We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crowne pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Ranked #49 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“crowne pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza. I was very surprised by the layout and décor of the building. It was like entering an old Art Deco era. Hercule Poirot wouldn't have been out of place in it. It was very clean and elegant. The room was spacious and clean. The food was excellent and the staff were very friend, polite and very helpful. I would seriously recommend the Crowne Plaza to anyone. Holiday maker or business trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjohn2_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport.
I am glad you appreciated the decor of our hotel, funny you should have mentioned Hercule Poirot as we recently hosted a 1930's Murder Mystery Evening which our building lent itself to perfectly.

Many thanks and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Vicki Mangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    385
    160
    88
    60
See reviews for
222
355
57
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

A bit far from the centre but served our needs as we were visiting a child at the university

Helpful with direction and forgotten toothbrush

Decor and furnishings lived up to expectations

Breakfast was good but we did not use the restaurant for dinner so cannot comment

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank N_Rayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Vicki Mangan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Nice to stay somewhere that looks different, and not run of the mill. Good location, never heard the airport with some good quick shopping over the road.

Checked in with minimum fuss, and platinum with IHG so asked if I'd been upgraded (was after lounge access really), but told platinum members don't get upgrades anymore! There were rooms available, I know cause I checked. As a result might investigate other hotel schemes and see if I can transfer like for like, as most of them do offer upgrades.

Room comfortable, towels were large and nice and soft (sick of towels in hotels, they seem to be getting smaller).
Furniture was a bit hammered, and cleaning could be much better in places, but overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Durham_Bloke_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were glad to see your kind notes on the comfort of the room as well as your high score for Sleep Quality. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

In joke. my last review was a fur coat no knickers one! What a superb hotel. Can`t find any fault at all. We were there for just one night, on a Mystery Tour coach trip, but could not have been treated better. The whole Art Deco furnishings were an absolute delight. The bathroom was to die for, super fluffy towels, big bath sheets and bath robes. Plenty of complimentary toiletries and even aroma therapy sprays to help you to have a good nights sleep. All furnishings were of a high standard.
The food was excellent. Breakfast included a choice of two types of bacon and herby or non herby sausages.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, in fact all appeared to be typical "scousers" ( in the nicest possible way!) They all appeared to be proud of the fact that their hotel was somewhat unique and were pleased to tell you all about it.
One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, Thank you Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for posting such a glowing review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport, it was a pleasure to look after your group and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks

Vicki Mangan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

From moment we arrived the reception staff were smiling and helpful and we were quickly checked in to our room which was lovely.

We had parked our car but we were distracted and ended up climbing in an out of lots of old aeroplanes and even a simulator as the car park is the old airport runway.

This stay was a special one as we had a murder mystery weekend and we had a guided tour of the city... and as we love the Beatles it was perfect as we passed the family homes of John Lennon and Paul McCartney

we will definitely be going back, but we are going to join the National Trust so that we can visit the amazing speke hall which has a maize maze and its only 5 minutes away and the Beatles family homes are National Trust too so we will be able to visit them

plus we have noticed that there are lots of other ideas and tours on www.brilliantliverpooltours.com .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport. I am pleased you enjoyed our murder mystery weekend it certainly took the hotel to another dimension!
Myself and my team look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Speke Hall.

Many thanks

Vicki Mangan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I booked the hotel for two nights and on both nights I tried to order room service. It was non exticence. Dont get me wrong the staff were good, but dont expect them to answer the phone from your room. Hilton from now on

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatdunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport. I must apologise that you were dissatisfied with your stay, we try our utmost to respond to our guests requests and needs. Our managers on duty are always on hand to rectify any challenges our guests face. Thank you for your feedback.

Many thanks

Vicki Mangan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed here for the IHG "big win" points offer.

Although, It is a well run hotel, with good service, easy parking, good service and nice rooms.

Unfortunately, the restaurant served the dreaded microwave meal, which was far overpriced.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank anynamewilldo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Good Morning, and thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Liverpool John Lennon Airport. I am pleased that you found the hotel comfortable. I would like confirm that our restaurant does not serve microwaved meals, all of our dishes are freshly prepared by our Executive Chef and his team.

Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to investigate your comments in more depth.

Many thanks

Vicki Mangan
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Address: Speke Road | Speke, Liverpool L24 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#34 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly Concierge will greet you on arrival at the hotel, a former Art Deco airport terminal building. Take in the vintage aircraft stationed outside the entrance and step into Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport's Lobby and lounge, where thousands of fans greeted The Beatles in their 60s heyday. Your sumptuous room or suite awaits, or you can head next door for complimentary use of the facilities at David Lloyd Leisure Centre. Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport is 1 mile from Liverpool-John Lennon Airport and 1 mile from Liverpool South Parkway rail station, with direct trains to the city centre in 15 minutes. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 20 minutes to Speke Hall, a gorgeous Tudor manor house nestled in the woods. Meet colleagues or clients at nearby businesses such as Jaguar Cars and Shop Direct, or invite 300 to banquets and conferences in our 12 elegant meeting rooms. Our Art Deco Starways Restaurant backs onto the former runway, and you can order from 24-hour in-room dining. For a stylish base in a convenient location, you'll find that the long and winding road leads to Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Crown Plaza Hotel Liverpool
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing