We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIRTHDAY TREAT X X X X”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BIRTHDAY TREAT X X X X”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a night at the Richmond Hotel. 30th July 3013. We have never stayed there before but would not hesitate to stay again.
The hotel has just been refurbished to a fantastic contemporary and opulent style. The concierge on arrival was first class and very friendly and polite. On arrival he took our car around to the car park and then took all our luggage up to our room.
The reception staff were very helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in a double room which was very clean and newly decorated, the bathroom and shower were amazing. The only thing, it was lacking was a table and a mirror in the room where you could sit and dry your hair. The bed was extremely comfortable and large.
We had cocktails in the bar area before having a three course meal which was exceptional quality, presentation and flavour. Top marks to the chef. We cleared all our plates which is very rare these days, but food was too delicious to Leave.
In the morning breakfast was just as delicious and plenty of choice form the Buffett and cooked breakfast. The girls in the restaurant were very friendly and polite and made sure we were well looked after with constant cups of coffee which we enjoyed.
On checking out the concierge brought our car round to the front of the hotel. He even helped with our bags to the car and all the time keeping an umbrella over us as it was raining. Excellent service.
The only minor snags were the work men working on the floor above our room were at times very noisy, but once work is complete this will not be a problem. Also the stream of staff using the dining room as a walk way to wherever they were going, this was a bit off putting when you are eating.

All that said " we'll done the Richmond Hotel and all the staff who made our birthday treat an amazing experience" keep up the good work!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    631
    256
    115
    63
See reviews for
238
1,106
26
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

At the time of this review, this is a new hotel, the building being converted from offices (I believe) to what is now The Richmond.

As noted in previous reviews, The Richmond is not situated on one of the prettiest streets in Liverpool, however, on facing and entering the hotel itself, you soon forget the street behind you!

The hotel is beautifully decorated. They have gone with a monochrome design throughout. the have mixed a modern look and feel into the old fabric of the building well.

The bedrooms are great. What was different, and what I particularly liked was that the rooms were blocked along the main corridor in groups of four. This will heavily reduce the noise that can sometimes travel up hotel corridors through the night! This can also work positively to keep larger groups contained to themselves and has less chance of annoying others, should they get a little loud. As a result, we didn't hear a thing from our room!

We stayed in a standard classic and it had all we needed for our overnight stay.. A large, comfortable bed (which the staff offer to turn down for you!) T&C making facilities, safe, minibar (Which also held fresh milk for the T&C's), iron and ironing board, working air con, all stylishly presented.

Minor negative points, but not enough to spoil the experience..
- The pillows are awful, hardly worth having. Unfortunately there are no spare in the wardrobe. I am sure the staff would have sent more up, but we were too tired and just made do.

- The fantastic looking Smart TV's that take up virtually the whole wall facing the bed are not yet programmed with the hotel info and the navigation (Much like using a wii) is poor. I am sure this is a teething problem of just opening and will be remedied soon. Again, didn't exactly ruin the stay.

- The shower tray, though looks lovely and modern, does not slope hard enough towards the drain. This can result in the water flowing out of the cubical and across the bathroom floor. Not masses, just a bit. You need to be conscious of it whilst showering and you will be okay. A small 1cm lip across the cubical entrance would remedy the situation.

The above three points are the only minor negative bits I have to review. And when I tell you that the staff at The Richmond are fantastic (I mean really great.. Best service from the staff I have experienced in a hotel!), make you feel so welcome, like they are your old friends... And the fact that the food is also wonderful, including the best cooked breakfast I have experienced in years!, Then you can easily forget about the little things that I wrote about above. Once they get those areas sorted, The Richmond will easily change my overall rating to five!!

Well done all at The Richmond. You have made a great start, something very positive to build on. When we next return to Liverpool we will be back with you guys, already looking forward to another fantastic stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Standard Classic. It was great and had all we needed. Check the pillow situation an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Plater73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

just returned home from the fantastic city of liverpool, my son and girl friend booked me in the richmond for a birthday surprise,it is a beautiful hotel very clean and plush decor with all the mod cons expected in a 5 star hotel,but im not sure of the ratings for the richmond but id defo give it a 5 star, the girls on reception are really friendly and know what they are doing ,saying that all staff we came across where friendly, cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ingrid999187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went on a midweek Secret Escapes deal and had a double room. The hotel is only ten minutes walk from Lime Street Station, on the edge of the city centre and twenty minutes walk from the Albert Docks. Sadly it is on an ugly street. The decor you will either like or hate. It struck me as the boutique aspirational room at Ikea. Black chandeliers and endless monochrome patterned wallpaper didn't do it for me. The restaurant and bar looked cold and uninviting. Fortunately the staff are very different. I don't think we ever stood for more than ten seconds before someone came over to see if we needed anything or just to chat. They really were very good. Our room was just off the lobby area and facing the road so we expected it to be noisy but it wasn't apart from a corridor door which slammed shut and echoed throughout the building. It was clearly audible in reception but no one has thought to do anything. Our room was spotlessly clean, all very new and reasonably spacious. Is was a bit let down by the look they were trying to create which made it dark. They had some nice touches like fresh milk in the mini-bar for tea/coffee, good quality bathroom products and no endless notices telling you that there is hot water in the hot tap etc. It is also non-smoking throughout. There are also some bits lacking like a hotel guide (it was on the TV but it wasn't loaded) and we had a room safe that wasn't actually attached to the wall. Even so, good at the price. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The bathroom looked like it had never been used and of very good quality. The small fitness club is across the road but has everything you might need for a stay. The breakfast was average buffet style. It didn't really match up to the rest of the hotel. It is also a bit off-putting that staff seem to use it as a cut-through during breakfast so we had workmen and dirty laundry being carried through as we ate. We would definitely use The Richmond again and if you aren't wanting to stay on the waterfront then it's a good option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Balgownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

our 1st visit to liverpool and we were delighted with our choice of hotel.the hotel is new and did have teething problems but the brilliant staff especially the manageress were very helpful.this hotel is classy .the rooms were excellent as was the breakfast.hotel is very handy for all the main attractions in liverpool.unfortunately we did not get the chance to use the spa which looked brilliant.we will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frankthegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in the 2nd week of July. It was a bit of a nightmare trying to find the hotel. As its new, it's not on map locations yet. Maybe a sign at the cut off saying where it is?!

First impressions were great! It was a young guy from concierge. He immediately helped with our bags & took our car to the car park straight away.

On checking in we were greeted and given out room key. The reception then took us right to our room, nice touch!

On first impression, it was wow! Really good apartment, not massive but adequate for the 2 of us. There was really high ceiling which gave it a feel a grandure.

The room:

Great shower, didn't want to get out!
AC in the room, which you control.
Comfy bed and decent kitchen & seating area.
The tv had an adequate range of channels, including music channels.

The pillows are a bit too soft, personal preference.
The bed felt a bit cramped, though we're used to a super king size.
When you turned 1 tv on, usually the other 1 came on.
There's no where to get ready eg to do hair & make up.
There was some plaster around the plugs that had been knocked in and not rectified & loose sockets. Superficial, so it didn't really effect our room, or stay.

The staff:

The concierge is the best part of this hotel. From helping you where to go. Giving you directions. Money off vouchers. I know it's their job. Both men we had took a personal interest in us. It's was a young guy and older gentleman. Both really helpful and are 5* in their service. Exceeded their role! I feel reception could maybe learn a thing or 2 from them!

When we stayed at the hotel we were at the back in apartment 92. It looks onto another building so not the best view. Every morning we were awoken by work men about 7:45. It didn't particularly bother us as we were out sightseeing everyday. Though the last morning I would've appreciated the long lie before my 3 hours car journey home! I did mention this to reception about this, and an apology was given and that was that!

We didn't eat in the hotel. Their prices just aren't competitive enough. £14.95pp for breakfast,come on! A bit steep!

Location:

I would say its a 15minute walk from lime street station. If your not sure, get a taxi. Wouldn't cost that much.

Liverpool one is literally down the road. 5 mins tops!

Mathew street is just under 10 mins away. There's lots of bars & restaurants near the hotel.

The hotel itself is on a quiet street and feels a lot quieter than when your in the centre. Even though you're only a 5 minute walk away.

The spa:

There is not a spa in the hotel but they have an agreement with the spa across the road. We had use of the faculties as we had an apartment which was nice. We went twice. Very relaxing. We weren't told about what the different pools done. Maybe a description next to each would be beneficial.

Parking at the hotel is easy. The concierge take your car and bring it back. They have a private car park. Which is £12 per day. It's a secure car park as well, do peace of mind for your car.

Overall with the experience I had I would stay here again.
To sum up the hotel is clean & is in a good location, the concierge staff are most helpful. Private parking & 5 minutes to most of the amenities. I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed here for one night last night. It is really beautiful. The room was dark because scaffolding was up outside our window - not sure why! We didn't really care as we were overawed with the room and the bathroom. Bed very comfortable and massive. Shower is amazing. Breakfast was gorgeous. No complaints at all. Free Wifi. Staff helpful and the 2 concierges we saw were friendly, parked the car for us. Really enjoyed our trip to Liverpool as the town centre was buzzing and would recommend the Hub for food - it was absolutely amazing and reasonable. Free use of the Olympus Gym and Spa opposite made the trip even better as we had a facial and back massage after relaxing in the spa which is immaculate, absolutely first class luxury.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brogys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,949 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
945 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heywood House Hotel
#17 of 97 in Liverpool
1,503 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Address: 24 Hatton Garden, Liverpool L3 2AN, England (Formerly The Richmond, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Richmond, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond in City Centre, Liverpool is the perfect location, split between the business, education, leisure and retail sectors of the city. A luxury accommodation concept, The Richmond offers 4 Star Hotel Bedrooms, with interlinking capability into full serviced apartment, all with the usual benefits of a four star hotel. It's design, makes it most ideal for every style of visit or various length of stay. The property is a Grade II Listed iconic building. Offering free Wi-Fi throughout, Air-conditioning, Mini Fridges in all Rooms with complimentary fresh Milk & Water, Upscale Toiletries, Smart TV's, 24hr Room Service and Suites & Apartments also offer full Kitchen facilities. Furthermore, take advantage of other facilities including the "R" Bar & Brasserie boasting amazing Best of British dishes, and some onsite Car Parking. Finally for exclusive wedding & events, private dining or conferences in our three event rooms: The William & Kane Suite or Florentyna's offering up receptions of 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Richmond, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing