We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-rated.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemon Tree Bistro

Lemon Tree Bistro
Ranked #125 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Over-rated.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Sadly in this end of the 'pool rave reviews reflect limited customer expectations because the choice of decent restaurants is definitely thin-and so average eateries like this gain 5star reviews.
Food was tasty,and good value (£12.95 for starter and main)not particularly well presented or imaginative either in choice of ingredients or accompanying vegetables.The cooking of very standard recipes was competant (but no better than good home cooking)-and school dinner- tough, lamb's liver definitely disappointed. This place needs a clearer identity in order to make a visit memorable and more importantly enjoyable.Decor is gloomy-artwork needs re-homing-tableware is lacking any imagination or sense of occasion.but the staff are warm and friendly.
No card facilities.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank mary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    38
    19
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well done Sharon and the Team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Once again we were not dissapointed, good food, friendly service and good value too. Five of us were treated to another great evening in this cosy little Bistro. Not much more to say... try it for yourself. The Lemon Tree has also just been rated NUMBER ONE by Trip Adviser diners not only in Crosby but across Liverpool too!
Well done to Sharon and the team.
Looking forward to our next visit soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kevski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner came here after reading positive reviews, to which we wasn't disappointed! As soon you walk through the door you were made welcomed. The food was top notch, for the money too although we both left some, due to the size of the meals ( not complaining! Just not big eaters) overall we liked the little cosy feeling of the place, made a pleasant impression on my partner, she's now coming back with her girl mates for a night out ..

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yubnub30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were a table of five people last night (Saturday) for my wife's birthday. Good food, a warm, lively, happy atmosphere and value for money - a great combination for a birthday celebration. I'm very happy that we live close by. Sharon and her team pull out all the stops to give you a good experience. Well done and thank you to them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank athyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

After reading gushing reviews decided to try this bistro we visited on A Thursday in Dec it was very busy but service was good if not a little slow, the food was fairly average bistro/gastro pub style while there was nothing particulaly dissapointing about our meal there was nothing that wowed us or would make us say we have got to come back again ,I'm afraid it doesn't compare to our favourite restaurant on North Merseyside , Verite in Birkdale, overall rating not bad been in better but I have also eaten in a lot worse

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sunndays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemon Tree Bistro also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Crosby, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Lemon Tree Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing