We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended”
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This is a very nice hotel with a great deal of character. The room was first class - it even had a desk - the staff are terrific and the lounge / bar area is a very nice place to relax and read the paper. It's also a decent place to eat, although there are lots of other choices nearby. We liked the location. The Hope Street area is interesting in itself and the waterfront and main shopping areas are a few minutes' walk away. Hope Street itself is virtually free of traffic.

We got a good deal through Expedia and accepted a cut-price upgrade to a King double on arrival, which was well worth the money. Tip: stay at an off-peak time if you can, room rates vary quite a bit. Minor nit: the towels could be softer.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank falling_apart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Dear Falling apart,
Thank you for your kind comments and I am so glad you enjoyed the area as well, we love Hope street. We do put out the bargains so look out again and we'll have softened up your towel by then! best wishes CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    478
    163
    63
    29
See reviews for
252
986
75
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DERBY
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2010

When booking the hotel, the friendly, informative and efficient approach in accommodating the group was stress free and was no problem for the member of staff who dealt with us. We were made to feel so welcomed on arrival and again the staff were accommodating, friendly and very helpful. We were extremely impressed with all our rooms and available facilities. The beds were unbelievably comfortable.

A small downside to the trip was when were were escorted to our bedrooms on arrival, two member of the group, at different times, fell down a single step. May need to make these more noticeable.

We were overwhelmed with breakfast arrangements - no problem if you had the Liverpool Breakfast, but if you wanted a continental, you could add to this to make up to the full value of a full breakfast. Depending on your choice, you would end up paying extra for your breakfast. No problem here, but trying to cope with this after a night out! I will admit the eggs florentine were amazing.

Thank you Hope Street Hotel for making us feel so welcomed and our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMBDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Dear JMBDerby
Thank you for your comments and for alerting us to a number of things. Because we run an a la carte option at breakfast alongside the set cooked and continental it can be confusing but I glad you liked the eggs!
Best wishes CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2010

This hotel is fantastic, the rooms are amazing with everything you would wish for and more. The hotel is in a great location but to be honest you may not want to leave your room!

The restaurant that is part of the hotel is also great, the service is good and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Dear kateM11,
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to post them. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and agree about it being hard to leave the room! Best wishes CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,eire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The Hope st Hotel is situated in a pleasant area,directly opposite the philharmonic hall.
The Hotel is based around the restaurant "london carriageworks".The staff were friendly
both in reception and restaurant.The rooms are clean and well laid out with a very good
shower-one of the best that we have come across.Its a hotel that you would take your wife/partner to for a nice weekend away and would not suit a group of lads on a football
week-end.For some reason the fire alarm went off at 9am on both mornings we stayed
and my kids were disappointed that our room did not have sky sports although some rooms did.We would stay here again and we would reccomend the restaurant across the road.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hardwear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
Dear hardwear, Thank you for your kind words. We do apologise for both alarms, we have fixed the problem but more importantly we are looking at a universal coverage of Sky Sports!
Hope to welcome you and your family back soon. Best wishes CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Other TripAdvisor reviews cover it, really.

New boutique style hotel in a great location. Nice touchs, such as the Ren products and the DVDs, but...

We were in that strange room, mentioned by Christine42, the balcony of which provides a view through picture windows into the next-door bathroom, and no, the pot plants don't shield the view, and neither do the new heavier bases prevent them blowing over. But the view at least explains the total absence of balcony furniture.

The bathrooms themselves are great, apart from our shower providing only rather tepid water. The bedrooms are also very good although a "suite" really requires more than one tub chair, and it is a pity that the ironing board is too large for its purpose-built storage place, such that it clutters up the small wardrobe with only 4 hangers (reviews passim). And watch your toes on the door stop - one of mine is still black 2 days after the encounter. Overall these newly refurbished rooms are well designed, but some details are seriously lacking.

These rooms, in the new-build part of the hotel, don't suffer the problems of the underfloor heating mentioned by others, as they have reverse-cycle air-con, which appeared to work fine. They also don't appear to have the same issue with noise transmission. The only noise that disturbed us was from the Peter Andre fans (yes, really) as they arrived at, and later spilled out of, the Philharmonic Hall. But Peter Andre fans appear mostly harmless.

The breakfast was very good, although service was ragged. Perhaps this was partly because that was the morning the clocks had been advanced, meaning an extra last-minute rush of late-comers. But generally the service can at best be described as 'erratic'. Occasionally it was a little curt, mostly it was friendly, but it was neither efficient nor reliable, with many requests not met, or met wrongly.

Dinner was very well cooked, but bland. And there is a very limited fish choice - one item, at "market price".

We were on a "deal", so all in all it was OK, but full price at this hotel is over-priced.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAWELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tommypip
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This is out second time at Hope Street. Last time we stayed in a suite 1 on the Sunday Special, this time we stayed in a Suite 3, usually £350, but on a Sunday the rate is £185. This time we had room 408, I would recommend it. This hotel is for couples, friend or family, there are cheaper hotels in Liverpool, but for a special night, choose this one.

Great room, lovely views, instant check in, instant check out, very clean and modern.Lovely REN products in room, gorgeus bathroom. Soothing bedroom.

We parked outside to check in then my husband moved the car to the one over the road from the Phil Dining rooms. This is secure 24 hr parking with on duty attendent. We went to see a show at the Phil Hall so this hotel is excellent, literally opposite.

We ate at HOST across the road. The hotel does have a restaurant and bar but we fancied something different. Also, the room service menu is limited and some items very expensive. I stay at hotels a lot and appreciate room service costs extra money, but I do fele this menu could be improved. This street has many restaurants, you will be spoiled for choice. There is also a newsagents in the next street, hardman Street for your sweet tooth, as the min bar contains only 2 bottles of champers, not sweets, no choc, no soft drinks, which I find very odd.

Something to be aware of, and I wish we had complained about, is the cleaner just barged in our room at 9:30 am without knocking. I felt this was completely inappropriate. Thankfully we were just lying in bed, but otherwise I would have been livid.

Lovely hotel, and we will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahorsesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Room good but a little spartan. No hooks, no chair or mirror at desk, no mini fridge (i like lots of cold drinks) only one big comfy chair, only 4 hangers!! Couple of shelves but not proper draws. Bathroom was great. After first night though house keeping cleaned the room and threw away my expensive facial soap and my earplugs - can't sleep without them and felt dreadful the next morning. Did the reception staff care? No they didn't give a monkeys.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,060 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
3,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing