We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liverpool City Sight-seeing via City Explorer - Fab!”

City Explorer Liverpool
Ranked #17 of 74 Tours in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Open Top City Explorer brings the best of Liverpool to you at an unbeatable price. The tour has been carefully designed to give you the freedom to explore many of Liverpool's top attractions. We have a qualified local tour guide on-board giving you a running commentary to help you Hop on and off to explore all that Liverpool has to offer. We are unbeatable on price too, Why not take the Do The Double ticket and combine your tour with a trip on the World Famous Mersey Ferry or include a trip up to the top of the Liverpool Cathedral with our Liverpool Experience ticket, please ask drivers for details. What more could you ask for? Well why not take a trip on the Lfc Explorer as well and visit Anfield home of Lfc and take in The Best View in the whole of Merseyside. So what are you waiting for, Go on....Explore!
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Been to Liverpool city many times, but first time on City Explorer open-top 'bus with my granddaughter. Roughly an hour's trip on a lovely sunny, hot day, we were driven round firstly by Steve, then change of driver near Liver Building (don't know his name, but a smiley face), and a great guide called Phil who told many stories of the history of this fab City! Humorous too, giving all passengers a good laugh at times! At a cost of £11 for a young teenager and senior citizen this was money well spent and a great way to spend an hour or so waiting for a passport renewal from the Liverpool office! Well done City Explorer!

Thank MickyViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive K, Manager at City Explorer Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your time with us. !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bus tour"
in 132 reviews
"live commentary"
in 65 reviews
"hop on hop"
in 90 reviews
"guide gary"
in 14 reviews
"ticket lasts"
in 18 reviews
"top deck"
in 38 reviews
"your bearings"
in 29 reviews
"open top bus"
in 42 reviews
"hour ticket"
in 15 reviews
"combined ticket"
in 21 reviews
"great tour"
in 80 reviews
"albert dock"
in 100 reviews
"mersey ferry"
in 53 reviews
"scouse humour"
in 24 reviews
"informative tour"
in 25 reviews
"wonderful city"
in 22 reviews
"places of interest"
in 16 reviews
Filter

1,296 - 1,300 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

We opted to take the bus tour and also the ferry across the Mersey. The driver, Colin, was very friendly and gave us a quick overview of the tour. We took our seats upstairs and the fun began. Chris, the tour guide, gave us a wonderful and informative running commentary of the city, with lots of scouse humour thrown in. I'm sure he must do the same speech over and over but he doesn't lose any enthusiasm and ad libs with snippets of extra information when the bus is stuck in traffic. Well done Chris, you're an asset to the bus tour - I hope they pay you well.
Our expectations were very high when we boarded the ferry to cross the Mersey. What a let down! The 'tour guide' is a recorded message. The tape was either a minute in front or a minute behind at times so we missed a lot of what the tour was supposed to show us. They need a Chris on the ferry to liven it up!!

Thank ManchesterAmigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive K, Manager at City Explorer Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

So glad you enjoyed the explorer and thanks for letting us know !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

During our city break we decided to take a city explorer open top bus tour as the weather was so good. We had difficulty locating the pick up point , poor signs. We had to ask someone at one of the museums . That small problem apart at £8.00 per adult for 24 hrs this is extremely good value . We hopped on & off 3 times , the three different guides provided a wonderful insight of the history of the city through their shared experience . This tour is A MUST for anyone seeking a knowledge of the city & it's history , it is by far the best way of exploring a city & it's culture .

1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive K, Manager at City Explorer Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Many thanks and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from a couple of days in Liverpool and one of the best attractions was a ride on the City Explorer. We were kept entertained by Phil who is also very knowledgable about this great city. Must also mention Steve the driver. We bought a dual ticket which also gave us access to the Mersey Ferry. You can hop on and off the bus at 13 different destinations over a 24 hour period. This is an attraction not to be missed and well worth it. When we go back to Liverpool we will definitely use the service again.

Thank ChristineM717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive K, Manager at City Explorer Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review about our tour bus. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

An ideal way of seeing the sights of Liverpool , you can use the bus all day, getting off at whichever attraction you wish then hopping back on.
The guides are very informative & all have typical Liverpudlian humour & wit.
My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our time & hope to return as we were only there for a day & didn't get to see everything.

Thank Freda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive K, Manager at City Explorer Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review and hope to see you back in our great city very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Explorer Liverpool also viewed

 

Been to City Explorer Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing