We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great wedding venue”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Just come back from a cracking wedding at this venue. Despite living all my life in and around Liverpool, I didn't know it existed! It's a hidden gem.

The bar and function rooms are excellent and the organisation of the day seemed very well controlled. Food was very good for such a large party and service top class.

Although we haven't stayed in the hotel or dined in the restaurant, I would happily recommend as a venue for a function.

Only downside breing a lack if credit card facilities in the function room!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmarchbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    39
    28
    17
    14
See reviews for
52
78
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and i stayed in the Racquet Club for one and i must say it was really nice , we have stayed in many hotels in Liverpool before and this is the best we have stayed .Really nice room with lovely roll top bath ,we stayed in room 3 was great value for money, their is no hotel car park but their are two within in walking distance just across the road. Staff were really nice, 100% stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KevinK822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

1st class wedding venue!... From the minute we booked the Racquet Club to the wedding day nothing was ever too much trouble. Helen initially helped us with the booking then Sue coordinated everything up to and on the day. They answered my millions of questions I had & managed to follow my pages of notes so when I walked into the venue it was set up perfectly. The food was absolutely fantastic, the meat in the scouse was melt in the mouth & throughout the day the staff couldn't do enough for us. They made our day stress free All our guests couldnt believe such a fantastic venue existed in the heart of the city & right next door to the iconic Liver Building!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this venue to any future bride & grooms!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenEvans2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I had visited The Albert Dock and were looking to get something to eat and couldn't believe we found this wonderful place by chance! it is very well hidden I have probably walked past the building quite a few times, such stunning interior and really quiet, perfect for a date night.
We were greeted at the door by a smiley beautiful young girl, who took our coats, showed us to a table and looked after us for the rest of the night, she couldn't of been more attentive and delightful even listened to my husband ramble on for 15 minutes about utter nonsense while she looked genuinely interested, then he started to ramble about wine before she suggested a delicious one, she really made us feel welcome!
Then there was the food- absolutely pipping hot, exquisite, every course and just fantastic presentation and a perfect portion, after the starter and main we were absolutely stuffed until we seen a few deserts go past us from another table, lets just say we somehow managed to find some room, and we didn't regret it. We then had a latte which had to mentioned because its just a work of art the way it was presented. An all round excellent, mellow, intimate, just perfect night, going to visit again very soon! Hats off to the chef and thank you to the young red headed girl who looked after us. She made the night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We held our wedding day at the Racquet Club early September 2012. The staff were fabulous from start to finish. Sue coordinated everything wonderfully in advance and Rob took care of everything on the day. Nothing was too much trouble. They were flexible in the planning stages and took time to ensure we had exactly what we wanted for our big day. The food was gorgeous and everybody commented on the waiting staff who were attentive and friendly.
The hotel itself is beautifully different, full of character! It's in a great location in the city centre which was perfect for the many many out of towners who came to the wedding. They got to see Liverpool itself. Not just the interiors of a hotel. Plenty of photo opps inside or outside the hotel.

Perfect for our day and would recommend to any couple. Also a great venue for any party/occasion. Our guests are already wondering what reason they could use it for themselves! Thank you to the staff :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare_Baker_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had our wedding reception at the Racquet Club and it was absolutely perfect from beginning to end. Rob was incredible with all the details meticulously planned. We were running very late but they took everything in their stride and the chefs cooked amazing food especially the Scouse in the evening! We cannot thank all the staff enough for making us and the guests feel so welcome. Amazing venue and an amazing day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kharris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed 1 night on business in September 2012. Liverpool was very busy so I got one of the last rooms in the city under (indeed well under) £100. At £65 inc breakfast this was probably reasonably good value and the staff at this hotel are great. The hotel is well located to access the centre of Liverpool including the Albert Dock area ... but... the rooms (or at least room 3) are old, tired and quirky. There are better places to stay in the near vicinity when availability isn't a problem but this hotel is OK.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the quiet side of the hotel and watch out for rooms overlooking the pub next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashlessinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRacquetClub, Manager at The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review the Hotel. We do hope you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff – I am very proud of the staff here at the hotel, they really do try hard.

With regards to the bedrooms; I am sorry you found room 3 tired; we aim for a quirky/antique style which shines throughout the building. With this said, I will look into further to see if we can do anything to improve on this.

Weather you are looking for a one night stay or a home away from home; where the employees are approachable, the food is delicious and a Hotel that has character – look no further!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,379 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
983 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Heywood House Hotel
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
1,531 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant

Property: The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant
Address: Hargreaves Building 5 Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9AG, England (Formerly The Liverpool Racquet Club)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racquet Club Hotel And Ziba Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing