We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sir Thomas Hotel
Ranked #54 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a budget hotel but our room was clean & well furnished (the bathroom could do with an upgrade but was very clean). It is in a good central location for visiting the city.

We had a full breakfast which was excellent - hot & well cooked.

Ask about parking at nearby Vernon St multi-storey car park as the hotel has discounted rates. We parked overnight there for £8.50 - it should have cost £25.

The bar & restaurant downstairs are good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb2933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    231
    175
    87
    90
See reviews for
110
359
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here, hotel is clean, staff are friendly and the hotel is in a great central location. Pillows were completely flat though, asked for more at reception and they were brought up to our room. My partner did find it very noise, I slept all night long though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night so could enjoy some of the night life in Liverpool. 5 minute walk to Matthew street and Liverpool One Shopping, and train station. Hotel has elevator and comfortable room. Stayed mid week for a little shopping and site seeing

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleymanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Felt very uncomfortable staying here and contemplated paying for a taxi to take me home. Although I am local we decided to treat ourselves to a midweek night in town, a meal, a great show and stay overnight in town. My partner booked the hotel through a deal offered. We usually get some good deals in lovely hotels in town, but not this time, sadly. The hotel is dated. Rooms sparsely furnished, more like a hostel than a hotel. Very noisy. It is as though the windows are open it is so noisy, could benefit from double glazing and some investment generally. Dread to think what it would be like to stay here of a weekend. Our room was painted in an imposing burgundy, not pleasant! It had the oldest tv, more fitting for a museum! At the moment I cannot find anything positive to say about the place. Avoid at all costs. They still provide uht milk in cartons, what hotel still does that? The room is, however, clean although the bathroom tap drips constantly. Room 111

Room Tip: Don't stay here, rooms v noisy, will be worse of a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moekemp1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We paid for double room with en suite bathtub - breakfast included.
mattress was super old, warped and lumpy, pillows with a stuffing I can only describe as papery (?!), bed sheet had little holes in it. TV was ancient and remote didnt work. We got a shower room instead of bathtub, even though I asked them to move us to a room with one. Shower room was old and gritty. When complained to manager, he blamed the housekeeping. I could say it was cleaned as much as it was possible to clean it but the whole room was old and nasty. As the saying goes you can't polish a turd....
Breakfast was a sad joke. We were told we can have continental only which meant mini dry and cold pastries ( just out of the fridge). Fruit was green or brown...
Oh dear... just really sad.
Complete rip off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at the Sir Thomas Hotel with my friend and my parents from 3rd - 7th October 2013. I really cant make up my mind whether I would recommend this hotel or not. There were good and bad points. Lots of minor faults when all added up it didn't seem as though the hotel is being given the care it deserves or indeed the paying customers.

I'll start with the good points. The location was perfect. It was so central for everything that Liverpool has to offer. Matthew Street just around the corner, Liverpool One, the Docks all within a few minutes walk. For location it would be hard to beat this hotel.

The staff were very friendly and very nice.

The breakfast was great. A full English plus cereals, croissants, juices cost only 4 pounds.

The Sir Thomas is a very fine hotel. Old building with a beautiful stairs and a lovely old feel to it. The bar and restaurant area were very comfortable if a little dated. (well comfortable only on the Wed and Thurs nite of our stay)

I very seldom put negative reviews on to trip advisor as I feel a lot of people can be just too fussy and pick up on every small itty bitty stuff. A lot of these things would never bother me, however, having spent 5 nights here the small, itty bitty things were starting to pile up.

The carpets were threadbare as others had pointed out and there was a huge stain on the chair in the bedroom (this is the first time I complained about something like this). The rooms were serviced every day with new towels and the bed made, however, on one day there was no toilet roll left and we had to phone down to reception for some more, which the receptionist delivered himself. The room was supplied with tea/coffee and biscuits. The biscuits were not replaced and on the first night we had coffee in the room the dirty cups were left there on the tray and not cleaned for 2 days. Guests in the rooms beside us obviously had room service and their dirty empty plates were outside the door from the evening time until well after 11.00am the following morning. This happened on a few occasions. The rooms were noisy, however that didn't bother us as we were out most nights. But my parents who would not be going out on the town found it very uncomfortable as the noise went on all hours.

The stairs leading from the reception area to the bedrooms beside the lift were half blocked by loads of linen that were stacked up at the front of the stairs. In an emergency this could be a big problem.

While the breakfast was lovely, on two mornings my friend and I requested the full English with no sausage and on both morning the breakfast came out with sausages. The restaurant was pretty empty at this stage.

The main problem I had with this hotel was at night time in the bar area. The lovey comfortable ambience that had been there on the Wed and Thurs night was completely shattered as on Fri and Sat night the place transformed into some sort of a club like atmosphere with blaring music and the whole seating area blocked off as there were private functions. This meant that there was nowhere for residents who would like a quit drink to be accommodated. My parents had to go to bed at 10pm on these nights. I found it very bad form that a hotel would allow the bar area to be completely taken over and have no where for the residents who weren't party animals to sit, relax or enjoy the surroundings. The reception area was a no go as it was just a reception desk with a couch opposite. My parents on one of these nights took their drink to there as they could not sit in the bar and they sat on the couch with nothing to look at other than the receptionist. The bar also closed at 10pm on the sunday night. Again, nowhere for residents who might like to stay up later and have a drink to be accommodated. It was a far cry from the Adelphi or other hotels in the city in this respect.

Over all we did enjoy our stay at the Sir Thomas however we felt that the hotel didn't really feel a duty of care to the guest. It was obvious that the party goers who had booked the bar on the weekend nights by far took priority over the paying guests. I just feel that little changes would be all it would take for this hotel to get up to a higher standard. It seems to be just chugging along but without really taking an interest in its customers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean_garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night to attend a function and got no sleep we had a room at the front overlooking the intersection, double glazing would be beneficial. The hotel room was old & shabby with threadbare carpets, a shower screen that fell off when we opened it, hair dryer that didn't work & barely any water pressure. Not sure which rooms have been refurbished but we booked 7 rooms & not one of them was refurbished. The buffet breakfast was ok & we had a cooked breakfast which again was ok more like a cafe than a hotel. Would not stay here again & would certainly not recommend it there are plenty if other options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#22 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Property: Sir Thomas Hotel
Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing