We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Fitness Suite

Lakeside Fitness Suite
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Crosby Lakeside Adventure Centre is a stunning Water Sports and Visitor Centre located in the heart of Crosby Coastal Park, Waterloo. Forming part of the gateway to the Mersey Estuary, sitting alongside the internationally renowned Antony Gormley's 'Another Place', Iron Men statues, this really is an area of outstanding natural beauty. The facilities are first class! From water sports to fitness suite, conference and banqueting to 14 high quality fully accessible bedrooms, Crosby Lakeside has something for everyone.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Have visited this restaurant on 2 or 3 occasions recently twice at lunchtime and once in the evening. The ambience was very pleasant in modern clean surroundings overlooking the lake. The menu is fairly limited and on one occasion at lunchtime they ran out of fish. If you catch it right, the service can be excellent ,if a liitle slow, and the prices are reasonable. It is definitely family friendly at lunchtime and early evening, a more sophisticated atmosphere prevails at night..At nightime the restaurant had quite a few younger couples, and as it was darker it appeared quite romantic. Altogether a very pleasant and not unduly expensive experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at Lakeside Fitness Suite, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Thank you very much for your feedback, and for returning to Lakeside on many occasions, your custom is very much valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    3
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
217 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Although we live locally in Wirral, we were unaware of this centre. I do not say hotel as it is more of a water sports centre set on a large lake, however, we attended a family wedding here and immediatley felt at home. the building is quite Scandinavian in style and as we visit Denmark regularly, we were used to the layout and open-plan style. We enjoyed an excellent cold buffet during the day and there was a hot and cold buffet in the evening. The food was varied and delicious. During the period between day and evening functions we drove a couple of miles up the coast and visited the Anthony Gormley statues on the sands/in the sea. The were also beautiful views of Wirral and North Wales and a nice walk around the lake.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Prentonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at Lakeside Fitness Suite, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Thank you for your valued feedback, delighted we were able to pleasantly surprise you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

When my wife wanted to take me to CLAC for coffee I thought err no but it was great. Lovely building, good views, and the coffee and cake were good. Worth a try.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank paddy5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at Lakeside Fitness Suite, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Glad we were able to surprise you - stay for lunch next time, I promise you wont be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This doesn't feel like a hotel at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Very clean, nice location, friendly staff but this does not feel like a proper hotel: both the room and the bathroom look like a hospital room, lighting was cold and clinical. Although clean not cosy at all. The overall feeling of the structure is of a retirement hospice, not a hotel. Definitely something we were not expecting from the pictures on their website.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Goona14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at Lakeside Fitness Suite, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Sorry to hear Lakeside didn't live up to expectations, indeed the bathrooms in Lakeside Lodge are all accessible, not a plush bathrooms as you would get in some hotels but twice the size which is always a bonus. Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our staff and for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well, this is different!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Needed an hotel near Aintree and, not wanting a premier inn or to stay in Liverpool centre, the choice was limited. So I thought I'd give this place a shot as it looked 'interesting'.

Disappointment on arrival as the restaurant closes on a sunday at 8:00, had to forage for a carry out. Luckily Crosby is close and you can get deliveries.

This is primarily a watersports venue so the skew is not towards plushy, business friendly decor or facilities. It's also designed for elderly and disabled folks, so expect the ablutions to be accessible for them.

The place was clean, friendly, the food was good and not expensive. If you're looking for luxury, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a nice place to stay that won't break the bank, and you like to watch swans and geese flying by over breakfast, then this is a top place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank tjz1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at Lakeside Fitness Suite, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Glad you decided to give us a try at Lakeside and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Fitness Suite also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Lakeside Fitness Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing