We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service, Awful Food”
Review of Yates's

Yates's
Ranked #1,060 of 1,697 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Yates Liverpool Queen Square is just 2 minutes from Lime.St Station directly opposite the main bus terminal. We have panoramic window seats with a large terraced seating area. We offer great value food and entertainment with something for everyone. We're Liverpool's No.1 For parties, sports, stag & hen and more. No table is without a view to one of our 13 HD screens, which show ALL major sporting events, including Live PL football. Thursday, Friday and Saturday are party nights at Yates. We have live DJ's playing the hottest music to the happiest crowd! You can book with us via telephone, web or on social media.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Terrible Service, Awful Food”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Service here is very slow, the staff at the bar taking food and drink orders take age's to serve you. Myself and my fiancee ordered a full English breakfast we waited age's for it coming out and we didn't get what we asked for! We initially asked for chips with our breakfast instead of hash browns, but we ended up with hash browns after waiting age's for our food to arrive. We told the the member of staff who brought the food out to us and he took our food back and brought back chips with our breakfast. But the breakfast was cold, nothing seemed cooked hotter enough food was awful. the only thing hot was the chips! the rest like sausages and everything was cold! we couldn't be bothered telling the staff as we waited long enough for our food and we was starving, so we just eaten what we could and left! Not cheap here either, we won't be back here again....rubbish service awful food is all i can sum up for this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernExplorerHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    76
    48
    35
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not happy”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

went in with my daughter and sat down.
we were sitting down for about 10 minutes and nobody came near us called the waiter 4 times before he answered me.we went up ordered at the bar and waited the waiter started cleaning the table beside us dropped all the plates and bowls right behind my daughters chair her coat and our bags were covered in the gravy that he dropped. he never apologised and he just ignored us i went up to ask for a cloth and was told to take serviettes at the bar.
when our food arrvied we asked the waitress for vinegar and she threw the condiments holder on the table and walked off. the staff are rude and i would not be going back again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Want to be "glassed" by pissed locals whilst bouncers do nothing...Yates's is your kind of place !”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Liverpool v Everton.....the friendly derby...don't believe a word of it. As LFC season ticket holders have eaten and drunk in most places in the city. The minute we walked in 4 Evertonians decided that we would enjoy their special type of banter....which resulted in my son being threatened to be "glassed" whilst pathetic bouncers stood by. This is not a rant against Evertonians, I'm sure Liverpool FC have similar "no mark" supporters. This is a rant against pathetic unqualified and ineffectual bouncers on match day. 99.0% of places in Liverpool would not tolerate what we experienced. Yates's however are so desperate for custom it would seem that they will tolerate any behavior if you by 4 bottles of wine 4 hours before KO. Avoid this place at all costs !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michaeljohnlee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
192 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very Old and new.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Its slap bang in the city centre and easy to access and the food is superb and cheap too.A varied menu.VERY happy staff.That amazing Liverpool friendliness.Its a clean venue.Has that old dark wood style denoting age,but its not an old pub by any means.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“7 glasses short?”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Made a trip to Yates simply because Wetherspons was packed. Came to the table and waited 5 minutes before the waiter rudely pushed and told us to move out of the way.

After ordering our food, we noticed a receipt was not given. 20 minutes later the food arrived (cold), with two sides missing. The waiter returned accusing us of not paying for one of the sides and then claimed it wasn't put through the till. With no receipts, we were unable to prove ourselves and left looking like liars.

Staff were not pleasant at all and we found they dealt with the issue horribly!!! We will not be returning to Yates anytime soon.

P.s. When we pay full price for a coke we expect coke and not carbonated water.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank han_2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yates's also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Yates's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing