We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new home base in Liverpool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Throstles Nest Hotel
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our new home base in Liverpool”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you're looking for cookie-cutter chain-type hotels this ain't it. But if you're looking for a good, homey, comfortable stay that's 100% British without making you drown in Laura Ashley, the Throstle's Nest is the perfect place. We originally booked for five nights but we liked the place so much we extended our stay for another three.

There's no parking lot, but there is plenty of streetside parking along Chapel Gardens which is the street adjacent to the hotel (and it's free!).

This is a classic, no-nonsense, early 20th century type of inn atop a very good pub; the building itself has plenty of that much bandied-about phrase, "character". It's a good thing I promise you.

The bedroom: we had Room 103, which is about 8' x 15' and has a comfortable king-size bed, a large desk, two nightstands, a small round table and a nice easychair. The large window opens out and provides nice ventilation. Since we stayed in August I can't vouch for how warm it will be in the cooler months (September through July!) but there are controllable radiators and an electric space heater, along with extra blankets. The room also has an electric kettle with oodles of teabags and Nescafé packets along with milk and sugar, and there's a hair dryer, an iron and ironing board, plus a reaosnably-sized flat-screen TV that's got all the Freeview channels. There's also a very good wi-fi signal, and it's free like all the other stuff.

The bathroom: It's pretty good by British standards. By that I mean the shower, sink, and toilet all work. In fact the water pressure is quite possibly the best I've ever experienced in any UK lodging. But I'm American, so I'm going to nitpick a bit:

The shower enclosure is amongst the smallest I've ever been in, so woebetide you if you drop the soap. Having spent lots and lots of time in Britain I'm used to it and it's ok, but if you need more elbow room you might be let down a bit. The water control is quite simple to use, much like a lever-controlled sink faucet, but as you move around the shower the lever is easily bumped into, which could mean you'll have to adjust it pretty fast to avoid it getting too cold or hot. There are plenty of tubes of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner provided and they replenish them every day. The toilet flushes well, and the sink faucet is just as good, so I was quite pleased. The one thing that might throw you off-kilter a bit is the noise from the plumbing; there's a sump and ejector pump just behind the toilet where the shower, sink, and toilet water all drain to. The pump then flushes the waste out to the drainpipe. It's pretty noisy but it only lasts about 5-6 seconds. I don't say this because it was an annoyance; I say it because it may startle you at first.

The staff: couldn't be nicer, more accommodating, or eager to please. On the few mornings when we didn't go down to breakfast, they offerred to bring us up something from the kitchen. We always got back from breakfast with the bed made and fresh towels, and whenever we got greedy and wanted more of anything they were there straightaway. Kevin, the Lord of the Manor, is an exemplary host, super-friendly and great with top tips about making your Liverpool stay even better.

The breakfast (included with our booking): it's in the back room of the pub downstairs. There's a great selection of instant hot beverages including coffees and cocoas, and a great assortment of teas, along with milk, orange, and apple juice. There's also cereal, fruit, and yogurt available, along with peanut butter, jams, marmalades and Marmite for your toast. The cooked "Full English" breakfast is great; you can order your eggs how you like them and choose any or all the normal items such as back bacon, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, and sausage. It would have been nice to see black pudding and that Merseyside classic flat mystery meat called Ulster Fry but that's just me being overly fussy; it's a great breakfast that'll stick with you all day. A bonus: there's always a copy of the day's Mirror and Daily Mail there (though I'd appreciate the Guardian a lot more!)

Overall: We're done with the city centre hotels. The Throstle's Nest is a few minutes up Scotland Road from the main attrractions, with the city centre down one way and the football stadia up the other way. They understand good value and personal service and they've thoroughly earned our repeat business.

Top tip: Even if you reserve with a card, they really love it when you can pay the bill in cash (there's an ATM next door at the Shell station).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fummunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    147
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
70
99
42
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We (3 persons from Germany) stayed only one night at Throstles Nest Hotel, were there for a football match at Anfield. The hotel itself was quite ok (the bathroom was a bit small), but the service was absolutely fantastic. All persons at the reception and at breakfast provided us fantastic, but the best of all was Kevin. He has so much care of us as if we were the only guests. He had answers to all the questions, got taxis and was so friendly. It was really extraordinary! We felt very welcome and if we go again to Liverpool, we will stay there again safely. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Me and my wife stayed at Throstles Nest Hotel 3 nights. The location is great for getting just about anywhere in the City on foot or by bus. This hotel is a nice little hotel. The room and bathroom are very clean and tidy. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and gave us information about what to do in the city. Breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend the hotel and we stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Book hotel, judging by reviews and I must say that was spot on. From the moment we walked through the door until moment we left, we felt to be treated special.
Kevin at reception gave us,the most welcoming check in I have ever seen. If you are first time in Liverpool, he is the guy to introduce you to the city and give you fantastic tips.
Room was very clean and spacious, with biggest coffee bar you can imagine.
Cooked breakfast downstairs was really nice.
Hotel is located only 15 minutes away from city center.
We will definitely go back there.
Thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Looking forward to staying again for the new season.Always guaranteed a good stay and feeling welcome thanks to the staff and management at the
Throstles Nest.Would most definitely recommend.Its also very close to the City Centre as well which is always a plus.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv555Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

What can I not say about this fantastic hotel?

The hotel itself is on Scotland Rd 5 min can ride and around a 25/30 min walk (depending on the hangover) Scotland Rd is an old area of Liverpool and yes looks run down but the locals are fantastic (I will come back to this)

Kevin (The Owner)
Kevin is a true gent and will do anything he can to help! Nothing is to much for him and he will bend over backwards for you!

The rooms and amenities in the hotel are fantastic and very clean we had 6 rooms booked and not a complaint between us! You get tea, coffee etc, fresh towels each day, beds made up and rubbish removed. Showers are roasting hot and powerful and very cold if you want to wake yourself up!

Breakfast is spot on full English with all the trimmings or you have the choice of fruit, cereal etc etc its all great! If you miss breakfast the hotel staff are more than happy to make a few sarnies for you.

Back to the locals: The pub attached is what you expect from any local boozer.......Full of locals.
All friendly people who are up for a laugh and a drink no matter who you are or where your from!

Throstles nest has served me well on 2 occasions and for the price paid its worth every penny! A travellers tip book through the hotel directly!

Cheers again Kevin you were a true gent as always!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieJock23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just back from a weekend in Liverpool with friends the room was bright and clean and airy breakfast was very good and on mornings that we didn't make it to the dining area if was brought up to us . The hotel is close to the city 15 min walk and also close to both football grounds and markets the staff were fantastic and really friendly . The owner was really helpful with tips about places and areas of interest Great place will be back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Royal Hotel
#41 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Throstles Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Throstles Nest Hotel

Property: Throstles Nest Hotel
Address: 344 Scotland Road, Liverpool L5 5AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#37 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Throstles Nest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Throstles Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Throstles Nest Liverpool
Hotel Throstles Nest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing