We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hype over substance” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hype over substance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

What you can really expect:-

Food not delivered, they forgot! Just not acceptable.
Cracked tiles in bathroom floor, dangerous!
Breakfast delivered to wrong table.
When breakfast was delivered, guess what not what ordered, just unbelievable.

I made my comments known when checking out, but to date to no apology or recognition of 1 star service.

Think twice about booking!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    431
    146
    58
    29
See reviews for
222
900
72
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hope Street Hotel for New Year and had a fantastic time.
After booking in, when we reached our penthouse suite we were stunned by the facilities and totally overawed by the uninterrupted view from the terrace balcony. Looking out over the city landscape, scanning through 180 degrees from the Anglican Cathedral to the South round to the Catholic Cathedral to the North.
Having booked the pre-concert dinner in the hotels' London Carriage Works restaurant we enjoyed fine fare, then with like-minded diners attended the concert in the Liverpool Philharmonic Hall opposite, before returning for the Hotel's New Year party for residents and diners.
We decided to celebrate the New Year privately back up on the terrace balcony, where we heard the New Year welcomed in by the chimes of the Anglican cathedral and were then enthralled by a display of fireworks right around the city and over on the Wirral.
Following a restful night's sleep, in a bed that almost swallowed us up, we awoke to see a brilliant sunrise viewed from the lounge area of the suite.
A relaxed breakfast offering an extremely wide range was almost too fine a finish to what was a truly grand experience and one we would hope to enjoy again.

Room Tip: Penthouse suites numbers 502 & 503 cannot be beaten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WirralWhacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My cab driver said he was taking me to the best hotel in Liverpool. It is indeed an excellent hotel in every way - elegant, friendly, very clean and central. Comfortable bed, the best shower in many hotels, and a quiet room. This hotel is also great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 744Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have spent approx 3 off the last 4 of my wifes birthdays in Liverpool. We have always used the Hope Street Hotel mainly because of the cleanliness of the hotel and its friendly staff its also very convienient for the Phiharmonic Hall across the road

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

An excellent hotel in one of the best streets in Liverpool. We have stayed many times here before and have never been disappointed. Look out for the special offers - they are a real bargain.The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful - the beds are the most comfortable I have slept in (I have not found their matress supplier yet). Well worth paying the small extra for a superior room with both bath and shower

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavRaqBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We loved the hotel. Our bedroom was great - good size, light and airy, spotlessly clean, with a fantastic spacious bathroom. To add to this, the view over the city was pretty special.
The food was superb. I can honestly say that my starter was possibly one of the best I have ever had.
The staff were all very friendly and professional and so obliging and helpful.
I love the individuality of The Hope Street Hotel. The design is very much to my taste- clean modern lines, unusual features ( like the huge glass shard structure in the restaurant - has to be seen, it is amazing).
I will definitely be back, and would recommend this hotel to anybody who is visiting this fantastic city.
The owner/s of this hotel should be very proud of the Hope Street Hotel. It is a real asset to Liverpool.
I look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The whole look and feel was lovely, very warm welcome from staff who seemed genuinely to care about making us feel welcome and making sure we got everything we needed. The food was also wonderful - really good quality (all 4 of us tried each others', and there really were no duds at all!). Only 15 mins walk to the centre, so ideal really.

Keep it up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,545 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Pullman Liverpool
#4 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staybridge Suites
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Central Liverpool
Signature Living Hotel
Signature Living Hotel
#3 of 99 in Liverpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing