We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant tour...”

Williamson Tunnels Heritage Centre
Ranked #44 of 208 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A remarkable attraction in an unremarkable area of the city. Here is an extraordinary collection of tunnels and chambers commissioned by 19th century Victorian industrialist Joseph Williamson. His motivations for the work are still a mystery, but guided tours among what's thought to be just a small part of a much wider network offer plenty of insights.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant tour...”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We did the tunnel tour as a team day out for 14 of us from our creative agency in Manchester. We'd clocked the tunnels on the 7Streets website and thought they looked fascinating. Anyway, it was a great tour - truly fascinating and quirky - but the high point definitely was Rachel, the utterly brilliant tour guide; she's awesome!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    98
    32
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“History being unearthed.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I heard about these tunnels from an old Liverpool man in the 60's and 70's and was fascinated by the sound of them but I never thought I would one day be able to visit them. Last summer my friend and I went to see these tunnels and were fascinated by the brickwork and the ancient artefacts which was being unearthed. It is history coming to life and shows the social culture and life of the time.
Yes, the tunnels are being unearthed but this adds to the interest. Indeed I would love to do some work there and find the hidden treasures from bygone days. Anyone who writes negative comments does not understand why these tunnels were built or appreciate our past. This was the original 'work experience' for the vast unemployed of the day. Well worth visiting, we are definitely going again.
Just would like to say perhaps it is not suitable for wheelchair users or very young children but definitely for people who want to see history being unearthed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Superb guide to these intriguing tunnels, a group of mostly volunteers dedicated to unravelling the history and mystery. Go there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kath-Howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant undiscovered treasure”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fantastic undiscovered tunnels Guide really knowledgeable and good local knowledge The tunnels are our history and the potential of this site is tremendous If you have an hour to spare does this A must Needs funding from somewhere !!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went with my wife and we had a guide to ourselves. He was very knowledgeable and passionate. Williamson was a remarkable man. It is all run by volunteers and funded by visitors. There should be more funding from government, lottery or university etc. Easy to get around. Don't need to be particularly fit but you do need to be able to manage stairs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank E2Fatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Williamson Tunnels Heritage Centre also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Williamson Tunnels Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing