We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment, amazing service, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Block

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Block
Ranked #31 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment, amazing service, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Got a 6 birth apartment for my 21st birthday and will go back time and time again. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We managed to loose our key on our night out and the reception staff couldn't have been nicer about it. our room didn't have an iPod docking station on arrival and they brought one straight up. The apartment was spacious, immaculately decorated and spotlessly clean. Thankyou to the block for a memorable stay and for making my birthday so enjoyable :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottanthonystorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    124
    68
    32
    57
See reviews for
74
85
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I use The Block , every week for my football clients, From the guys in reservations to Everyone who works on the front desk, A warm friendly welcome and making all my guests feel totally at home always , Never had a problem at the Block, Rooms always clean, warm and more importantly secure.Thanks to everone who looks after my guys .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Block has great self catering apartments, with beautifully furnished rooms and two bathrooms one of which has a big bath and shower. The flats have great views of the Mersey river that you can look at through ceiling to floor windows. The staff are always on hand to help out, they are friendly and willing to make your stay comfortable plus solve any problem you might have. Everything you need is nearby and in the stylish city centre.

I had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed as a family at The Block Apartments for 4 nights over the Christmas period whilst visiting family in Liverpool. Having read the outstanding reviews online we were extremely disappointed with our stay. The apartment was not cleaned at all during our stay despite having asked at reception, we were not provided with clean towels or toilet paper until requested after 3 days, and the kitchen was inadequately equipped. For a family of 4, we were provided with 2 glasses and almost no kitchen utensils or simple cleaning equipment such as a cloth for the kitchen. In addition, there was no washing machine which is a basic necessity in what is termed a 'self-serviced' apartment. There was also no door to the ensuite in the master bedroom which was unusual.

We were also given one key between the 4 of us which made it difficult when different members of the family wanted to do separate things during the day or night. We were told this was because people often rented the apartment for parties but by restricting access it really disrupted our plans and someone always had to be home or had to call reception to enter the apartment. I would recommend the hotel gives the guests 2 keys for a 2 bedroom apartment in the future.

In addition, as we were travelling as a young couple with parents, one night we came home late after visiting friends in Liverpool and were harassed by the security guards to enter the building as the security code had been changed since leaving the apartment earlier that night without notification.

Whilst the apartment itself was in a terrific location close to the Albert Docks and L1 I would recommend guests try somewhere else and get much better value for money. The apartments are large and modern with good views but overall the service provided was not of normal standards and we would definitely not stay here again.

The worst part about our stay was when a complete stranger was also given our key and entered our apartment whilst sleeping one morning. So if you don't want uninvited guests coming into your dirty, unserviced apartment having been handed the keys by reception, probably best to avoid...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We returned to The Block, as we had such an excellent stay in July, and we were even more impressed this time.The location is unbeatable. Right next to the Albert Dock and walking distance to Liverpool One with all it's wonderful shops, café's, restaurants and bars We had a two bedroom apartment this visit, which was very spacious. We had two double bedrooms, one en suite, and one huge, family bathroom which had a very comfortable bath! A well equipped, modern kitchen/dining area, and a spacious lounge area with comfortable leather sofas and a flat screened T.V. The apartment had lovely views along the river. The house keeping team were excellent. everywhere was spotlessly clean and they looked after us with an unending supply of fresh, white towels. The reception staff were always cheery and helpful, and gave us lots of information about places to go and things to do.There is clearly a good management team here, as everything is run so well and we felt so much at home. We shall undoubtedly be returning soon. The staff are always willing to go more than that extra mile!

Room Tip: The two bed roomed apartments on the corners have great views up the River. Rooms 116, 216, 316.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmperorsNewClothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
798 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is in a great location right next door to the Arena where we were booked for a concert. The overnight car parking charges are very reasonable for the centre of Liverpool. We had booked a two bedroom apartment but were upgraded to a slightly larger suite. The layout was attractive and the furnishings modern minimal. The views across the water from the large sitting room windows enhanced the whole feel of the place especially at night when the lights reflected in the water of the dock.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here when going to the echo.. Fab

location really clean apartment very large with en suite clean tidy large spacious 2md bathroom

Definitely recommend here If going to the echo to see a concert

Lots to do just nearby also

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Liverpool
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
0.1 mi away
Pullman Liverpool
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool Albert Dock Hotel
0.2 mi away
Campanile Liverpool
Campanile Liverpool
#61 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Block? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Block

Property: The Block
Address: Kings Dock Keel Wharf | City Centre, Liverpool L3 4FN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Block 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Block reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing