We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Got taken here by my boyfriend for my birthday, had never heard of the hotel before so didn't know what to expect but when we arrived was just amazed. Got greeted by a lovely girl on reception who was friendly and helpful! Got to the fifth floor and could not believe the view from the pent house. Could see over the whole of Liverpool!! Room was stunning, had everything we needed. Bathroom also gorgeous!! No complaints at all, went out for the evening for dinner. Arrived back to the most stunning view of all the lights, also to champagne, candles and the biggest shock of all, a proposal. The staff had sorted it all for him!! Staff really went out of their way and he couldn't have done it without them! So a huge thank you to them :) thank you hope street hotel we will definitely be back!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KerisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear KerisB,

Congratulations to you both!

We had great fun with the big secret but all credit to your super fiancé.

Look forward to welcoming you both back, best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    447
    156
    59
    29
See reviews for
239
940
75
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have had an absolutely great time - hotel is perfect. Room was beautifully laid out, very comfortable, no expense spared in fixtures and fittings, bathroom is so luxurious with lovely REN products for that extra touch.
Very buzzy in the evening, nice bar and restaurant too.
Food is excellent, nicely presented with an impressive wine list.
Staff are so welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
Hotel is situated in a nice area, almost opposite to the Philarmonic Hall.
Our room on the 3rd floor had a panoramic view of the city, which was great to see at night.
Lots to see in Liverpool too.
Would highly recommend and we will return!

Room Tip: We had room 319 - great views over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Barbara R

Thank you for your lovely post. We love the REN ourselves so always pleased when it gets a mention! We look forward to your return - look up concerts at the Philharmonic Hall and check out our special packages.

Best wishes, Mary C
Creative Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We chose to stay in this hotel as it is near to places we wanted to visit. I am disabled and contacted the hotel before our visit to enquire about disabled parking and was told that there was some opposite the hotel but this was in fact not the case we had to park quite a distance away which was a minus, we were told we could have our room from 14.00 we arrived at 14.50 and were told our room was not ready and told to await in a side room we were still waiting an hour later we were not given any updates on the progress of our room,the room we we were given was at the back of the hotel with views only of dismal roof tiles, not lovely Liverpool, we are not able to comment on the breakfast as at £16.50 each we went to a Wetherspoon instead and paid £3.50 each we would probably stay here again as it is near places we want to visit but only on a special deal would not pay full price

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean4249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Jean4249,

We are so sorry you did not have a satisfactory stay. There are disabled parking bays opposite the hotel at the side of the Philharmonic Hall, maybe they were full. As routine we offer our guests a complimentary refreshment while they wait for their rooms and I am sorry if we seemed to have forgotten you both. We promise to scoop you up when you return. Look out for our special offers and packages.

Best wishes, Mary C
Creative Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Where to start, well the hotel itself is very welcoming and the rooms are comfortable and clean. There's a car park just across the street that's relatively cheap. The hotel itself is located just a couple of blocks from the heart of the city and the staff were great. There's also a nice restaurant/bar attached to the hotel that's open fairly late if you want to get a night cap.

Also while I was there they were in the process of putting in air conditioning which is great to know for future visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Andrew W,

Thank you for your post, we appreciate you taking the time from Baltimore and hope to welcome you back.

Best wishes, Mary
Creative Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked Hope St Hotel for the night after our wedding (not our wedding night), as we were catching the train from Lime Street Monday morning to get the Eurostar to Paris for our honeymoon. I booked one of their "giddy summer" special offers a month or two earlier and mentioned on the booking that it was our honeymoon. We arrived Sunday night about 7pm pretty knackered and the receptionist informed us we'd been upgraded to one of the suites.We were really thrilled and wished we had arrived hours earlier. The suite was very luxurious with a bathroom on a mezzanine level with a large wooden bath and huge shower. The room was stylishly decorated and furnished and it's just a pity we were so exhausted that we just fell asleep about 10pm! after stuffing our faces at Host down the road. It was a lovely start to our honeymoon though, unfortunately we didnt get any other upgrades in France!
The breakfast served in London Carriage Works was alos very good, though in my humble opinion a full English should also include beans....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear LadyPashley,

Congratulations to you both and thank you for a lovely post. We routinely have the baked bean argument for a full English, its 60/40 against so far. We do actually have them in stock so next trip to Paris they're yours!

Best wishes, Mary C
Creative Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at this hotel for our granddaughter's graduation in July. Having recently injured I was temporarily on crutches, and the charming receptionist immediately asked us if we would like to change to a ground floor room with disabled facilities, which we gratefully accepted. Tithe room was recently refurbished in a stylish simple Scandinavian style, with a large bathroom with wet room shower and bath. I found the wet room floor very slippery, but after mentioning this at reception a bath mat was immediately sent to the room. It would be better if the shower area could be replaced with non slip tiles. The king size bed was very comfortable and excellent bed linen. Being freshly done this room was well air conditioned. We appreciated the provision of an iron and board. The outlook was on to an internal courtyard which was not very attractive, but blissfully quiet and we slept very well. Despite the hotel being very busy the staff were very calm and courteous at all times, and if we should ever go to Liverpool again we would certainly return. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Pifle

Glad your post did not live up to your name! Thank you. We hope you are fully mobile and well.

Best wishes, Mary C
Creative Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at Hope Street Hotel for the first time. First impression hotel was central, very modern and clean. It is situated in a very nice part of Liverpool. The staff were lovely from the reception staff to the dining room staff - they could not do enough for us. Or room was lovely, modern, very large comfortable double bed with beautiful white cotton sheets. Flat screen TV, tea and coffee available, hairdryer, ironing board and iron all in room. Modern and clean en-suite all freshened up every day.
On a less positive note the breakfast was just ok and I have enjoyed much better in other hotels but we always managed something to eat. Also over the three night stay we were woken up with noisy guests in the corridors and noisy people in the street. Liverpool is a University town and seemed full of new students making their mark.
We would certainly stay there again and loved Liverpool.

Room Tip: probably the rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Maureen B,

Thank you for your post and we hope you enjoyed the city as well. Come back during exams!

Best wishes, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
3,840 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
2,296 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing