We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to start off”
Review of The Ethical Glass

The Ethical Glass
Ranked #585 of 1,715 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bar. Evenings only on Mon, Tues, Weds, Thurs. All day Fri, Sat, Sun.
england
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little place to start off”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Started our night out at the Ethical Glass on a Friday night and loved it. Really reasonable prices, homely feel and nice atmosphere with a bit of laid back live music. To top it off they give 5% to charity!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippytop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place where everybody knows your name!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wonderful, quirky atmosphere with an excellent selection of wines, beer, food platters and fresh locally baked cakes. Extremely spacious with lots of seating options i.e. from bar stools to comfy leather sofas. Great place to relax, socialise or surf the net. The owner and bar staff are extremely friendly and helpful - huge thumbs up from me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary0875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service in an intimate setting”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went here last night in a party of 4 and didn't really know what to expect. Conclusion was we loved it!!! The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly, the range of beers/wines/spirits was excellent and the platters were delicious and beautifully presented. I can't praise Mark, the owner highly enough. From prompt replays to emails, flexibility and personal attention he was superb. I really hope this business continues to do well, we will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stansmum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“nice little basement bar”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were in here on a midweek evening, so it was fairly quiet, but reasonable atmosphere for all that. Manager is very friendly and chatty.

Surprisingly good selection of wine sold by the glass, meat & cheese platters with a good mix of stuff on them are fair value for their size, and some very nice cakes in the fridge courtesy of a local specialist baker.

Worth a visit for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laffingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A nice night out”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently tried the Ethical Glass using a Groupon voucher. The place is rather hidden away, the address is given as a basement in North John Street, however the actual entrance is round the corner on Harrington Street.

We tried to book for 6pm but were told they were booked up but 7pm was available. Couldn't quite understand why we couldn't be accommodated at 6pm as when we arrived there were only two other tables occupied.

Not a lot of atmosphere about the place perhaps because it wasn't busy, although I did enjoy the background music. There were a few tables with chairs more geared to larger groups than the two of us, some comfy settees and a couple of small high tables with bar stools. I think more tables to suit parties of 2 and 4 would be an improvement. The food menu is quite simple, mainly platters and sandwiches. There was a good selection of wines on offer.

We did have to wait a little while for our platters , but when they came they were really delicious. We both opted for the meat and cheese platters with sides of hummus and pate. We had a lovely glass of red wine included in our offer. It was so good we bought a full bottle. There was supposed to be coffee included, but this wasn't offered. Not too much of a deal as we had our wine which was very reasonably priced.

The owner is a really friendly guy, we enjoyed chatting to him. I'll certainly be giving the place another try. I would recommend to friends.

Ideally I would have scored 3 1/2 as the experience was above average but not quite a 4

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindie_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ethical Glass also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Ethical Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing