We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elegant House Liverpool B&B
Ranked #5 of 70 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Restful stay”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights last weekend and had a lovely stay despite the freezing cold weather outside.

John is a very accomodating host who went out of his way to make us feel at home, from providing hand-drawn maps of the local area to going out to buy us the morning papers to accompany the delicious breakfast.

The hotel is in a peaceful location, about a 15 minute walk to the edge of the city centre which was great for us, the city centre is compact and taxis back at night are so cheap that we had no problem getting around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarey_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    44
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
43
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

An excellent host who gives a lovely perspective on Liverpool.
Ask for the wet muesli: it is soaked overnight in yogurt.
Location is quiet and close to city centre.
The sun shone! We had a great time in Liverpool and this base was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanKylePaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and enjoyed our stay. We were disappointed to find it had a shared bathroom, as I don't think this is made clear on their website. Other UK city B&Bs at a similar price have en suites. Our host, John did say they were going to renovate to split the bathroom, so check before you stay. We live in a share house so we really like to have our own bathroom on holidays. This may not matter to you.
Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking their lovely backyard. Room was huge but there were a few small stains on the sheets. The bath mat didn't smell clean even though the couple in the other room also started their stay on the Saturday. We found the mattress quite uncomfortable with springs sticking out- we had to lay a duvet over it on the 2nd night. Maybe the mattress in the other room is better.
John was very accommodating and helpful with suggestions of places to visit and public transport advice. Easy parking either on the street or in their backyard. Very easy and quick to get into the city centre / docks on the bus. Breakfast was delicious, with a selection of nice breads, cold meats, cheese, fruit and muesli.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grimace-brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great, Elegant House, stay. This is the best place to stay in Liverpool for comfort, convenience, and economy. The accommodations are clean and spacious in this stately house amidst it's row of fine Victorian homes. The house is efficiently set up for the needs of the short stay or the long family holiday. We liked and made full use of the upto-date modern kitchen and bathrooms facilities. Our four nights staying there (three of us)were very pleasant and comfortable. The surrounding environs; a beautiful park across the road with quite pastural fields and enchanting lake, (along with tennis courts), allowed us lovely morning and evening strolls. And, getting to the main sites and activities in the heart of Liverpool was minutes away. We're coming back!
PD
New York City

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Beautiful room with stunning light, great breakfast in spacious house with small garden in the back situated in a peaceful area yet near to centre. John is an amazing host that makes it all more than recommended for anyone seeking to spend a week end in Liverpool and get a hand-drawn map of the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I worked in Liverpool for 2 months last summer. I couldn't expect I would receive so much good attention from the landlords. Before I arrived to England, John gave me the best way to get to his house, and after that he explained me how to move around the city.

The house is beautiful and very big, next to a park and near to Tesco. Also you can go walking to the center (20 min. aprox.). When I was there, the flatmates were very kind. I think it's one of the best experiences I had in Liverpool: you can meet people from other countries in the same house you are staying, and learn a lot of them.

I would really recommend this house to stay. And the cat is very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleyda86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Highly recommended and quite comfortable. A stunning morning light in the room and breakfast in a kitchen that opens into a lovely back garden. John is a great host, sharing history, bread, Muesli and jam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rondohat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Penny Lane Hotel
#2 of 70 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Liverpool Gateway Limited
#15 of 70 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant House Liverpool B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant House Liverpool B&B

Property: Elegant House Liverpool B&B
Address: Princes Park, Liverpool L8 3TZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the centre or be there in minutes by bus. EH mixes minimalism, 1950s furniture, tartans and kilims. French windows open into the terraced garden where breakfast is served on sunny mornings. Rooms have high ceilings and original features. Breakfast on yoghurt, muesli, toast, pastries, cold meats, preserves, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Food is sourced to reflect the multi-cultural district of Princes Park. Television lounge, film / book library, laundry room, complimentary wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elegant House Liverpool B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing