We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!!! Vera is a star”
Review of Atlantic Corner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Corner
Ranked #66 of 75 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 6, 2012

PERFECT! Group of 6 stayed for one night (lads) and was ideal for us. the accom was clean, well located and was great for somwhere to stay following a night out. The owner Vera was an absouloute star, such a nice person who looked after us in the bar on arrival and even picked up a macdnalds breakfast for us the following morning. helped us ou with where to go and made us feel very welcome. I would without doubt stay here again if i was planning anight out in the city. Ideal for stag dos, general nights out etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

We booked up the Atlantic corner for a Grand National stag do, I’ll admit to being a little skeptical from previous reviews, but it’s lovely to be proved wrong.

We were a group of mid 30’s blokes looking for somewhere to lay our heads after enjoying, well lets face it, a day at the races and the night life of Liverpool.
Rooms are simple and clean with a hostel feel (shared bathrooms and showers).
The hotel is a five minute walk from the train either into town or to Aintree and taxi’s from the town centre are about £5. Can’t complain there.

But what set this place apart from others I have stayed in was our landlady Veronica, she could not have been nicer, from dropping an iron and board into hall so we had neat shirts for race day, to making sure we all knew where we were going each time we went out, giving us all cards with the phone number and address, inviting us all back for drinks with her and her staff, she just seemed to be determined that we enjoyed our stay! And we did!

I can’t hesitate to recommend the Atlantic corner for any such trip, perhaps not the place for a romantic weekend for two, but if your looking for somewhere for your group to base themselves in Liverpool, you can do allot worse, and pay allot more to boot!
Veronica, If I have another trip to organize down in Liverpool I’ll be picking up the phone! Thankyou.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTBChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just back from a great weekend in Liverpool and so glad we booked this place.Reading the reviews we knew it wasnt going to be a 3-4star hotel.We actually made jokes as the reviews were so bad.Well if its a stag or just a group of lads i think this place is ideal.We stayed Fri morn till Sun night.On arrival the stag was greeted with a free drink from the Landlady in the pub below.Now this lady Vera (needs a special mention)who we all became good friends with just let us rip on and party away was really down to earth doubled your vodka etc for free gave me a free chinese when i arrived home early at 1am Sat night which i wasnt expecting.Its not often you come staggering home and the owner asks are you hungray and buys you a chinese i was expecting maybe a snadwich lol she even bought all the lads on the Sunday night free pizza's, chips and ordered our taxi's to the airport that only cost £17 the cab fare.The rooms were basic and if you want a place were you can turn up the music drift out of each others rooms and basically do what you want them she has no qualms.Residents are left with a key as both nights the pub closes around 1am and the function room disco's shut at 2.30am.There's 2 areas upstairs but with 17 of us staying we packed out all but 3rooms.The other folk staying were her nephew that wend and some folk from the private function downstairs who were as mad as us.There is only 2showers 1 sink and 3toilets to each area upstairs.But it didnt bother us 1 bit.This area is roughly 2miles from the city centre but after we were washed changed and met in the pub bar each day Vera would order Delta taxi's.Its only £4.50 to the city centre.If you fancy a football match Goodison and Anfield is a short walk up the road or £3 taxi.Any1 going on a stag /birthday or party wend and want to make as much noise as you want and party all night then this is the perfect spot.If we had of stayed anywhere else we would have been billed for damage or thrown out instead we were all greeted with a free dinner and a welcome back anytime from Vera.And next time i am on a lads wend i will be back like a flash :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinger1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is not the sort of place I usually stay. However this was for a stag do, and we had virtually the entire place booked out. For that reason it met our requirements. It was a place to sleep and that was all.

The room was clean enough, but the security was dire. The lock to my room was pretty much hanging off and even a gentle shove would have gained access without a key. I was glad I hadn't taken a camera or laptop. The 2 holes in the door where previous locks had been was the cherry on the cake.

The shared bathrooms weren't great.

Basically, had we been sharing the place with anyone else it would have been terrible.

The lady working in the bar, not sure if she was the owner or not, was friendly and helpful.

I probably wouldn't recommend here, unless you were going with a large group and just needed somewhere to rest your head. Not one for the ladies I'd say.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frootloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have just returned from a stay at this hell hole, and I have absolutely nothing good to say. We were led to our room up a flight of stairs then over a wall. The room looked ok but basic. The wardrobe was rickety and the towels on the bed were stained. I then went to the toilet which was shared with 3 other room and was hit by the smell of stale urine, it was filthy damp and just plain disgusting. We returned from our night out at around 12 and tried to get sum sleep. Their was loud music so it what near impossible. We finally managed to get sum sleep only to be woken by a group of people on the room near us shouting, runnin along the corridor and being sick in the toilet. It was the worst hotel I have ever been in .

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed with two friends in a triple room.
The ''Hotel'' is located on an industrial estate heading away from the centre a couple of miles passed the Albert Dock, we were aware of the distance from the town centre but not how poor the accomodation would be.We had a triple room above a pub sharing three toilets and one bathroom with the other residents
When we returned later in the evening we found a party was being held in a function room below us , the noise was so loud the floor vibrated and this went on until just after 4.00am. The party goers then continued out in the street for an hour or so and then unfortuanately came into the builing we were in as they were staying there !! We then had shouting & fighting in the corridor until 8am. We were so intimidated we did not leave the room we remained quiet and hoped our door would not be kicked open.The owners did not stay on the premises over night so as you can imagine the residents were left to it. When we left our room to check out the corrodor was strewn with chips , beer cans , glasses and kebabs, the toilets were in a disgusting state.
We handed the keys in and remarked on what a terrible experience we had had to which the response was ''oh were the lads fighting?''
As for breakfast being available upon request , no mention of it, mind you had there of been we would of declined

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drury_janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Right on the docks and gas station, smell very strong, very very basic and old fashioned, over priced at £58.00 for room only, shared shower and toilet. A radio was left on landing for 5 rooms to share, which is not ideal, not all customers want to listen to loud music.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 98 in Liverpool
3,413 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza  Liverpool City Centre
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#25 of 98 in Liverpool
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,299 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Corner

Address: 162 Regent Road, Liverpool L20 8DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantic Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing