We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, wonderful food - felt like we were being spoilt”
Review of hope street hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
hope street hotel
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A great place to stay. Stylish well designed and equipped room, with plenty of room! Lots of great touches; complimentary everthing you might need' fresh milk if you wanted it plus excellent choice of room service if you can't bear to leave the room and the beds and bedding are really comfortable.

All in all a great experience. I look forward to an excuse to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night celebrating a birthday. Our room was a deluxe no 420 on the back with a great view of the City and Mersey across to the Wirral. A very comfortable smart modern room. Good Wi-Fi that worked straight away (a bonus these days!). Wet room style shower and a big bath with nice Ren toiletries appreciated by my Fiancé. The bed was very comfortable and huge!

The public areas are very chic - lots of exposed stone and wood with big comfortable chairs and sofas. The Bar/restaurant is popular with non guests too and can get busy but there is a smaller lounge near the check-in where you can get some space.

We didn't dine in the restaurant apart from breakfast which was excellent. The 'Liverpool' full English both traditional and veggie was really enjoyed by our party. Excellent fresh ingredients very well cooked - a cut above many I've had and a nice change from the usual buffet. The restaurant menu for lunch/evening is very tempting and we will dine in next time we visit.

The locality has plenty to choose from - eateries, bars and of course the iconic Philarmonic Pub which is a must visit just a few doors down. The concert hall is right across the road so if you are going to a concert there really isn't anywhere else to stay.

I must also mention the staff who were all extremely friendly, efficient and helpful, both in the hotel and restaurant. This place is now first choice when visiting Liverpool for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinwilliams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hope street hotel was very comfortable and clean. It is ultra modern with good selection of creative lovely food. Healthy toiletries were provided and a good stock of spare extras were available in case you forgot essentials. I was on Business. I would recommend it for Business and city visiting. Children were obviously catered for as a few nice touches like children's packs were available, but quiet children -the non running around variety would be most suited to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyhkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel had the WOW effect as soon as you walked into the reception area. The bedrooms are spacious, modern, warm and clean, and the large bed so comfy. We were with a large party of 18 and we were put into the Book Room for our evening meal. The waiters assigned to our group were very friendly and attentive and and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the three course meal. I can't speak more highly of all the staff on duty during our stay. They were courteous, efficient and polite which enhanced our short stay. The hotel is ideally located if you want a visit to Liverpool. We are now looking into a theatre trip and we will certainly look to booking another night in this wonderful boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Our friends had a room on the fourth floor and they said the view of Liverpool was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for one night on the January Deal. Wow what outstanding value it was.
Wished we were staying longer! The room was stylish and the bathroom was beautiful. We had a view of the Catholic Cathedral from the room and the Liverpool skyline . The location of the hotel is a pleasant 15 minute walk into town, perfect to walk off that Liverpool breakfast! Hope Street is lovely. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. We ate in The London Carriage Works, which was marvellous. This is a great hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 317 - great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I really can not begin to tell you how wonderful this hotel is. Stayed here New Year's Eve. It was splendid. Greeted by the most helpful staff and on arrival was up grades to a suite. Omg!!!

Never have I has views of Liverpool from the roof terrace like this before.

All I can say is if you are staying in Liverpool. The hope street hotel is the one. I stay all over the world and this is one if not the top hotel I have stayed in. I just can not wait until I stay again.


Well done hope street. You are marvellous.

All the very best Kj

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristofeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel has a lot of character from the reception to the room. Wooden floor gives a warm and personal touch.
My room on the first floor was very spacious and soon proofing was good.
Bathroom amenities and towels are first class. Only let down in the room is the TV which looks small and dated.
Two small things that stopped me from giving full marks:
Mould in the bath- sorry but it is a 15 min DIY job to replace the silicon, absolutely unacceptable.
Breakfast was nicely presented and inviting, however the baguette and speciality breads were not fresh from the day.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank JeanPierreBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,262 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 98 in Liverpool
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Hard Days Night Hotel
#26 of 98 in Liverpool
3,202 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hope street hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hope street hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#7 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $96 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — hope street hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your hope street hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing