We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it except for the very slow Plumb Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Liverpool
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Love it except for the very slow Plumb Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is my husband's favourite hotel and as it was his 40th birthday, we booked for an overnight stay. We got a great deal as we are quite frequent visiters and get offers sent to us, which is fab!
One thing I didn't know, which is very useful, is that The Mal do 'Mal Treats' that you can order on special occasions, for the room. It is not on their website. It was only when I emailed the hotel asking if there was anything I could purchase as a nice surprise when entering the room, that they emailed me the attachment entilted 'Mal Treats.' It included such things as petals on the bed, chocolate dipped strawberries, choccies, beer package, champers etc. So if you are reading this and wondering how you can treat a loved one, email the hotel directly and ask for that attachment.
Our room was just like all the others, which is great for us. We have stayed on all floors, in all rooms, in all positions (except The Cop/Toffee) and I have to say they are all pretty much the same, with the only difference being the amount or type of window. All very soundproof!
I like the fact that although it it darkish, there is a make up mirror and a desk lamp, so you can still do make up without having to go to the bathroom. The hairdryer provided is powerful and there are plug sockets near to the makeup mirror and the large full length mirror. Vital for girlies, but sadly lacking in many obviously 'designed by men' hotels!
The only part of Malmaison that I do not think is up to much is The Plumb Bar.
I know that management do not comment here but i would like to think that they were curious enough to read the reviews and take action as and where necessary to improve their facilities.
It just doesn't really work.
Ok, it's a good idea to have waiter/waitress service, where the customers take a seat and are served at their tables but in reality it has to be done well.
This means that the staff have to always be on high alert, which they are not. We were sitting for ages whilst staff members drifted past without seemingly noticing that our drinks were empty, so then you have to attract their attention. Sometimes this means going up to the 'hatch' as there is no bar. Once this happens, you might as well just be at a bar, ordering drinks as normal!
I had a good look round and other folk were sitting, glasses empty and trying to say 'excuse me' or waving to get staff to notice. Don't get me wrong, the staff are lovely but they are not always switched on.
Apart from that, the hotel is just great!

Room Tip: Have stayed on different floors and in different positions and they are all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J3KTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    803
    347
    143
    74
See reviews for
233
1,419
61
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lovely purpose-built Mal, unlike some of the others which are re-designed old buildings. Great location for city centre and docks. Rooms are smart, up to spec, and the hotel staff are friendly and professional, as you'd expect. Food at the restaurant is excellent, and the overall feel is quality. Liverpool Mal is also slightly cheaper than some of the others, so you can spoil yourself a little!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was very impressed by my stay at Liverpool Malmaison. I had a gorgeous room with a fabulous bathroom. The service was outstanding, breakfast delicious and the location was ver convenient. I slept like a log.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely hotel but ease up on the Goth look. Too much dark purple and black makes everywhere inside feel like an angst-ridden teenager's dream bedroom. Really nice staff, and a super location, with nice views if you can get to the windows. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was tasty and good value for money. The cheese board choices were superb and very generous slices were dished out for the price. The room was dark but had plenty of lighting options so you could light it to your taste. Big bathroom and nice bath products. I'd happily visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneEllingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently booked a couple of nights at the malmaison Liverpool. We hadn't stayed at a malmaison before but had seen lots of photos reviews and we weren't disappointed. Upon arrival the foyer was beautiful and the staff really attentive. We got a really good deal on the room and were offered an upgrade for only £10. The room was lovely, with river view, a large bath and a walk in shower. The first night we enjoyed dinner in the restaurant again the food was faultless, if a little pricey but we enjoyed it all the same. We didn't use the bar in the evening but did have a nice cocktail at lunch time one day which again was nice. We thought we may have trouble parking but there was a multi storey right next door which cost us around £20 for 48 hours. We didn't think that was too bad considering we got the room so cheaply. We would definitely stay again but alas have recently tried booking and the price seems to have trebled, oh well maybe next time!!!!

Room Tip: If offered up grade for £10 take it, you won't regret it. The river views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our third trip to this hotel and we are still impressed. We got a great deal of DB&B on night 1 and B&B on day 2. effectively making all of the meals and a bottle of wine free. Added to that we were upgraded to a river view room for no extra cost. All in all a comfortable and friendly hotel with good service

Room Tip: River view, high floor for a better view and less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossHume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Regular visitor to Liverpool and try to limit my hotels to this and hotel indigo. Both wonderful places. Top, top food and fantastic service. Maybe it's just the scouse banter but no matter how posh the hotel the staff are always friendly and up for a laugh. The only problem is that it's so very expensive. If you can afford it, it's worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathalB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Liverpool

Property: Malmaison Liverpool
Address: 7 William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#19 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Malmaison Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing