We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and nice place”
Review of Liverpool Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liverpool Lodge
Ranked #59 of 73 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Liverpool Lodge,well it was nice,quiet and clean unlike other places in Liverpool so I think it is the best place where you would want to stay when you are travelling on your own.I was pleased with the service but still the rooms were too small even for one person.In conclusion I would choose the "lodge" again when I will be back in Liverpool.

Room Tip: A nice place for short stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexLiv2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 68 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Liverpool lodge, Unfortunately i'll never stay here again, room was Very Poor, no window don't think room had been cleaned, we slept on top bedding, we were in liverpool for a specials concert & not a cat in hells chance of getting anywhere else at short notice, so decided to go & get hammered so it didn't matter about room as it was only for 1 night, There was a shared bathroom which wasn't great, regards clean room, we didn't have to leave room until 12.00 noon, but you are aloud n room at 12.00 noon, which leaves plenty of time for cleaner (NOT), Talking to locals, even there didn't have anything nice to say about place, Very Poor please don't book here!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived at hotel to find no car park as advertised but just street parking. Although the hotel is in one of the worst areas of Liverpool, the hotel was very clean and had a few welcoming touches, like a basket of crisps,biscuits,fruit juice and toothbrushes in the room. It was very strange to find an en-suite with shower, sink and an urinal but no toilet. Breakfast was help yourself, so you could have as much as you liked, although there was no cooked breakfast. The owner was helpful and booked taxis for us to the city centre which cost £3.50. We would stop closer to the city centre next time but would have no hesitation stopping here again if no where else was avaliable or going to Anfield or Goodison.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gozy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After much difficulty finding the 'lodge' and being told to pay the £100 cash (no card machine available) immediately we were shown to our family room. There was 4 of us, three girls and one boy. To our disgust in the damp, horrible smelling bathroom there wasn't a toilet, just an urinal, even though the room was advertised, and sold as an en-suite. If we had known this before booking the room, we would have gone somewhere else.

To get to our room we had to climb up 3 windy and narrow flights of stairs, so would have been very difficult with young children.

Breakfast was ok, a help your self (put the kettle on and make your own toast) selection of bread and cereal.

The owner did help us to get a taxi into town as it was a very long and not a nice walk.
We would definitely NOT stay here again, due to the bad location and the old bad room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenB932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived at the hotel only for the owner to greet us saying that there was no room for us and that we had to go somewhere else to stay!!
By this he meant a house he had around the corner.
When we entered the house it was clear that somebody already lived here - in fact he was sat on the sofa in his pants, clearly not expecting us!
When the owner turned up he showed us the bedrooms. These were pokey rooms with a suitcase lock on the door for security.
He also had to go via the bathroom to do some 'cleaning' on the way!
This was a stressful experience and I would recommend that anyone who is considering staying at the Liverpool lodge go elsewhere!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived and were told that there wasn't any room for us at the 'hotel' but that we're were to stay at a house down the road. Much confusion later we were told that we had to follow a man (the owner I presume) to a house nearby. We knew we were there when he stuck his arm out of the window to point to a house. We let ourselves in and were met by a man in his underwear.
He apologised and disappeared (we thought to get dressed, but he didn't) and upon his return told us that he didn't know we were coming. Cue owners arrival. He proceeded to try to show us the bedrooms, one which was off the lounge area (formerly a dining room) which had sliding doors and locked with a suitcase padlock he pulled from his pocket! The other room was upstairs he had to flush the toilet in the room before showing us that one, which also had the same security features as the other room.
Strangly enough we decided that the Liverpool lodge wasn't worth £120 a night, so explained that we weren't prepared to stay there. Upon hearing this the owner offered to get us some 'snack baskets' for our rooms, even after this amazing offer we decided that, we would prefer to sleep in a real hotel with locking doors, no half naked polish men, en-suite bathrooms, and one that was in a safe area as we were just a little bit concerned about leaving our car outside.

We eventually managed to get a refund, and a room at the Jury's Inn, which incidentally was a lovely hotel that I would reccomend, unlike the Liverpool lodge/hostel/dive.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Weeze85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Loved staying at the Liverpool lodge. Great location for L1. I was made feel welcome on arrival to departure. Would strongly recommend any one visiting liverpool to stay here. The owner could not do enough and the manger just makes it home from home. Will be back and will highly recommend you to my family and friends. Thanks again. Graham and Sandra.......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John1965165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#29 of 98 in Liverpool
532 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
595 reviews
Liverpool Gateway B&B
#19 of 73 in Liverpool
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trivelles Seaforth
#16 of 73 in Liverpool
24 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#49 of 73 in Liverpool
41 reviews
Orrell Park Hotel
#3 of 73 in Liverpool
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liverpool Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liverpool Lodge

Address: 1 Coleridge Street 187 Kensington, Liverpool L7 2RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range: $63 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Liverpool Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Liverpool Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing