We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping at the airport - in style.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Ranked #46 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Sleeping at the airport - in style.”
Reviewed May 30, 2010

It's so nice to see old buildings like this functioning and not being left to rack and ruin. The building has, in my opinion, been sympathetically restored with emphasis on its previous reincarnation as a terminal building for the old Liverpool (Speke) airport.

The hotel itself was very pleasant to stay in. Rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean and, as has been stated repeatedly in previous reviews, the staff are friendly and helpful. There is free parking too. We neither ate at the hotel nor took advantage of free use of the gym next door so I cannot comment on that.

The obvious disadvantage to this hotel is that it doesn't have a city centre location and you'll really need a car to see the sights downtown. However, having stayed in downtown hotels I prefer this hotel and will be staying there again in the future. If booking via the IHG web site you can get some great deals too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeZoneHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    403
    178
    90
    63
See reviews for
242
380
62
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We were flying out to Amsterdam for my Wife's birthday on Friday May 14th,the flight was at 0605hrs so with such an early check in we decided to get nearer to the airport the night before,there are a number of options but for me only one would do,the Crowne Plaza which is in the building which used to be Liverpool Speke Airport until it's move down the road in the 1980's.
As a young boy in the 1950's,a neighbour,one of the few to have a car in those days,used to take myself & other boys to watch the elite flying in & out of this airport(the only ones who could afford it back then!),years later my family & I would also make the journey,as would my Wife & I many times so this was a real journey back in time.
My Wife works for the IHG group of hotels so an added bonus was the reduced price,we arrived about 3pm,check in was fast & friendly & we made our way to our room,the decor of the room,& indeed the hotel in general is,IMO,gorgeous,very art deco,sweeping curved stairways & walkways link the floors(as well as a lift),the are ice machines aplenty,finding one that worked was something else though,something achieved with the assisitance of one lovely young member of staff who's name I didn't get.
After settling in our room we went for a wander,we were really impressed with the hotel,wandering outside to the old airport apron we were a little disappointed that it looked rather scruffy compared to the building itself,there a a number of aircraft on display around the hotel,all sadly in need of some TLC.
We had planned to dine at Damon's that night,it stands at the entrance to the airport grounds & I have had so many glowing reports on the place but on check in as part of the employee deal we were told that we had 50% of all food & drinks so the hotel restaurant it was,excellent food,great service.
After a great nights sleep in our well equipped,comfortable & spotless room we used the airport shuttle which quickly(driven by Lewis Hamilton on his day off I think!) had us at the new terminal building.
Overall a great stay,we don't live that far away but were so impressed by this place that we are planning to return for a longer stay,highly recomended!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1snaefell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

The hotel is housed within the old terminal building of Speake Airport ( 1930s) and is decorated in Art Deco style.

The staff are some of the most well informed and helpfull staff I have ever come across.

Bedrooms are superb , Restaurant meals and breakfasts are excellent but food ordered in the bar may not be of the same high standard. The hotel is on a bus route to the centre of Liverpool , just 20 minutes away.

Stayed April 2010
Helpful?
Thank Silchester_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed here before flying out from the airport and took a room plus car parking. We have three young children, one a baby, and the hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful. The hotel room was a good size, clean, and quiet. Our children loved the fact that the hotel was the old airport control tower, and the old plane outside the hotel. We used the sports centre round the corner (free for hotel guests) twice - there is a good swimming pool, and a small soft play area next to the cafe. The breakfast at the sports centre was good and much better value than the hotel breakfast. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

This is an interesting building with well preserved and, I imagine, restored, art deco features. The ground floor room was spotlessly clean and contained twin 5ft beds which were comfortable, with decent pillows. The bathroom was good with an effective shower over the bath. As there was a flying ban I could not assess soundproofing, but we were unaware of any traffic noise from the main road. Decoration throughout the hotel was immaculate.

The bar was rather noisy due to pop videos playing on the two televisions, but the small restaurant was far enough away for this not to be a problem. The meal was very satisfactory and reasonably priced.

Staff were efficient and friendly. Checking in and out was rapid and simple.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odaglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Good cheerful staff, food is okay , if you want to stay few days away from madenning crowd this place is just right.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2010

From first arriving the hotel looks something special, the reception saff are the best i have come across. We had a meal in the restaurant not long after arriving, and the food has changed alot since we last came. Top quality steaks and very refined new main course dishes (must try the local cheeses on black slate after the meal). The only and very big let down is the presentation of the restaurant, it really needs a good scrub up and piainting (oh and the tables really need replacing or covering with cloths. The room was very clean and well presented, and the bed is so comfy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,651 reviews
Novotel Liverpool
#33 of 97 in Liverpool
2,324 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Address: Speke Road | Speke, Liverpool L24 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#34 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly Concierge will greet you on arrival at the hotel, a former Art Deco airport terminal building. Take in the vintage aircraft stationed outside the entrance and step into Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport's Lobby and lounge, where thousands of fans greeted The Beatles in their 60s heyday. Your sumptuous room or suite awaits, or you can head next door for complimentary use of the facilities at David Lloyd Leisure Centre. Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport is 1 mile from Liverpool-John Lennon Airport and 1 mile from Liverpool South Parkway rail station, with direct trains to the city centre in 15 minutes. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 20 minutes to Speke Hall, a gorgeous Tudor manor house nestled in the woods. Meet colleagues or clients at nearby businesses such as Jaguar Cars and Shop Direct, or invite 300 to banquets and conferences in our 12 elegant meeting rooms. Our Art Deco Starways Restaurant backs onto the former runway, and you can order from 24-hour in-room dining. For a stylish base in a convenient location, you'll find that the long and winding road leads to Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Crown Plaza Hotel Liverpool
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing