We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liverpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 73 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Sue, the owner of the B&B could not have been any more welcoming. After a 7 hour 'stuck in traffic' journey, she kindly offered us tea and biscuits when we arrived. A friendly and interesting lady who always has time for a chat. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. It certainly set us up for the day ahead. Our room was the only one which did not have an en-suite, but the bath and loo were across the landing, and were not used by any of the other guests. This would definitely be our first choice of accommodation in Liverpool. By the way, if you love cats, you'll find Lizzie absolutely adorable!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 83 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights over Easter and we had a very relaxing time staying with Sue. We are regular visitors to our home city unfortunately our usual accommodation was fully booked so we had to look for an alternative on this occasion and we were quite happy with our selection. The Avenue is a very substantial detached house situated in an upmarket suburb in the south end of the city.
We stayed in The Field room which enjoys open views over Quarry Bank Playing fields to the rear, it is noise free which all adds to the sleep quality. The room was spacious and well equipped with plenty of wardrobe space. The en suite is compact and the limited space has been utilised very well, it is bit tight, however we prefer to have our own en suite facilities so you have to accept this in older style tradtitional properties. The breakfast was perfect for our requirements as we will have eaten out the night before and are early risers hence we are more than happy with fruit, cereal and toast. We don't tend to bother too much with cooked breakfasts.
Sue is a very friendly host and extremely helpful,a typical Scouser! That's a compliment!
There is a regular bus service to the city centre right outside the door. It takes around 30 minutes to get to Liverpool One shopping centre, this is allowing for numerous stops and traffic lights. Make sure you have loose change as the bus drivers can be unhelpful depending on their mood! A taxi will cost between £9 and £12 depending on which company you use. There are plenty of of places to eat in Allerton Road for all price ranges if you didn't want to bother going back into Liverpool in the evening.
Overall a very relaxing stay for someone who does not need to be in the heart of the city.
Bootle45

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Tried this place after reading Tripadvisor reviews and was not dispappointed. Situated in a nice area about 15/20 minutes bus ride or 10 minute taxi ride from the City, it is a real home from home with a wonderfuul welcome and spotlessly clean roons. We had the loft room with en-suite shower - loads of space and storage, just lovely. Sue is very friendly and helpful - breakfasts are freshly made to order and superb. Would definitely come again - we spent less on buses/ taxis than on parking on a previous visit.

Room Tip: we only saw the loft room which we thought was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karens_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had not been to Liverpool before and found this b and b through Trip adviser. Easy to get to by bus from Lime Street station. Huge room at top of house, lots of space for things. Very clean, shower slightly lacking power. Missing towels and other things were very quickly replaced. Sue who runs the b and b very warm and helpful. Tips about where to eat in the evening, things to see
were great. Breakfast if your veggie could be a bit more varied, so some qourn sausages for example and some fresh fruit. Bur portions generous and we would reccommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruthlet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here overnight and when we arrived were given a hot drink and directions to get to town. The rooms we had were spacious, spotlessly clean and had so much storage. the breakfast was huge and enough to last all day. If I go to Liverpool again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndieB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here in November 2012 and was amazed how lovely this BB was. Sue the owner couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was spot on. Our room was excellent and felt we were in a 5* hotel. There was a bus stop outside which took us into the centre of Liverpool and run every 10 minutes. On the night we came back to hot coffee and later walked down to the many restaurants in the area and had a fantastic Indian meal. We highly recommend this BB. Carole & Paul Davy, Hull

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here this weekend. Have not stayed in hotels as nice sd this! A real home from home..

Rooms gorgeous and clean. Sue & Co really friendly.

I have to apologise to anyone staying over there this Saturday as my wonderful 8 year old managed to trample mud over the beautiful cream carpets.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RockyMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,187 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#29 of 98 in Liverpool
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#65 of 98 in Liverpool
400 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 98 in Liverpool
1,225 reviews
The Penny Lane Hotel
#2 of 73 in Liverpool
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Bed and Breakfast

Address: 156 Mather Avenue, Liverpool L18 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing