We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, and no need for the trip into the city centre!”
Review of The Grill Room - CLOSED

The Grill Room
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Grill room in an intimate local restaurant on the border of West Derby. It is family run headed by locally renowned chef Stewart St John and his wife Maisie offering contemporary British cooking from fresh locally sourced produce in a warm and welcoming atmosphere.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, and no need for the trip into the city centre!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Was looking to go out for a mid week meal with my wife, but didn't feel like the usual drive and pay for parking in the city centre, so looked for something closer to home on TA and was amazed to see a top ten on my doorstep so thought we'd give it a try!
The atmosphere is very cozy and welcoming, with the nice decor and lighting, plus good choice of background music played at perfect volume.
We were offered the mid week £12.99 two course special which all looked very nice, but after seeing the main menu decided to order from that as it was very good value anyway and looked great.
My wife had a halumi salad to start and ribeye for main and both were absolutely cooked to perfection and delicious, with the triple cooked chips being the best I've ever tasted!
I had the sticky ribs to start, which were superb, but would have loved more (but i am a greedy devil!). I followed with the gourmet burger which was a hand crafted and extremely tasty, plus filling.
Throught our time there the staff were attentive, but not over keen, getting the balance right. When i paid the bill i spoke to the head Chef (the kitchen is open to view from the bar area) and complimented him on the lovely meal, and told him we'll be back... and we will!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnygid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    22
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfectly satisfactory”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We live within walking distance of this restaurant, but I was unaware of its existence until I saw it mentioned on this site. Tried it for Sunday lunch and we were in agreement with most of the reviews. Only complaint was the wine, which I considered to be slightly overpriced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Could not recommend this restaurant highly enough! We've been on a number of occasions and sampled a lot of dishes on the menu and everything has been fantastic. We have visited on weekdays as well as sampling the Sunday lunch and we really struggle to find a reason to go anywhere else. The chef (Stuart) comes to the table to check how everything is, even when the restaurant is really busy! And his wife, Maisie, couldn't be more helpful along with the rest of the staff. Our children love it here too, especially when Stuart came over and asked my particularly fussy youngest child what he fancied (we had explained that my son has an aversion to anything with sauce and basically anything that isn't plain chicken!) and grilled him a lovely piece of chicken and made it into a "chicken lollipop" on a stick, even though it wasn't on the menu - that's what I call service.

The place has a lovely atmosphere, staff are always attentive but never obtrusive and nothing is too much trouble, the food is excellent and the prices are fantastic for the standard of food. And even better, its five minutes away and we don't have to worry about paying for taxis to and from town!

Love it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsGormley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have visited the grill room on numerous occasions. We make the journey from the wirral especially as the food is that good. Each time we have had excellent service and even better food. The chef even visited the table, making you feel that little bit special. I recommend you make a visit to this amazing restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“quality food and wine”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

second visit to grill room. this restaurant is a must visit. had chicken thai noodles for starter, really tasty with a little kick to it. ribeye steak for main and cooked just to my liking. good chioce of wines available and the service is warm and genuine. GIVE IT A GO.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill Room also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing