We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The [simply awesome] Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A & J's - CLOSED

A & J's
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, British, American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Description: A & J's is an independently run Internet Cafe on the outskirts of the City Centre open 7 days a week (9am – 6pm Monday to Saturday and 9am – 4pm on Sundays). You'll find us on South Hunter Street located next door to the International Inn, just a stones throw from the Cathedrals and many other points of local historical interest. Printing services are available, as is free WiFi for customers and there are always friendly members of staff at hand happy to help should you need any assistance.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The [simply awesome] Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

A & J's is an fantastic independent little cafe with an ace atmosphere based in the center of Liverpool City Center, over the past months it's become our little local cafe perfect for the long days at uni catering for breakfast, lunch and tea! The food is amazing, you know who cooks your meal and it's always served with a smile and some friendly banter. I highly recommend the '1up' burger, the veggie breakfast and the Leek & Potato (special) soup both are fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_W1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    0
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not A &J`s !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Searched for this top rated cafe..and could`nt find it. No signs anywhere...eventually saw some place called Sam and Bob`s (maybe) and guy said it was the same place. It was a little run down and the breakfast was just ok...not wonderful. Don`t know where all these `wonderful` comments are coming from. Won`t be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willielad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam-Jaymes-AandJs, Owner at A & J's, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Willielad,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review about us on TripAdvisor. We are both sorry to hear that your recent visit to A & J's was not what you were expecting and we are very sorry to hear that you had trouble finding us.
We can assure you (as explained to you on your recent visit) that we are in fact A&J's and we are in the process of renovating, after recently taking over the business from Sam and Joe, which would explain the name Sam and Joe's above the premises.

With regards to the food, we apologise that it wasn't to your tastes, however we would like to stress that we have a large volume of customers who frequent our establishment for our food, regularly commenting on the high quality and express how much they enjoyed the dishes (that are tailored to the customer and cooked fresh, to order).
We are sure you will be pleased to hear that as of Sunday, our new sign will be up in place for everyone to see.

Once again, we are sorry about the confusion you experienced in trying to find us but we urge you to give us another try if you are ever in the area. As we are sure you can appreciate, with all new businesses that are just starting up, there will be a few teething problems and we are making concious efforts to address these as they are brought to our attention.
We are a small independent business with only the two of us, operating as both owners and members of staff, ensuring that we provide a consistently high standard of both food and service for the 7 days a week we are open with the hope that our hard work and diligence is reflected in our customers' dining experience.

We urge you not to be put off and give us another chance, we would also like to bring to your attention that along with the new sign, we will also be launching our brand new menu and hopefully this will tickle your taste buds and ensure you leave us with a smile on your face.

If you have any other concerns that we have not addressed, please do not hesitate to contact us at aandjs@hotmail.co.uk

Many thanks,
Adam and Jaymes x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis within the City.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Luckily enough this oasis wasn't a mirage. If you're looking for great food (made how you like it), great prices and great faces this place is the one. A & J's gives a safe haven smack bang in the centre of town and gives me time to unwind and socialise (as well as stuff my face) without the palaver of high prices and stuck up staff. 10 out of 10 and at least 50 gold stars. Its amazing to see that 2 young men can build the atmosphere and the environment for such a great place, and still have time to see to your every needs.
There's not enough space on this page for the praise they derserve!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZacharyAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“top food, top prices, top service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Run by two of the nicest lads you'll ever meet, A&J's merges top service with top food. I went for the 'Monster' breakfast which really lives up to its name. There's a LOT of great tasting food for the price, which left me stuffed for the entire day. They will really go the extra mile to provide you with whatever you wish and make you feel welcome. I will be back there again next time I am in Liverpool as soon as possible to try something else on the menu!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank E_Humphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best scran in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Theres nothing ordinary about this amazing little caff. There is no where else in Liverpool that can offer you a delicious home cooked meal and a game on the nintendo at the same time.
The homemade burgers are the best I've tasted and the chef Jaymes is forever coming up with unquie, delicious ideas for new dishes. Can't wait to try the chicken and vegetable curry!
Front of house Adam makes you feel instantly at home and makes a tasty hot chocolate in a variety of yummy flavours!

Its great to see a cafe with it's own personal stamp and staff that are genuinely passionate about their customers. It puts everywhere else in Liverpool to shame.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A & J's also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing