We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Position in city centre”
Review of Sir Thomas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sir Thomas Hotel
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Position in city centre”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Basic room with old fashioned TV - but great value for money - staff friendly
food in restaurant - big plates with small portions but well cooked and a pleasure to eat
would stay here again and happy to recomend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telephone-man-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    255
    191
    94
    94
See reviews for
118
396
32
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our second stay at this hotel. Excellent position for stations and local bars, sites, museums etc. The continental breakfast has been improved but would strongly suggest the use of serving tongs at the breakfast buffet table. Our room was a standard one and although comfortable enough felt the housekeeper could have put the duster round! The staff on the whole are friendly and efficient. We would still stay again and would also recommend to friends and family due to its excellent position and cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Perfectly located near the city centre, literally just a few seconds walk away from where it is all happening. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious,clean and tidy. Nice sized dining area and bar. The only cons are breakfast was average (only cost £3.50 a day though) and it is quite noisy until 2/3 oclock in the morning.Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feedme99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night over the weekend and I would def stay again. If you want a small, clean, basic hotel in a great location with brilliant and friendly staff the I would definitely recommend the Sir Thomas! The hotel bar is a great place to start your night and Matthew Street is just around the corner! Also girls, MAC is just over the road in the Met Quarter so book in for your make to be done!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having stayed at the Sir Thomas Hotel in Liverpool for 2 nights recently I would highly recommend this hotel, especially the staff who were more than helpful. Good rooms, great staff . I would definately stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was a bit worried as booked this hotel before looking at the reviews.Staff great , location excellent and had no problems sleeping at all.Room wasnt ready as we got there early but thats was no problem has we had a drink in the bar...the decor looks a bit tired but their christmas tree and decorations more than make up for it . Room was clean and spacious and heard no noise at all.All in all a excellent value for money deal in fact we are going to book again for a long weekend in March.

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donamcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

took 28 family members for sunday lunch to celerbrate my 60th birthday 0n the 4th november can not praise the staff enough the food was spot on and the manager paul german was excellent a good day was had by all would highly recomend the sir thomas for sunday lunch if ever visiting liverpool anne from wigan

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank warriorsWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,393 reviews
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Thomas Hotel

Property: Sir Thomas Hotel
Address: 24 Sir Thomas St, Liverpool L1 6JB, England (Formerly Henry's Premier Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Thomas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to The Sir Thomas Hotel, Liverpool. A 39 Bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Liverpool City centre, just 30 minutes from John Lennon Airport, 45 minutes from Manchester Airport and in close proximity to the main railway station. The Sir Thomas Hotel offers an unrivaled and quality personal service often not available at the large corporate hotels and we are committed making all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. The Sir Thomas Hotel is located in the neo classical former bank of Liverpool building in the centre of Liverpool, just minutes away from the bustling commercial and shopping districts including The Metquarter, Cavern Walks & Liverpool One. Enquire about our Upgrades to either our in house Suite or our Luxury Waterfront Penthouse, offering an unparalleled view of the city and make it a stay to remember. The Sir Thomas is not only a hotel but also houses on the ground floor the beautiful St John Restaurant, Bar & Lounge named so after the highly acclaimed Chef Stewart St John whose vision & creativity launched the restaurant in 2004. The St.John Restaurant is everything you would expect from dining in a top hotel, full of classic style and sophistication with an added contemporary twist. Over the past 10 years our team of chef’s have built an unrivaled reputation for creativity, style and consistently high standards. The St.John offers a contemporary bar menu, ideal for lunches and early evening meals as well as a a full grill menu for the finer palate. The Lounge & Bar offer unrivaled quality in our drinks selection of continental beers, champagnes, fine wines and extensive cocktail list as well as being the first Hotel in Liverpool to offer a traditional Afternoon Tea complete with freshly baked scones and delicate finger sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Thomas Liverpool
Hotel Sir Thomas
Sir Thomas Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing