We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, great location, value for money.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of THE LODGE

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Liverpool, Merseyside, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caribbean...
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house, great location, value for money.”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I am so glad we found this place. John greeted us when we arrived and showed how everything worked. He was really nice and told us to call if we had any problems, which we didn't. The place is huge with a nice patio area and side lawn and flower garden. My husband and I, along with his cousin and his wife had plenty of room to be together, or apart if we wanted. For being on a busy road right next to a major hospital, it was really quiet inside.
There was a bus stop into the city center right across the street, about a 20 minute ride, but if you are 4 or 5, a taxi is the same price or cheaper.
I would have liked another toilet, but we really didn't have any problems sharing the bathroom.
My only complaint - I bought a loaf of really lovely crusty bread, but there wasn't a carving knife!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - convenient for bus, train and taxi.
Liked least: Having some hip problems, I would have like a ground floor toilet, but I knew in advance there wasn't one, and it really wasn't a big deal.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Thank you for your review Carole im so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethA923
Oneida, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very large home!”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This home is very large, table for 6, kitchen had lots of pots, pans, cooking utensil, coffee maker, hot water kettle, refrigerator and microwave (we couldn't get it to work). Living room furniture and carpet a bit warn. 4 bedrooms, 2 doubles, 1 with 2 twins and 1 with a twin. Only downfall, 1 bath, but our family of 5 made it work. Stayed 2 night in the middle of the week. Stair are steep, not good for elderly that has trouble with stairs. Needs more outlets...We were all trying to charge our devices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTCJC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stopped here for the weekend and we were not disappointed. The house is large, warm, clean and in a great location. Great value for money and when we next return to Liverpool we will definitely be booking again. Thank you John!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thanks for the review so pleaseed you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickdu...
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent,convenient and cleanliness up to scratch”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

sound man john with everything provided at ease lovely house with everything provided and working properly

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariekegu...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Really great house - lots of space and amenities. Perfect for getting in and out of Liverpool. Only one issue was the heating timer which didn't work - I'm sure that's a temporary thing.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed the house New boiler and heating scheduled nxt year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosshug
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“House was perfect for our needs”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Two families shared the lodge. We were down for the weekend at a tournament. The house was perfect for our needs. When we arrived the heating was on, so it was nice and cosy for us with young kids. Hot water always available. Really good value for money. My son left his Peter Pan cuddly toy, I sent John a message and he posted it straight back to us, much to the delight of my wee boy. :~) House was nice and clean. John the owner was very helpful. Would definitely recommend this property. :~)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location for us was perfect.
Liked least: Mattress topper on bed would have been amazing.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2015
Thank you for your review Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect and peaceful.”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We rented The Lodge for a week for our annual trip to Liverpool. John was waiting to greet us and give us 'the tour'. He'd even brought milk for us!
It's a gorgeous house in such a quiet setting. Plenty of room. We sat nine for Sunday dinner.
Bus stop opposite, so great to leave the car and relax in the city. We would definitely stay at The Lodge again. And next time I'll make mum leave the tea towels behind. Who knew!

The only downside was the dinner plates. A bit small for the larger appetite. So our guests brought their own, ha ha!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and comfortable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
Thank you Linda for your Kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing