We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal well served”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Academy Restaurant

Academy Restaurant
Ranked #239 of 1,679 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: British, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
County Durham
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely meal well served”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We visited the Academy on a Friday night as a party of four, two couples all aged approximately sixty, one of us being an ex-college principal.

We didn't get off to a very good start as despite walking right round the block we could not locate the restaurant. We had to ring up and a waitress very helpfully came out and found us. We had the impression this was not an uncommon occurrence - Tradewinds Square is located through a narrow gap off Duke Street between two other restaurants, marked East Village Private Estate. Some better directions on the restaurant's web site would have helped us.

However, having arrived, we were made to feel welcome. The service was attentive and pleasant. We had a bit of confusion over the vegetarian options on what was a new menu but the waiter very calmly sorted out this out for us. There was good supervision of the students all evening. The pace of the meal was about right.

The ambience was good, the building is recently built to good quality restaurant standard and, a big plus point for me, no musak!

The meal itself was very good indeed, well cooked with good ingredients, including chicken, polenta, and rice pudding. There was a good choice of vegetarian options. The house red wine was good also.

Overall, very good value for money and somewhere we would all be very happy to return to if in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BassettHound33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    24
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dining on a calm sea - at Academy Restaurant, Tradewind Sq. L1 5BG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have been going to the Academy Restaurant ever since the Community College relocated its Hospitality and Catering courses to Tradewind Square from the former site in Colquitt Street. The current premises bear no comparison to the old Colquitt College. Indeed you could easily believe that you were dining at a top-class restaurant; such is the excellence of the venue, the staff (students and mentors) and of course the cuisine. The ambience is just right whether you wish to dine solo, with friends and family, or colleagues from the office etc.
We have just sampled this year's Christmas Lunch Menu - an absolute bargain at just under £20 per person (bar drinks being the only extra). Where else could you get 4-courses of such high standard for less? Hardly anywhere is the simple answer. There was a choice of starter and main course (chosen at time of booking) with a delicious soup course in between. To follow there was an assortment of mini-desserts (all served) this year; which was a most welcome innovation. All dishes were served pleasantly and with the minimum of fuss. The food was top quality and the main course was more than plentiful. Food presentation and temperature were perfect as always at the Academy. Chris was at the ship's helm on the day and our whole dining experience was akin to sailing on the calmest of seas. Thank you Chris and to all the Staff and Students on the day. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank POwens_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tasty food at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had dinner here and it was excellent. The food was great and it was well priced with three courses coming in at around £20 each. The staff were keen to please and the bread from the onsite bakery was yummy. The only downside is that it's a bit tricky to find.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL UK
Level Contributor
571 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Good points were the attentive service, and child friendly staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

As this is a catering training college I feel a bit mean criticizing it.

Good points were the attentive service, and child friendly staff.

We were a bit underwhelmed by the meal tho, there was no real sparkle. The evening we visited the place was only half full but service was a bit ponderous and my main could have been warmer. The bread was bog standard white rolls; with a bakery on site I thought this was a bit of a cop out.

Had heard good things about this place so was a bit disappointed,maybe I got it on a bad night so might try it again maybe for lunch.This time round tho I found it worthy but a bit dull.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SGM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Excellent food prepared by students of the catering college. Try the taster menu small portions of tasty treats, more than enough to fill up the hungriest diner. Friendly staff we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Academy Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Academy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing