We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great family break”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We visited Liverpool 15th - 19th February in half term. We wanted to take our children to Liverpool as we used to live there. The location of this Travelodge is ideal. The Tesco Express underneath is also handy! The reception staff were really friendly and welcoming. Check in was easy. We had a family room and for 3 of the nights we stayed there was £21 per night. Such good value. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. It was cosy with four of us in a room but I have been on holidays abroad where the rooms are even smaller. We had everything we needed. The beds were made every day and new towels left. My only criticism is somewhere to hang the coats would have been handy! We had breakfast which was good value and a good variety. Would recommend especially as kids eat free. The bar/restaurant area was nice and we had a drink here a few times and ate once. The food was your standard fayre. The kids meals were big - even filled up our oversized 10 year old! They messed up our order but rectified this by offering a free drink. The staff at this Travelodge work really hard and were so good could not fault them. Would definitely recommend staying here if you wish to stay in Liverpool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlierabbit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    400
    152
    55
    48
See reviews for
230
507
84
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Simple, clean and a good night's sleep. Bar/late night snacks available most of the night, right beside Liverpool One SHopping Centre and the bus depot which is key! Had a great stay, so cheap too! Will be back in March!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conchubar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

When we arrived in our room, it was basic but it looked and smelt clean, so no complaints there. The location is great and the staff are friendly. However we did have some problems, when I got there I asked for a hairdryer- as there are none in the rooms, to be told that there were none left as its a 'first come first served' basis on hairdryers. This was bizarre to me and so I couldn't wash my hair before I went out.
Afterwards I asked for an iron- which luckily was available, however when my boyfriend ironed his (white) top it left a huge black mark- which meant that he had to wear his work shirt to go out in. This was hugely annoying, and could of ruined the shirt. Next was the heat of the room, we couldn't sleep without a window open, and unfortunately all we could hear all night was traffic. I didn't get a wink of sleep.
Breakfast is ok, wouldn't pay £7.95 per person though, ours was included.
We are due to stay here again in March. On, checking out, I explained the sleep/noise/heat situation to the staff member at reception and asked could we be put in a different room, to which he replied "I don't know the building very well, so probably just phone up a few days before you stay" Not very helpful or apologetic.
I suppose you get what you pay for, it is basic, no shampoos or anything, not even a phone in the room. I'd be annoyed if we paid more than we did. But it was clean, and it is close to the docks so I guess we will be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are deeply sorry to learn of your disappointment with your stay with us Megan J. We fully require all items and facilities at our hotels to be well maintained and fit for purpose, and any items that are not found to be in a suitable condition should be fixed or replaced as necessary. We do also expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so it is regrettable to learn that your room was too hot. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. We would also expect our staff members to be helpful and available at all times so it is regrettable to learn that you feel that you did not receive this high level of service from our staff. We’d like to apologise for the inconvenience caused and we’ll ensure our hotel staff are made aware of the feedback you have left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was the first time we stayed in the travelodge, right from the moment we stepped in we felt at home the girls on the desk were brilliant, rooms very clean and comfortable, next day breakfast was better than we expected, we will without a doubt be staying there again. Thank you to all staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank Shazmcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Excellent location, friendly helpful staff. Handy Tesco adjacent. Museums worth a visit also tour bus give you useful info about the area. Drinks expensive in Albert Dock lots of alternative pubs/bars in the area if you look.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We arrived here having come from a refurbished Travelodge in London. I said it in that review and the same applies here. Travelodge have finally realised that people wont stay in dumps just because they are cheap. They have finally started pulling their socks up.
The location of this hotel is brilliant, overlooking the Docks and a short walk into Liverpool One. We didn't have a car, we arrived on the train from London and the ticket is valid on Liverpool lines in the City Centre. We got off at James Street and the hotel is at the end of the road.
Bizarrely, the rooms in the London one we stayed at were bigger than these. Notwithstanding, the room was adequate and had a kettle and tea and coffee were provided.
We had drinks several nights in the bar. It became quite rowdy one night and I personally wouldn't like to stay I the rooms above this.
The hotel is very secure, you need your key card to open the front door after a certain time and the staff couldn't be more helpful.
All Travelodge experiences are price dependant in my opinion but we paid £112 for 4 nights. We have absolutely no complaints and would stay here again as long as it was not as expensive as some of the more upmarket hotels. A great base.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishScouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

For anyone visiting Liverpool this is an excellent place to stay. Near to all facilities, good value and friendly staff. Our only one niggle is that the drinks are a little pricey. The food we tried was good value for money and enjoyable. This was our second time and certainly will be our choice if we visited again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank montymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central
Travelodge Liverpool Central
#46 of 97 in Liverpool
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand

Property: Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
Address: 9 The Strand, Liverpool L2 0PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing