We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanover street social”

Hanover Street Social
Ranked #27 of 1,715 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hanover street social”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Have been before for Sunday lunch and enjoyed it so decided to take son and his fiancée
after Christmas . Good menu choice, staff pleasant &attentive, food & service excellent.
We had a good night and would recommend it to friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anon8376a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    967
    460
    121
    42
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had dinner here the Sunday before Christmas, couldn't get booked online but a lovely guy fitted us in for 8.00pm when we called in person at lunch-time. Because of the weekend that it was, I was expecting a hectic, rowdy atmosphere, (we were eating with kids), and probably slow service. Absolutely not! While it was very busy, there was a lovely vibe and buzz in the place, we had a drink at the bar while we waited, and then given a choice of being seated or holding out another few minutes for a better table, which we did.
The food was fabulous, the Sunday lunch menu continued through til evening. Just £13.95 for 2 courses, and only £4.50 for 2 course kids menu, which had very healthy options, including grilled chicken fillet or small roast dinner.
What was absolutely exceptional was the service. We indicated that we were not in a hurry, but they still kept an eye on us. The staff were attentive, warm, chatty and totally lovely, despite being busy, and a special thank-you to Mary for a lovely night. It finished off our trip to Liverpool perfectly!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarakate679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, faultless service!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

18 of us dined here on 16th December .Everyone enjoyed their food which was well presented and cooked, There was a relaxed and warm atmosphere and attentive staff We were particularly impressed with the complementary 5 bottles of wine we were given in recompense for an earlier loss of pre-orders. All meals were correctly received with no mix-ups. Service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Thank you James and colleagues for helping to make our Christmas night out a very enjoyable one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindamx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food. Service not so great.”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Came for lunch following a morning of Christmas shopping. Good lunch time menu, and offer of 2 courses was good too.
Food was beautifully cooked (starter of goats cheese follwoed by minute steak). My one criticism really is the amount of rocket that was served on both dishes. It did seem to take over the plate, but that is personal preference and in no way detracted from the taste of the food.
Having previously been and experienced wonderful service, what disappointed me this time was the lack of service. Rudely told my a waiter when we arrived there were no tables - we could see around 6, and then told there was a table. We sat down and did feel rushed to order. Due to the open kitchen, we could see the chef's cooking the food, but we could also see our main course was ready before we had finished our starter- this was mainly noticeable as our waitress stood by the pass and kept looking over at us. I hadn't even put my cutlery down and the plate were whisked away. Once we had finished our mains, we didn't even ask for the bill yet it was put in front of us.
All in all, the food was beautiful, and the food does make HSS worth going to. But I did feel a bit disappointed in the service. Hopefully next time I go it will be better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flisster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

What a great restaurant, I went with my husband for my birthday , the waiter was vey attentive and the food was brilliant and good value for money. They where extremely busy but the service was fast and efficient. At the end of the evening when we asked for our bill the waiter brought me a glass of sparkling wine for my birthday it was the perfect end to a perfect meal. Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pepsiwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanover Street Social also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Hanover Street Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing