We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super hotel and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean room, staff were all very helpful and as we called ahead we were able to reserve a car park space which was really helpful due to my husbands health. Walking distance to the main shopping but also near some great bars and restaurants, not forgetting of course London Carriage Works (which is also awesome!) Hope Street is now our fav place to stay in Liverpool.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SassyH_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    449
    157
    59
    29
See reviews for
240
942
75
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

Had to write a review of the wonderful time we spent at Hope Street Hotel. A treat for hubbie's 50th and what treat it was! We were upgraded to a suite with amazing views. The service was really welcoming and relaxed, we ate in the Carriage Works - food was really good. Lots of lovely goodies in the room, dressing gowns, slippers, toiletries. Room was modern and stylish - loved the little cards with 'Hope' written on them!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - the views are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janettem213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed in the Hope Street Hotel for one night while visiting Liverpool. There was a group of 6 of us and we loved this hotel, so much some of the girls have booked to go back with their partners!

The hotel is modern and stylish with every mod con you could want. The hotel rooms are spacious and the decor is wonderful. It's one of my favourite hotels we stayed in worldwide.

The hotel bar is good too, we had a few drinks before heading out. My favourite thing about this hotel was the front of house staff, they were so friendly and accomodating. I find with some receptionists in hotels they can be quite passive aggresive when customers are causing a fuss (as can anyone) but the girls that we dealed with were just fabulous they really made out stay.

I would book back into this hotel in a flash and reccomend it to friends and family in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terri Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon, and given the reviews, we had high expectations.

The overall hotel experience was really good, but we think we drew the short straw with room 501. Contrary to all the advertising, there weren't wood floors but a really old-looking over-hoovered brown carpet that was a real disappointment. It felt like refurbishment was being done around the hotel and our room hadn't been done yet - the welcome book talked about dimmable lights in all the bathrooms but we didn't have that. Things looked a little scuffed around the edges and there were straightener burns in the carpet.

The most disappointing thing was the proximity of the room to the roof-top air conditioning units which provided a 24/7 humming that was a real let-down, especially as we tend to keep windows open day-and-night.

Having said all that, we still enjoyed our stay. The bed was huge and comfortable, the bath large enough for two, and the views across the city were lovely. The staff were accommodating (even storing our food in their fridges downstairs as there aren't fridges in-room), and we were touched to have a note of congratulations and a big bar of green and blacks waiting for us when we arrived.

We didn't eat or drink in the hotel as it seemed quite pricey, and with so many amazing independent places like Maray and Nolita Cantina just a few minutes walk away, there was no reason to stay in.

Looking at the pictures provided by other reviewers we do feel like we got the worst of an amazing bunch, which is disappointing for our honeymoon.

We'd recommend Hope Street Hotel - it's a great place to stay, really well situated in the city, with great staff and a good overall quality. Just avoid suite 501 if you can!

Room Tip: Don't go for room 501 if you want to sleep with the windows open - it's way too close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed here with my partner for a friends wedding, it was beautiful.......very clear instructions of how to find the hotel from the motorway. The hotel was ciche modern and clean. I would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I was very impressed by the internal decor within this hotel. The wood and leather look that runs throughout the building is pleasing on the eye and definitely emits a cosy feel for the visitor. My girlfriend and I stayed on a Monday in a suite (one upgrade above the King Deluxe). The bed was incredibly comfy; definitely the highlight of the room. The rest of the room has small mod-cons like smart lighting features and the room comes with very comfy slippers and dressing gowns. The staff were very friendly and helped us with any enquiries we made. The hotel is situated within a 5 minute taxi journey to the centre and lies within pleasant surroundings. The only qualm I had was the very expensive breakfast options: £16.50 for a full english (I think you can purchase this for £10 at the time of booking) is just too much to ask, I think. But overall the Hope Street Hotel was a great experience my girlfriend and I comfortably agree that we would return.

Room Tip: Any room is great! Not much difference at all between King Deluxe and the next upgrade available whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nighthawk2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

I was really impressed with the design of this hotel. The rooms have wooden floors and beams in the ceiling. The bed wall was exposed brick giving it a great trendy, rustic feel. The bed was HUGE and comfortable, and everything was very clean. Nice wardrobe space, and good choice of tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. It had a hairdryer and an ipod/iphone dock charger alarm clock with speakers, great if you wanted to put your own music on - quietly of course! Nice shower room and toilet (although there was no toilet brush so I was wondering what you would do if you needed one!), with good range of toiletries. Our room was on the ground floor so we just had a view of the elevated back garden, which didn't bother me but as there was only 3 lamps in the room for light, it was a bit dark. Obviously with the wooden beams a big central light wouldn't be possible but spotlights would have been a great help when I was straightening my hair, getting dressed etc. For makeup there was a nice light-up mirror in the bathroom. It's only a 5 minute walk from the city centre, right near both of Liverpool's cathedrals and there's a fantastic pub across the road called the Philharmonic. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, and booked taxis for us. I'd love to come back to Liverpool and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing