We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding and overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Wirral
Level Contributor
227 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Wedding and overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have attended two weddings at the Racquet Club as well as a charity event. The food was wonderful and the staff very helpful indeed.
The bedrooms are individually decorated and it does not feel like a chain hotel but something a bit special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strollingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    38
    28
    17
    14
See reviews for
50
78
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at The Racquet Club on Saturday 7th July for one night. The hotel itself was OK, well-located for visiting the city, and the continental breakfast we had on Sunday morning was very good. However, the din from the Pig & Whistle pub next door completely spoilt our stay. Very loud karoke until 3.30am on Sunday morning meant that we got very little sleep.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 7
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 901Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRacquetClub, Manager at The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Susan,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry that you did not have a great stay with us due to external noise. Liverpool is a party city at the weekends and can be pretty buzzy until late; generally Chapel Street is a peaceful area in the evening.

We have contacted the Pig & Whistle regarding this matter, the owner was not on duty that night and the staff had continued on longer than they should have. They have apologised.

Please contact me directly on 0151 236 6676 if we can look after you again.


Robert Ferguson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had our wedding party here on 16th June after getting married abroad. The team were brilliant from start to finish. All if our guests commented on what a different venue it was, a hidden gem. Food was brilliant too. I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AndreaWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for Valentines this year and were pleased with this quirky little hotel. It's in a great spot, in the business district, by the river. We didn't eat in the restaurant below as we went into town on both evenings but we were really pleased with our find! We had to move rooms because of a water leak but the staff were great and it was no bother. One thing I would say is that you had to lie at the opposite end of the bed to see the telly - it's a small gripe!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsTrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night at Easter. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was clean, tidy, everything was in working order, and a big comfy bed too. It's in a good location, walking distance from the city centre and the docks. It was ok value for money - maybe a bit overpriced, as the room was not huge, but overall it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RES_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Had been on the website to look at the hotel and i must say looked very very nice. was looking forward to staying.
we had 2 rooms, one in the main building and one round the corner room"48"in the other building.
After tracking down someone to come and man reception we were able to check in. Staff did there job no frills ....didnt tell us where anything other than the rooms were.

The main entertaining rooms looked very nice - we did not use any gym facilities, the food for the function was very very good - fair play ! ! ( it was roasting in the function rooms, could do with air con) would go to eat a meal there in future. The drink prices were fair and not cranked up for city prices.

The bedroom in the main building

This was very very small. Yes it did have a roll top bath but to be honest the bathroom was so small what was the point ?? we had 2 very small towels that were more hand towels than bath towels - no bath mat, no face cloth. the bed clearly needs a new mattress as you could feel all the springs - no extra blankets. The kettle was broken & there was no tea/coffee to make a hot drink on returning from the function. I have read other reviews about the hotel re noise - well even ear plugs didnt drown out the noise, it was soo bad we got up and went for a walk outside in the early hours. dreadful !!!

apartment "48"

This was the better of the two - i would ask for this if you are booking as although you have to travel across the road it is bigger, an apartment, has a small kitchen, with a few essentials, no milk for coffee,(so had to find a shop for some) a shower that did not work, 2 towels for 4 people to wash with, no facecloth. only 2 chairs for the dining table? family room???
meant for '4' people, double bed & one sofa bed - not a family room at all, so much so i had to sleep on the acutal sofa in the bedroom with a small bed valance over me. no extra covers -we did find a hover? were we supposed to hover before leaving lol ?? the balcony door is broken and did not close so it was freezing all night.(also a worry with young kids) the door lock to the apartment is really dodgy and it took ages for us to secure it!, we did tell the reception - big shock not interested!!! and to top it off , looking forward to breakfast to find that to feed 4 adults and 2 children would have cost me a staggering £72 for an english breakfast each. come on !!!! amazingly only the bride and groom had breakfast.

im glad i didn't stay for the 2 nights, think for the £19 offer at travelodge would have checked out and gone there !! at least you get what you pay for.

Feel ripped off...... hilton looks good by liverpool one. they charge about the same room rate.

Room Tip: chose room "48" or just go to the hilton liverpool one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRacquetClub, Owner at The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with our job is to give people a Great time and all team try really hard to do this. We love doing weddings.

We have weddings every weekend and our bedrooms are sold as part of the Package to the bride and groom. They sometime ‘sell them on’ which I believe has happened here. Our average room rate is £60-70 per room. Rack rate for the Hilton is £180 at the weekend and even the Travel lodge sell for up to £120 at weekends.

Full English breakfast is £12 which includes as much tea, coffee & juice as you like
This is cheaper than the Hilton, Thistle, Crowne Plaza to name a few local hotels
Charging £14.99 upwards - we make lovely big Breakfasts cooked to order using quality local produce

Unfortunately a previous guest in the apartment had broken the balcony door
I am very sorry that this had not been fixed in time; we are waiting for a special door lock. There was a sign saying please do not open the balcony door.

The apartment is advertised as a one bed flat, it does have a sofa bed that guests sometimes use for children or an extra adult if convenient for them.

I am really pleased you had a lovely meal and enjoyed the wedding and am really sorry the hotel was not to your taste we are in and Old Gentleman’s Club dating form 1800 and have a ‘vintage feel’ and lots of antiques and art. The Hilton which you are very taken with is a brand new skyscraper and very nice.

Liverpool is a party city at the weekends and can be pretty buzzy until late with general noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Really friendly, helpful & professionally courteous (without being sycophantic) staff team at a great city centre (but cutely tucked away) boutique hotel. Racquet Club punches well above its weight. Cool little bar, very comfortable and clean room too. The breakfast was tremendous as was my steak sandwich, served at the bar, when I arrived late the previous evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCollins63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant

Property: The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant
Address: Hargreaves Building 5 Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9AG, England (Formerly The Liverpool Racquet Club)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racquet Club Hotel And Ziba Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing