We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
Ranked #48 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Crowne Plaza with a coach party and we had a lovely time. We were originally booked to stay at the Adelphi (central Liverpool) but they had over booked - at first we were unhappy because of the location but on arrival at the Crowne Plaza we were more than happy.

Our room had a bath with power shower (amazing!) tea and coffee facilities,TV, safe, hairdryer and the bed was so comfortable!!

The Hotel is around 20 min drive from the center but as we were with the coach it didn't matter, we did get a taxi back on the Saturday night after 12 midnight and this cost around £16 which we didn't mind paying at all.

We had access to the swimming pool, spa & steam room in the David Lloyd Gym right next door which we took advantage of :-) There is also a large retail park over the road with lots of shops and a few places to eat.

We had our breakfast and evening meal included - the food was nice, breakfast was a buffet and catered for everyone.

Every member of staff that we saw were friendly, polite and more than happy to assist even the cleaners.

We would definitely return to this wonderful hotel.

We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza John Lennon Airport Liverpool. I have passed on your comments to all our department heads and we look forward to welocoming you back to Crowne Plaza John Lennon Airport Liverpool in the near future.

Many thanks

Vicki Mangan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

A lot of history to this hotel.
The bedroom was great, the staff were helpful and kind but the food was bad. Order sandwiches at the bar and couldn't eat them as it looked like they were already been made up at another time in the day and someone had forgot to cover them so it made the ends of the bread dry.

The hotel is class but not the food.

Room Tip: Bus outside the door is 82 which will take you into all the shops for £2.00 each one way. Shops acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMay059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mango15, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding the food at Crowne Plaza John Lennon Airport Liverpool, I am suprised that your sandwich was not to your satisfaction. I can assure you that all meals are made to order and I have passed this valuable feedback on to our chef.

Many thanks and I look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza John Lennon Airport Liverpool in the near future.

Vicki Mangan
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We chose this hotel as it looked a bit different from the usual chains. The decor has a smart art deco appearance with interesting old travel posters. Our room was also smart and very clean. No complaints about breakfast, all well cooked and good selection. As a family of 4, two of our breaskfasts were included and it was good to see that the additional charge for the children was very modest. We enjoyed the use of the excellent facilitiies at the nearby David Lloyd sports centre but take note, you need to take your own towels ! We had to go back for ours as the staff on reception failed to point this out. Apart from this minor hiccup the service was efficient and friendly and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noz1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

stayed in this hotel for a wedding breakfast in feb 2013. hotel and location is great, retail shopping within 5 minutes walk, easy access to john lennon airport. liverpool city centre and nightlfe a 20 minute taxi ride at approx £15 00. David lloyd free gym memebership included in your stay or a small charge.so basically everything you need.

On the other side we stayed there for a wedding function which in my view, the hotel let itself down totaly un organized, no bar staff suitable to the volume of wedding guests, food average and it lacked a bit of management direction, so if your considering a booking a wedding be warned its all unorganized.

Room Tip: top floor at back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear jake900,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased with your king comments regarding our hotel facility and location. We pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service especially for events and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The classic Art Deco stlying and decor gives it a great 1920's feel as you walk around the hotel, with the posters of travelling and a real sense of what this disused airport was. Food was very good and the level of service from the staff working behind the Bar made it a lovely stay. It is just a shame the same can not be said of the reception staff. Sly comments and looking down your noses is not exceptable! Not letting that get in the way the Hotel was a pleasure. Clean and spacious rooms with excellent gym and pool facilities from the David LLoyd next door. Location - must get Taxi...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leefaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Firstly the hotel was very well located for my needs and the reception staff were very welcoming and pleasant. Now for the bad. The room was freezing and the fan system did not seem to do much in warming it up. As I arrived late and was travelling alone I decided on room service. Healthy options as always were limited so decide to take advantage of this and have a rare treat of burger and chips! On the plus side it arrived very quickly, however this was probably because the chips were not cooked! they were the oven variety and were pale and hard in most cases. The diet however was back on track as I did not eat them, so maybe that was actually a plus! The free one hour wi-fi did not work, I eventually, after 3 attempts of trying did get through to reception to query this and was simply told that it should do! they were however able to give me a code for the 24hour £12 variety that strangely enough worked first time. Having spent all night freezing cold the final straw was that the shower in the morning was also cold. I heard someone else mention this in the foyet also. Breakfast was good, I asked for a poached egg and it was no problem. Without fail the staff were friendly, the beds were comfy the hotel was clean. Would I use again? not sure, maybe due to the convenience but would eat before I got there and pack an extra layer of night clothes. As this was booked for me I have only just realised how reasonably priced it was, just short of £50! so I guess for that I shouldn't really complain.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear angelabb,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff and the convenient location of our hotel in the area. Please allow us to apologize for the unusual temperature of the room accommodations you had and any inconvenience the cold shower may have caused you. We also apologize you were not satisfied with the food you received through room service and the experience you had with our WiFi. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for one night on the first floor. The room was decorated in semi art deco style, it was clean and quiet. The bed was excellent; very confortable. However, there was no fridge and the kettle was small and inefficient. All in all, it is the kind of hotel to spend the night before flying or visiting Liverpool. We will be back.
One good thing: unlike the Crowne Plaza at Manchester airport, parking is free here.

One question, why would anyone want to have a wedding party at a airport hotel?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear FandangoEspanol,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the bed and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation on the room amenities. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#59 of 99 in Liverpool
373 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
1,457 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#25 of 99 in Liverpool
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport

Address: Speke Road | Speke, Liverpool L24 8QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#34 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $67 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly Concierge will greet you on arrival at the hotel, a former Art Deco airport terminal building. Take in the vintage aircraft stationed outside the entrance and step into Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport's Lobby and lounge, where thousands of fans greeted The Beatles in their 60s heyday. Your sumptuous room or suite awaits, or you can head next door for complimentary use of the facilities at David Lloyd Leisure Centre. Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport is 1 mile from Liverpool-John Lennon Airport and 1 mile from Liverpool South Parkway rail station, with direct trains to the city centre in 15 minutes. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and stroll 20 minutes to Speke Hall, a gorgeous Tudor manor house nestled in the woods. Meet colleagues or clients at nearby businesses such as Jaguar Cars and Shop Direct, or invite 300 to banquets and conferences in our 12 elegant meeting rooms. Our Art Deco Starways Restaurant backs onto the former runway, and you can order from 24-hour in-room dining. For a stylish base in a convenient location, you'll find that the long and winding road leads to Crowne Plaza Liverpool-John Lennon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Crown Plaza Hotel Liverpool
Marriott Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing