We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not great”

Shiraz Turkish BBQ restaurant
Ranked #13 of 1,680 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would expect a bit more from a restaurant with such high ratings. It was good, very cheap, and the service was very good. But the food was pretty basic and not very original.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal_MXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    193
    38
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FAB PLACE 2 DINE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have eaten at Shiraz on a number of occasions over the last few months and promised a review! Staff are so welcoming ..Jade has got 2 be the friendliest waitress in town... food is delicious and portions are amazing (doggy bags have been taken home once or twice for breakfast!!) There is nothing more enjoyable than watching and smelling your food cooking over hot coals whilst sipping your vino !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChilledOutNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
193 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“a Turkish gem in Liverpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Ate here Friday afternoon for the first time, went after reading reviews and we enjoyed it greatly, in fact I'd recommend it anybody, everybody and whomever I talked to over the weekend :)

Location - located on North John Street, round back of Mathew Street and over the road from the Slug And Lettuce.

The place is quite basic actually, nothing to look at from the outside and the inside is along the same lines, a little basic really, clean though so not worried about what it looks like.

We shared a cheesy mushroom garlic bread for starters and it was lovely, loads of garlic, tones of cheese and chunks of woody mushrooms, the best garlic bread around we thought. To be honest it was a meal in itself, it was large and very tasty.

The mains arrived, I had the Mixed Grill as I like to try a bit of everything and everything is what I got, 2 types of chicken, 2 types lamb and more, fluffy rice, salad and a few chips.
I've been to Turkey a couple of times and love their food and it was perfect, exactly the same !!!
The meat was cooked perfectly, nice and charred on the outside but soft on the inside, a lot of places over cook the meat, especially the chicken but this was perfect.
Tasty lamb, fluffy rice was ace and the meal, as large as it was, got polished off with a huge smile on my face.

The wife had the chicken kebab which she enjoyed, the chicken was cooked to perfection.

We had a couple of beers and juices, unfortunately there was no room for afters, we like some Turkish desserts but there was simply no room, couldn't eat another thing.

Staff were pleasant and chatty, down to earth and hospitable, a very busy place but they handled the them and organised them well.
It was very busy and I saw numerous dishes coming out and they all looked super.

Bill was £27 and my belly was full, very reasonable cost wise.

We will be returning, maybe for a pizza, maybe for more kebabs, anything really as I'm sure it'll be lovely.

Well done Shiraz and see you soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DurhamPitLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Not only was the food great but the service was top notch as well! The ten of us arrived for a friends birthday party which we hadn't booked. However, the staff were more than happy to accommodate us in such short notice. We brought along a birthday cake which the waitresses kindly stored for us and put their own candles in. When they brought the cake out, unknowingly to us, they played Steve Wonder happy birthday to ya. It was just an utterly brilliant night and so welcoming we've have booked a further three nights!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmytj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“First kebab ever..and won't be the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I came to Shiraz last Wednesday for some food after work. Unsure what to get I was recommended the mixed kebab-chicken and lamb with rice/chips and pitta bread. Also comes with mixed salad. Was absolutely gorgeous, would definitely recommend! Not the usual post booze up kebab you could expect elsewhere in Liverpool. Staff were lovely and place was clean and well decorated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee281088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiraz Turkish BBQ restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Shiraz Turkish BBQ restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing