We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple basic nice”
Review of The Podworks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Podworks Hotel
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I was staying for a night staff very welcoming room nice clean bed was comfy cheap an cheerfull place to stay i have nothing bad to say about the podworks 24hr bar not far from the city centre quiet rooms no disturbance

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed at the Pod works for 3 nights, this hotel is very close to all the attractions in Liverpool, although the room is small, the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have seen in a hotel, The shower was very nice and there was always hot water, the hotel and room was spotless, the staff were polite. WI FI did cut out a few time. I would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorry60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul k, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your review as we really appreciate the positive feedback.

See you again soon

Kind regards

Paul Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We went on Friday 4th for a friend's birthday. we booked late over the phone and where still catered for. The service was spot on, friendly and welcoming. This is the fourth time we have used the printworks/podworks and would never use anyone else in Liverpool. We stayed right above the entrance and still had no problems. Remember this is a busy little city and this place is based right in the centre so noise unavoidable. But with the widows closed you can't here a thing. Will definitely go back. Cheers Paul and the team yet again it was a pleasure.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank teddles_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

just returned after three nights at the pod works
lovely position ideal for city centre albert docks etc,room modern good climate control bed comfortable and price wise a bargain rooms were £29 per night.
problems the hotel is in the basement which was not a problem but no lift so had to go down two flights of stairs , no signal on mobile while in room and no wi fi either so if you wish either request floor 1 as you may have more luck, room service almost non existent not cleaned after first nights use and after second night maid came into room turned bed back ,put new towels in place but never wiped any surfaces and never changed the mugs which were left dirty.
secure car parking can be found nearby for as little as £4 per night.
The pod works does tick some boxes but several niggles lets it down .

Room Tip: want wi fi or phone signal or mobility poor ask for floor 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Booked this hotel on bookings.com where it says booked now pay later..checked the hotel policies and it states that full payment will be taken 2 days prior to arrival which is end of next week. Received an email from hotel and was told that payment didn't go through. My partner emailed back and explained and was going to ask about extending our stay however when hotel staff said it was their policy and it was on booking.com (which it's not)he also said most people don't bother to read it? This is not the manor in which you expect to be treated. If you are treated like this via email how will you experience be while staying in hotel. Appalled and I even emailed my sister the details b4 this as I thought it looked great value for money and she planning a trip for her birthday but will update her now...This happened me b4 but the hotel on that occasion were outstanding and looked after us..very poor service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review though I would like to ask you to revist the booking page when you booked as it quite clearly states "non refundable " This means that when you book we have the option to take the funds for the room immediately. The benefit for the guest is that they get a reduced price but need to pay now instead of paying later at a higher price.
Please see below for details

Regards

Paul Kelly

4 / 24Be met with a favourable reception

Situated in the heart of Liverpool, The Podworks Hotel boasts free Wi-Fi and a café. With a modern accommodation concept, the hotel is just 5 minutes’ walk from Liverpool Central Railway Station.

Individual climate controlled pod-style rooms feature high quality wood and leather furnishings, along with an en suite bathroom. The pods boast live external views to the outside, in place of a window. This is available on a 32-inch smart TV screen, which also has multi-channel entertainment and a DVD player. Hairdryers are available upon request.

Offering daily refreshments, the Pod Café is onsite at The Podworks. The convenient hotel is just 500 metres from Liverpool ONE shopping centre, along with the city’s numerous vibrant clubs and restaurants.

This hip, central hotel has Liverpool’s busy city centre on its doorstep. The Tate Liverpool and The Beatles Story Museum are both within a 15-minute walk.

Good, 7.6 Score from 528 reviews
“Small but functional room with all the facilities you could ask for. Comfortable bed and very clean room.”
Richard, Wigan
“staff very helpful the room very clean location excellent close to shops”
Louie, Coventry
“Comfy bed, good air con unit”
Jacqueline, Chester
“Great location nice decor in the rooms and hotel cheap”
Michaelagh, Westport
We have 1 room left!
Availability
Available rooms from Fri 27 Jun 2014 to Sat 28 Jun 2014 Change dates
The most recent booking for this hotel was made on 26 Jun at 17:10 from United Kingdom.
Reserve
It only takes 2 minutes
Room type Conditions Max Price Select rooms
►Standard Double Room
Last chance! Only 1 left
Prices are per room
Non-refundable

£42
Value Deal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Don't believe the bad reviews, I panicked when I read them after booking thinking I had got myself into something really bad but trust me it is a nice place to stay. The location is amazing especially for the price we paid for 2 nights. Despite being labelled a 'pod' the rooms are quite spacious. The bathrooms are very modern which makes it go up in the rating.
I would say it now needs to do a few final little touches to bring it up to the rating it deserves such as a something that was a big issue for me would be to make the bed and replace tea and coffee on the 2nd day of the visit. Clean towels were thrown on the bed but in a hotel I do expect these basic things. Also a bin needs to be put in the bedroom to cheap the small space tidy, maybe a toilet brush so the toilet can be kept clean and drinking glasses as well as mugs which work as great toothbrush holders as well as something to drink water out of. Also when we arrived there were dark long hairs all over the bed obviously from the cleaner so that should be kept an eye on. These are all tiny things that could be changed to make this a great hotel, if they were changed i would stay here on every visit to Liverpool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLR110193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights last weekend. Location is good, easy walking distance to everywhere. That's probably the only positive thing about this place. Our room was so tiny that it was almost impossible for 2 people to move around simultaneously. Bed squeeked so badly that it was obvious we wouldn't get much sleep. Also room hadn't been cleaned properly, particularly the floor which was filthy, with lots of hairs everywhere. Asked for a different room, only to be told we couldn't change because we had sat on the bed and there isn't anyone to come and tidy it, and that they were fully booked anyway. Then we were reminded that the price was not refundable. So we were stuck. If it wasn't only for the squeeky bed to keep us awake with every turn, we were also woken up several times by other guests who didn't seem to care that it was early hours in the morning and other people might want to sleep. Maybe we were just unlucky with a number of hen/stag parties... Should also mention that guestrooms are spread over two floors of a basement so there's no mobile phone signal(at least in the lower one where we stayed). All in all, not a good experience and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear guest,

We are sorry your stay didn't meet your needs. I have spoken to the staff and they have explained that you had used the fasciitis in the room and as it was late we and we were full we could not move you to an alternative room.
I would like to point out that the room sizes are in the description when you booked and in the name of the Hotel ,we have tried to give guests an alternative to the high priced luxury Hotels in the city but still giving value for money in a smalerl space but with the same luxury.

Regards

Paul Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central
Travelodge Liverpool Central
#51 of 98 in Liverpool
441 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Podworks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Podworks Hotel

Address: 34 Henry Street, Liverpool L1 5BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: $37 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Podworks Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in urban accommodation comes to Liverpool. These new and exciting modern low cost rooms are great for travellers on the go who need to be in the heart of the city. Fully functioning remote control air conditioning with a 32" LCD TV at your fingertips; all you need at a price that won't break the bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Podworks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing