sister and I stumbled across Merchants Bar in 62 Castle Street whilst trying to escape from the hustle and bustle of a busy shopping day in Liverpool. I'd seen lots of advertisement on Facebook about their afternoon tea and just had to try it. My sister remembered the hotel as "Trials", a hive of activity in the 80's - where people queued round the block to get into and was eager to go inside to see what I was like.

Upon entry to the very grand dning room we were greeted by a very friendly and personable gentleman called Joe and his appearance gave us the immediate impression that we were somewhere special and we werent disappointed. The restaurant was a very very grande room with a massive domed ceiling with lots of period features yet decorated with a very modern twist of blacks and greys and the music was very pleasing to the ear. We were offered our choice of table and once seated were immediately offered 2 glasses of prosecco that were served to us on a tray in sparkling glasses. The afternoon tea was lovely. The sandwiches were on perfectly fresh bread and the selection was much more appetising that some previous afternoon tea's we've sampled and the cakes were mouthwatering - however the roulade did look a bit like a tuna mayo wrap. Thankfully it tasted absolutely delicious and the appearance was soon forgotten. We found the staff were very attentive but not too "in your face" and whenever called they were very quick to carry out our request and even asked for our feedback as they're doing their upmost to ensure they are offering a service second to none. By the time we were in the throws of our visit (which was that good that we stayed for almost 3 hours), the restauarant was buzzing with tables of "ladies who lunch", business people, families and couples and the atmosphere was filled with laughter. I managed to take a sneaky peak at some of the meals that were being presented to the other diners and they looked absolutely delicious - substantial and well presented and the proof of the pudding is in the eating and there were a lot of empty plates being collected from the tables!

I would highly recommend The Merchants Bar at 62 Castle Street and can't wait to go back and sample their cocktails!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulablair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Ladies, many thanks for such a fabulous review! We are overwhelmed you had the experience we endeavour to offer all our guests.

We have to agree, we do love to indulge in our afternoon teas – they are one of our favourite times of day at 62 Castle St.

We have passed on your kind comments to Jay, who is a relatively new member of staff but is fitting our bill perfectly and who has embraced our ethos of endeavouring to offer our guests the perfect dining and drinking experience.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for cocktails – may I suggest the lemon & vanilla martini, I promise you’ll never want to leave!

Kind regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just back from a two night stay booked through Secret Escapes. On arrival we managed to park up directly outside the hotel to unload our luggage etc. We parked our car in the Qpark which is just a 5 minute walk away, very easy to find and the hotel gave us a discount voucher which made it only £9 per 24 hours parking. Our room was very impressive, exactly as shown on the website, a lounge/dining area a couple of steps down from the large comfortable bed. As other clients have mentioned the lighting is fine whilst you are relaxing but insufficient if you are trying to apply make up or doing your hair. We were on the 3rd floor and didn't hear any noise from the street below. The hotel is perfectly situated to access all Liverpool's attractions, many restaurants and bars just a few minutes walk away, also the main shopping centre. We had breakfast both mornings which was very good, not too much choice for the continental breakfast but the Full English was very good. We decided to have a drink in Merchants Bar on our second night, cocktails are available for £5 during certain hours, they were very well made and presented in lovely glasses. Unfortunately we were the only ones in the bar so there was no atmosphere, also the candles which were on the bar and all the tables were not lit so it looked very dark and cold, not welcoming from the outside, what a shame. Presumably it gets much busier at weekends. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to our friends for the right price. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms were very quiet
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randjyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are overjoyed you loved your boutique room as much as we do – and in the case of makeup and hair (which we deem very important) we always have a spare lamp should you need it!

Our enviable location is one of our greatest feats and we’re thrilled you found the sights and sounds of Liverpool easy and accessible!

Thank you for your comments regarding our continental selection – we do look to offer a full range for our guests – any suggestions are always taken on board and we’re glad you enjoyed your Full English – the perfect way to start the day!

We love our cocktail menu and we glad you found it great value too – we do encourage a fabulous atmosphere and candles are a must!

I hope to welcome you back to 62 Castle St. again soon, perhaps sample of beautiful prix fixe menu boasting a selection of intelligent dishes from locally sourced produce.

Kind regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly place, felt really welcomed.
Our room was massive - high ceilings, separate lounge area - a little tired/dated perhaps but this didn't distract from the overall experience.
Great location - close to shopping, docks, etc.
Would recommend staying here.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helen_Marie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your warm words regarding your stay with us at 62 Castle St.

We love our Grade II listed building and we have to agree, the high ceilings, intricate décor and overall elegance is a talking point for all of our guests.

We do hope to welcome you back soon and we’d love for you to try our beautiful selection of food in Merchants bar & restaurant.

Best wishes,

Emma Wright

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I together with two friends stayed at 62 for 3 nights on a city break. The hotel is comfortable friendly spacious and most of all convenient because it's right in the centre of the city.
It's a lovely building that started life as a Midland Bank and has been beautifully converted to what it is today. Vast split level en-suite bedrooms with high ceilings and a large bathroom. A bonus was that with a 'blue badge' we had 24 hr a day free parking right outside the door. All the places of interest are within easy walking distance as are and endless choice of restaurants of every nationality. Chinatown was wonderful. We booked the hotel through Secret Escapes and the offer price was very reasonable. It also included an excellent breakfast. We had a lot of fun. Try it you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 201 and 202 were excellent and very very warm.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrP1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for such a fabulous review- we are thrilled you and your friends had such a fantastic experience and you enjoyed our pride & joys – our hotel and city!

We have to agree, a god, hearty Full English at 62 Castle St. is the perfect way to start a day of sights and sounds around Liverpool.

We do hope you’ll join us again soon, perhaps dine with us in our beautiful restaurant and sample our fresh and locally sourced food.
Kind regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews