We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent value malmaison style” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Liverpool

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Liverpool
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent value malmaison style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We booked our room on the 2for1 offer so at £89 for two nights it was excellent value.

The car park has been taken over by another company this month, so it no longer as expensive as in previous reviews. We paid £21.50 for our 2 night stay but this would have been reduced further had our stay been on a weekend.

The only downsife to oyr stay was the quality of the pillows and bedding. This did not match up to the rest if the decor and did spoil our first nights sleep.

We had taken a bottle of our own champagne that we'd had as a present to drink in our room and the bar was kind enough to give us an ice bucket to keep it cool.

The Plum bar had a good cocktail menu but is expensive.

The centre of town is about a 10-15min walk, we tried to find a pizza shop and failed miserably!! A taxi to town is £4.




  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    715
    303
    125
    68
See reviews for
196
1,262
51
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have stayed before and found the rooms small and dark, but were promised by paying extra for a corner room we would have more light and space. We were disappointed, particularly because we brought ten friends with us for a family celebration. The rooms are smart, but poorly maintained, but most noticeably the hotel has long thin vertical windows that make the rooms very gloomy. In my view this hotel does not offer good value for money and I'm going to try the Hilton next time I visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Never stayed inthe hotel but had dinner there one evening as we were staying at thee Radisson Blue and had choice of dinner their or at Malmaison. Malmaison is a short walk from the Radisson. So glad we decided on dinner there. Food and service was excellent.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

i have just spent a GREAT weekend in liverpool to watch MRS browns boys with my wife and some friends ,,,,we managed to book the MALMAISON HOTEL as it was the only one available ,,,I am very pleased to say i was more than very happy with this choice,,,, the hotel is located in THE PRINCES DOCK AREA and not to far to walk to the town center,,The Rreception on arrivial was very immpressive and very modern...We left our bags in reception
,,,,, then had a well earned drink after a long drive in the plum bar, very plush too,,,, we went to see the show and got back to the hotel late afternoon ,we were handed our keys to the room ,,well i must say the room was huge and very well decorated and very clean ,,ALL IN ALL A VERY WELL PRICED HOTEL WITH FIRST CLASS SERVICE YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM 5 STAR HOTEL

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRGRIMSDALE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

From the moment my husband and I walked up to the reception desk, the staff at the Malmaison were amazing. They were all ,without exception,warm, cheerful and actively interested in you as a guest and in making sure everything was to your satisfaction.

At dinner, the young woman taking our order was knowledgeable and able to advise on suitable wines to complement our choices. We had a minor blip with the main course when the sauted kidney in my meal was a little under-cooked. One of the waiters spotted we had a problem and came over, insisted on returning both meals to the kitchen, and they returned a few minutes later accompanied by a completely fresh dish of vegetables. It's rare to get such consideration when only one of the party has an issue.And as for my desert of chocolate fondant with salted caramel ice-cream - it was absolute heaven!

Having seen previous reports of the poorly-lit bedrooms I was rather concerned but actually did not find this an issue. The bed was supremely comfortable, plenty of pillows, good quality linens, and the en-suite had everything you could need.

With regard to previous comments about expensive parking, we parked in the multi-storey opposite the main door of the hotel. It's possible that weekend rates are cheaper, but our stay on it from midday Saturday until 4 pm Sunday only cost us £5 which we thought was very good value.

While you are in Liverpool, walk along to the Museum of Liverpool (towards the Arena), which is a very interesting experience with plenty of inter-active things for children too.Admission is free though they appreciate (well-deserved) donations.

All in all, a great weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room over-looking the river on the 4th floor which meant we could see the river and ferries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed for a fab weekend and added an extra day because we enjoyed it so much

The staff were exceptional, the whole place is cool without being cold and the food was first class. Having stayed in both we found this Malmaison had a far superior ambience

Great location too

Room Tip: The higher the better as the nightclub can be a little noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ged B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I loved going here. Went last year in December. It was really nice, we walked from Liverpool lime street station. Did not take us long at all. Loved how it is right next door to the Albert dock and Liverpool one! Perfect location really.

Made my day how we arrived and at the same time a certain premiership team were booking in too. Speaks volumes! That is how classy the hotel was.

Our room was lovely, not only clean, immaculate and modern but even though we had a room by the road, it was still quiet.

Over all it was an amazing experience. Definitely go again.

Room Tip: Enjoy the local attractions! Close proximity for them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 2,010 reviews
Hope Street Hotel
#12 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 3,226 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Liverpool

Property: Malmaison Liverpool
Address: 7 William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#19 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Malmaison Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Malmaison Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing