We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 62 Castle Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
62 Castle Street
Ranked #52 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just back from a two night stay booked through Secret Escapes. On arrival we managed to park up directly outside the hotel to unload our luggage etc. We parked our car in the Qpark which is just a 5 minute walk away, very easy to find and the hotel gave us a discount voucher which made it only £9 per 24 hours parking. Our room was very impressive, exactly as shown on the website, a lounge/dining area a couple of steps down from the large comfortable bed. As other clients have mentioned the lighting is fine whilst you are relaxing but insufficient if you are trying to apply make up or doing your hair. We were on the 3rd floor and didn't hear any noise from the street below. The hotel is perfectly situated to access all Liverpool's attractions, many restaurants and bars just a few minutes walk away, also the main shopping centre. We had breakfast both mornings which was very good, not too much choice for the continental breakfast but the Full English was very good. We decided to have a drink in Merchants Bar on our second night, cocktails are available for £5 during certain hours, they were very well made and presented in lovely glasses. Unfortunately we were the only ones in the bar so there was no atmosphere, also the candles which were on the bar and all the tables were not lit so it looked very dark and cold, not welcoming from the outside, what a shame. Presumably it gets much busier at weekends. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to our friends for the right price. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randjyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are overjoyed you loved your boutique room as much as we do – and in the case of makeup and hair (which we deem very important) we always have a spare lamp should you need it!

Our enviable location is one of our greatest feats and we’re thrilled you found the sights and sounds of Liverpool easy and accessible!

Thank you for your comments regarding our continental selection – we do look to offer a full range for our guests – any suggestions are always taken on board and we’re glad you enjoyed your Full English – the perfect way to start the day!

We love our cocktail menu and we glad you found it great value too – we do encourage a fabulous atmosphere and candles are a must!

I hope to welcome you back to 62 Castle St. again soon, perhaps sample of beautiful prix fixe menu boasting a selection of intelligent dishes from locally sourced produce.

Kind regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    230
    103
    37
    36
See reviews for
43
484
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly place, felt really welcomed.
Our room was massive - high ceilings, separate lounge area - a little tired/dated perhaps but this didn't distract from the overall experience.
Great location - close to shopping, docks, etc.
Would recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_Marie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your warm words regarding your stay with us at 62 Castle St.

We love our Grade II listed building and we have to agree, the high ceilings, intricate décor and overall elegance is a talking point for all of our guests.

We do hope to welcome you back soon and we’d love for you to try our beautiful selection of food in Merchants bar & restaurant.

Best wishes,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I together with two friends stayed at 62 for 3 nights on a city break. The hotel is comfortable friendly spacious and most of all convenient because it's right in the centre of the city.
It's a lovely building that started life as a Midland Bank and has been beautifully converted to what it is today. Vast split level en-suite bedrooms with high ceilings and a large bathroom. A bonus was that with a 'blue badge' we had 24 hr a day free parking right outside the door. All the places of interest are within easy walking distance as are and endless choice of restaurants of every nationality. Chinatown was wonderful. We booked the hotel through Secret Escapes and the offer price was very reasonable. It also included an excellent breakfast. We had a lot of fun. Try it you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 201 and 202 were excellent and very very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrP1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for such a fabulous review- we are thrilled you and your friends had such a fantastic experience and you enjoyed our pride & joys – our hotel and city!

We have to agree, a god, hearty Full English at 62 Castle St. is the perfect way to start a day of sights and sounds around Liverpool.

We do hope you’ll join us again soon, perhaps dine with us in our beautiful restaurant and sample our fresh and locally sourced food.
Kind regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just back from another wonderful stay at castle Street, again we cannot fault the quality of the hotel for the price we paid! We ate in merchants and thoroughly recommend their fish and chips platter. We came with a couple of friends this time and they were very impressed with the location of the hotel and with Liverpool in general. Thank you 62 Castle Street! We shall return!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here as was in Liverpool for the night and couldn't get anywhere else to stay, only realised later that this was due to it being the weekend of the Liverpool Marathon !
Anyway, received a really good price for this hotel from lastminute.com but the room was still £150 a night without breakfast, so expected quite a bit from it if I am honest.
Upon arrival to the hotel you can park up outside really quickly and drop your bags in, you are then instructed to park on Liverpool One Q Park as you receive a discount there. Little did we know that the car park would be closed all day on the Sunday due to the marathon so we parked the car there, but then realised we wasn't able to get it out or move it at all, all day Sunday which was no good ! So had to go back and move the car to a spot right outside the hotel, costing a small fortune in change, only then to be told that that road would be closed so we had to park somewhere else !! Moved the car a total of three times before we managed to find a proper space where was able to keep and move our car.
Finally arrived at check in, and on first impressions the hotel is very boutique-esque with a large sweeping staircase and log fire - which unfortunately has not been restored to it's original use.
No-one was around upon check in so had to wait, and a queue began to form. When someone finally arrived check in was quick and painless, and we was instructed to go to the second floor.
Once upstairs it's quite dark and the corridors are up down back to front so it's quite difficult to find your room.
Our room was facing out on to the street and the law courts, it was an impressive room with a large bed, down some small stairs to a small living area then a bathroom off to the side. Unfortunately the hotel is not double glazed, and the windows / balcony doors do not close due to their age and lack of repair. Meaning that all of the night noise filtered in to the room.
Having read previous reviews, I didn't find the room too dark, but can understand where this would come from.
The bathroom was an ok size, with walk in shower. There was a few fixtures and fittings missing which was a let down both for the price and status of this hotel.
The wash hand basin had a tap which fell about an inch to the base of the sink making it hard to rinse under, and if you did get down to plug hole level there was a terrible smell coming from it.
The bed was comfortable, and we had a decent nights sleep considering the noise etc.
I don't think I would stay here again, unless I paid a lot less for the room. I also would not recommend to friends unless they also received a very cheap rate, as it is definitely not worth £150 a night and not as boutique as I expected it to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Many thanks for your constructive review. We apologise that the marathon hampered your stay, but as you can imagine- a hazard of the business! Due to our location we cannot offer onsite parking so we have endeavoured to have a great working relationship with QPark so we can offer our guests the very best when it comes to convenience and travel – however, the majority of the roads were closed due to the marathon, especially in the city centre and I do hope you will return on your next visit, we offer competitive rates throughout the week – keep an eye out for our offers on late rooms & Mr & Mrs Smith!

Regarding maintenance – as we are a listed building so we’re afraid double glazing is a no go! We do try to ensure our guests have a soundless sleep where we can and all issues you have raised are being handled by our maintenance team.

We’d love to welcome you back soon, perhaps to sample our delicious Sparkling Afternoon Tea!

Kind regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

...with happy friendly staff ready to help and give advice about the local area. Good sized rooms, clean and quiet. We would stay here again on our next visit to Liverpool. The hotel is just a short walk from the harbour area and ferry port. We enjoyed a harty cooked breakfast, which is served until 11 am. From our experience I would certainly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollypompom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review! We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay and we have to agree, our breakfasts are hearty and the perfect way to start a day of sight-seeing in Liverpool.
We look forward to inviting you back on your next visit, perhaps sample our Prix Fixe menu for lunch!

Best wishes,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at 62 Castle Street, last Sunday, following a family wedding the day before. We arrived at midday hoping we could store our bags for a couple of hours before check-in at 2pm. We were greeted by the very helpful receptionist who told us our room was already ready for us. The room itself was huge and very individual with quirky features abound. The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean throughout.

As others have commented, the room is a little on the dark side, but this is down to the small windows and close proximity to the next building. Being a Grade II listed building, I doubt there's anything they can do about that. A few of the lights weren't working in the room, but a quick word with reception and they were rectified in no time at all.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better, right in the middle of the city centre and within walking distance of the fantastic Liverpool One shopping centre. All of Liverpool's other attractions are also in walking distance from the hotel.

I am an exiled scouser, but this was my girlfriend's first trip to Liverpool. She left with a love of city and an amazement of how warm the people are.

I would recommend 62 Castle Street to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are delighted you had a fabulous stay at 62 Castle St. and we thought the wedding was spectacular – we hope you had a fun filled day and evening.

We have to agree, our location is decidedly enviable and perfect for taking in the sights and sounds of Liverpool – we are thrilled we had a fabulous impact on your girlfriend’s first stay in Liverpool and we look forward to giving you a true Scouse welcome when you both return.

Best wishes,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Heywood House Hotel
#17 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Property: 62 Castle Street
Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#35 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 Castle Street is a 4 star hotel in the heart of the City Centre. 62 Castle Street is a Grade II listed building which was built in 1868. The luxurious hideaway of 62 Castle St is more than just an exclusive hotel. The original site was known as "The Old Bank" although, dramatically transformed in 1985 the building has maintained its unique features including, the main staircase, huge marble pillars and stunning high decorated ceilings, not forgetting the old bank vaults, which still remain intact to this day! The 4 star hotel offers 20 individually designed Suites offering guests high quality and spacious rooms. All rooms have King-size beds, a lounge area with sofas or lounge chairs and a flatscreen LCD TV. All rooms have two phones in the room, and are equipped with a desk for working or used as a dressing table. The large stylish rooms include modern en-suite bathrooms with powerful drench showers and some with Baths and all luxury toiletries. The rooms have an amazing full Length leaner mirror which is a main feature in the rooms. The rooms are even large enough to unwind and do Yoga. Some rooms have Juliet balcony doors which flood the room with natural light. 62 Castle St Hotel does not have its own restaurant/bar, however we are in the heart of the city centre and our team have a wide knowledge of the best places to dine. Whether you are coming to Liverpool 1 for a shopping extravaganza or experiencing the excitement of the Beatles phenomena or simply visiting for business, the hotel is within easy reach of everything Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing