We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Liverpool

“Family meal”
Review of The Black Bull

The Black Bull
Ranked #540 of 2,148 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: British, Grill, Brew Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We visited the black bull at the weekend for a family meal. The food was lovely, refurb looks fantastic and the staff are amazing. We were looked after by a lovely young girl, Lauren. She was so friendly, couldn't do enough for us and was awesome with our kids. She's an absolute credit to the pub and we really look forward to visiting again, in the hope that we're served by Lauren again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank l0uiseduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

L0uiseduffy, thanks for your praise and kind comments about our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2020

Great job Don so proud of what you have done to pub looks amazing you really have done a great job well done

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank collettestanley53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Collettestanley53, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Black Bull!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Poor service we’ve been twice before christmas on each occasion there were items missing from plate staff unaware and had to be told. How can you have a chicken bacon and avocado and they didn’t notice they didn’t have any avocado. When I pointed this out I was offered side dish. The place wasn’t very clean and it had sticky tables

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank eamonmurphy2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at The Black Bull but will take this opportunity to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Booked a table for New Year’s Eve . On booking we were told and have a email that we were having celebration menu . We arrived to a horrible table in the back room with 3 chairs ( we booked for 5 ) . We did complain but were told that lots of people had booked and basically “ Tough “ that’s how it felt !
Went to bar and asked for celebration menu and two different bar staff actually said they were not sure if it was on ! Found out it wasn’t . We ordered off the ordinary menu and proceeded to the bar , when we said we ordering food a guy said he’d check they were serving food ! No one seemed to know anything ! The one lady who seemed to be in charge was rude and unhelpful !
The atmosphere for new year was awful , the bar staff could of encouraged a count down so everyone could join in ( they had a Mic) but they didn’t bother . My partner did it. We had opened a tab which they said was just for security however without our permission they charged a 189 pound bill to my mothers card ! We went to pay and they had already done it ! No apology .
This table was booked as my sister is visiting and lives abroad , I was so looking foreword to it , my poor mum wanted to leave within 10 mins of arriving due to table !
Lessons in customer service required
Staff should be told never to say “ I’m not sure “ or worse “ I don’t know”
Awful evening !
And the sad thing is the food was nice !
Staff service and attitude ruined it !

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Hi Dee L

Thank You for taking the time on leaving us your feedback.

We take all feedback seriously & constructively.

In terms of your feedback, we had our musician count down the New Year & we closed down all tabs as it is a company policy after bar closure.

This was discussed at the time with the gentlemen in your party.

Regarding your seating arrangement I can assure you that the table that was first booked for you was table for 6 but with it being New Years Eve chairs have been taken away when first seen however we offered you a larger table which at that time we understood was acceptable as when suggesting this no feedback was given & as you did not specifically request a table in a particular area of the business we could not of known.

We hope in time you find faith in returning as we have no desire for any of our guests to leave disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We stopped visiting this pub for many years due to the poor standards of food and customer relations but have returned now that the management has changed.
The food is greatly improved and the atmosphere is now relaxed and friendly.

We called in yesterday and my wife ordered the Scampi and Chips whilst I opted for the Chicken and Ribs. Both dishes were delicious and the Ribs in particular were cooked to perfection. The BBQ Sauce was not overpowering and the meat simply fell from the bone. An added bonus was the fact that bottles of wine are only £10 on Sunday.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and in particular Amy who interacts very well with customers.
The change in atmosphere and all other matters is massive since the new management took over and hopefully that will continue....

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank noelw464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2019

Hi Noel w464

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Our Kitchen Team led by a professional Kitchen Manager welcome feedback like this. We strive to offer all our guests a memorable experience.
We will ensure to pass on your kind comments is cascaded t all the Team @ Blackbull Gateacre & especially Amy who has evidently left an impression & with no surprise as she is exemplary in her role in guest hospitality & respected amongst her fellow Team Members.

We look forward to you returning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bull also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing