We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value”
Review of The Podworks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Podworks Hotel
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as we went to a concert. Paid £54 for an apartment that could sleep 6. Fantastic value. The apartment was spotless , although a little bit worn. Only negatives were the heavy fire doors in the apartment slam very loudly but this is easily solved. And we couldn't use the room terrace as they had previously had trouble with people on the room. Was a shame as it was such a lovely day. Overall , this is a great place to stay for the price. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you fir the great review we really appreciate you taking the time.
I think your review should be attached to The Printwork Apartments not the Podwork Hotel but we still love the comments.

Regards

Paul Kelly
Gen Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    104
    57
    22
    37
See reviews for
24
154
35
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend were in Liverpool watching a concert so we stayed here overnight, as we've stayed here once before and had a fantastic stay, we had high expectations, however we were not disappointed, the concert was great, the apartment was too and we will stay here again.......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linzi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review,we really love it when our guests have enjoyed thier stay and especially when they return.

Warmest regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the pod works last night. When booking online it stated free wi fi access was available in rooms, however there was no mobile phone service at all or wi fi.
In addition to this we parked outside the hotel when checking in at 10pm and asked the reception staff if this was a suitable place to park. The staff member informed us it was and would be okay until we checked out at 11am the following morning. However on returning to the car we had received a parking fine from the council traffic wardens. We are aware we should have been more vigilant on parking the car, however it was late at night and we put trust in the information provided by hotel staff.

On a positive note the bedroom and bathroom were both clean and as described all be it small. And was good value for money, however the parking fine has made the stay expensive over all. I feel this could have been avoided if the staff had improved local knowledge and so didn't mislead guests in this way.

It's a shame as both the wrong information provided and the issue with the mobile phone and wi fi access would prevent us booking again or recommending to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merseyside123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you received a parking fine outside our Hotel,I have asked the staff member who checked you in and states that he informed you that your car would be ok to off load your belongings etc he did not state you could park overnight, obviously this has been a case of misinterpretation. The whole street is a no parking zone as is all the city, there iare single yellow lines outside informing motorists that this is a no parking arae.We ask all guests to check in and then we direct guests to a local car park less than 100 yards away @£6 per day/visit.
Returning to your review we are happy you thought the actual stay was good but we do understand your disappointment at receiving a parking fine.

Regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the podworks hotel in Liverpool. The photo we seen on the booking site made us think that there would be some space in the room we were wrong. The room was half the size of the one we seen in the photos. The mattress pretty much took up the whole room. My wife is 5 foot 6 and she could not stretch her legs in the bed as the mattress was surrounded on 3 sides by the walls. When she put out her arms she could touch the 2 walls on the sides of the bed. There was only enough room to get out of the bed. The bathroom was fine but we found the shower soap was empty so we had to shower keeping the door open and using the sink soap. The wifi in this hotel is terrible and the guy on reception at night even agreed with me. We were on the bottom floor room 209 so the wifi didn’t really reach our room. We were told the even though there was no window in our room that live images of the city were piped into the room this was not the case. If you have luggage avoid this hotel as there is nowhere in your room to put it if it will not fit under your bed. My advise spend a few extra pounds if you want more space and not stay in a closet and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Erm stay somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjbrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your review and we are sorry your experience did not match your expectation.

The size of the room are described quite accurately and the name of our Hotel ...The Podworks does reflect that the rooms as well as the price is small compared to. other Hotels...we are probably 25/50% cheaper than our nearest rival so we would expect customers to realise that we a Pod Hotel that means small rooms.
Each room is fully conditioned with all brand new wardrobes as well as bespoke bathroom in what we believe is the best value for money Hotel in the city Centre.
The bed situation is again due to the size of the room but we usually are complimented on the standard of our beds as the previous review has stated so I guess it is a personal choice but we spent a fortune on the mattresses as they are of the highest quality.
We understand that perhaps the choice you made did not fit your needs but we also strongly believe for the budget traveller we are the best choice .
Regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

i have stayed in the pod works for the last few weeks due to work. having traveled the globe for the last 23years i have been in the very fortunate to have stayed in some of the finest hotels in the world, i found all Podworks staff to be very friendly and welcoming and more than willing to help guests. the rooms are nice and clean the room are well set out for the size of them the beds i found to be very comfortable i personally rank them in the top 3 comfiest hotel beds i have ever stayed in i even asked for the brand and where i could buy one for home ! ) some of the larger national hotel chains should send round a hotel inspector to take some notes on the standard that is been offered at a 3rd of the price they charge
i would definitely recommended it to anyone looking for a hotel in Liverpool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank st69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our new Hotel as we really love the feedback.
If youncould e-mail me I will be more than happy to provide you with details of the bed etc as we took an age to decide a mattress that we felt was good enough..as you might read not all our guests feel the bed situation is for them so it is a personal choice but we are so happy you enjoyed the experience.
Once again thank and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have had to give a lot of thought to this review as I don't like having to give bad reviews but feel there were enough concerns to have to write this.

Firstly though the good points the hotel is in a great location for getting to the docks, Liverpool One etc and is at a great price and in terms of value for money cannot be faulted. Overall as well the staff are excellent and very friendly especially when dealing with one of the problems that we had. I do like the pod concept and actually the pods were a good size and had everything you would need.

Something that guests attending may wish to consider is the beds are higher than an average bed especially for the vertically challenged or those with some mobility issues. The friend I was travelling with has both these issues and was not physically able to get into the bed because of the height of it. This was the issue that the night reception staff were really good at trying to resolve as I went in search of a step eventually a builders ladder was found which was used to be able to get in and out of the bed not the most ideal situation given the size of a ladder in the size of the room but fully appreciate the staff making every effort to find a solution and to do their best to help and given this was around midnight they really did go out of their way to help. We had booked on the premise that lifts were available but found on arrival the lift from ground level to reception to be locked and to be told there was no lifts available inside something I now believe is incorrect so a little put out to have been given wrong information especially as I say I was travelling with a friend with some mobility difficulties who does struggle with stairs.

The hotel overall appeared to be clean and well maintained and the pod itself mostly the same however finding a condom and wrapper (wasn't going to investigate too closely to see if it was used or not) down the side of the mattress in our room does make us wonder how thoroughly the room was cleaned as surely it should have been the bed was changed? I did raise this with the guy on reception in the morning but not sure if he took a note of it or not.

Overall a bit of a mixed experience. There are some really good elements to the hotel like the staff and absolutely love the carpets and some areas that need some more work. For us probably wouldn't stay again purely on the basis that because of the height of the beds as it just isn't practical for my friend but for anyone needing a good central base in Liverpool it is well worth a try even with raising the issues I have raised.

I really don't like having to raise the bad points but wouldn't like the hotel to suffer as some of the things can be easily rectified and overall would like to see the Podworks do well

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glitterkitty1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our new Hotel and we appreciate your comments.
We are happy that our staff were able to help you etc as we are a small family business so being friendly is one of our priorities to make all our guests feel at home.
The bed height was designed to allow a large luggage area underneath the bed for guests with large suitcases , it is actually only 6" higher than my own bed so its never felt too high but I do understand that it could seem high especially for a person with the difficulties you mentioned.
The hotel is a new concept in the city that we hope provides first class accomadation at a fraction of the cost of a regular Hotel room in the city.
Once again thank you for your comments

Regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at Porworks a few weeks in April as I work in Liverpool monday to friday. The price was reasonable and the rooms were clean and comfortable.
The only minor problem is that in some rooms there's no mobile or wifi reception.
Overall good value for money though.
Remember that all the rooms are underground so there's no natural light or fresh air. Not suitable for a claustrophobic person!

Room Tip: prefer rooms 10x (first basement floor) rather than 20x (second basement floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jang-Vijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are really happy that you had a great stay.
I would like to point out that each pod room is individually climate controlled and each pod has a fully functioning air replacement system which provides fresh air continually.

Regards

Paul Kelly
Gen Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,380 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Podworks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Podworks Hotel

Property: The Podworks Hotel
Address: 34 Henry Street, Liverpool L1 5BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Podworks Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in urban accommodation comes to Liverpool. These new and exciting modern low cost rooms are great for travellers on the go who need to be in the heart of the city. Fully functioning remote control air conditioning with a 32" LCD TV at your fingertips; all you need at a price that won't break the bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Podworks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing