We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much Missed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paul's Place

Paul's Place
Ranked #43 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: OPEN SUNDAYS FROM 13.00 TO 17.00
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much Missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were very lucky to live in walking distance of Paul's for 5 years. The food is delicious, the service is charming, and it is very good value for money. I have had 2 important celebrations here, one where we hired the whole restaurant out and they could not have been more helpful in helping me arrange a menu, drinks etc.
Sadly we have now left Liverpool - of course we came here for our last meal in the city, but we talk of returning to Paul's, and of finding a new Paul's where we have moved to (not yet).

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LiverpoolBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    32
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just the best for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We are regulars of Paul's Place basically because have never had a bad meal here. Lovely quaint restaurant, top class food cooked by the owner so that says it all !! The tiger prawns on bruschetta are amazing. We have not found any restaurant in Liverpool to beat the food here . You will not be disappointed

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Small restaurant but both the food and service was fantastic. Because of the size booking is a must well worth a visit and we will be going back very soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MotoWoodsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Clean and very tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were celebrating my 60th Birthday.
Booked the restaurant one week before on a recomendation from some friends of ours.
We were glad we had taken their advice, as everthing was of a high standard.
Food and service was first class. have recomended it to lots of people who have found the same experience as we did.
Ps. have been back several times since this review.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Philof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The most hidden of gems”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

On a recent trip to Liverpool with work I was invited out to this restaurant by some collegues. Up on arriving I honestly thought it was a greasy fry up cafe as the front of the place doesnt even begin to explain what is inside. What is inside is an ecellent British restaurant offering very simple food exceptionally well done. The menu is small but all the produce is locally sourced and cooked to perfection by the owner. There cant be more than 30 covers and the atmostphere is definately cosy. I personally had an excellent tiger prawn bruschetta for a first course with an equally impressive lamb on crushed minted peas main. Didnt partake in dessert but collegues asured me was also excellent. They offer a decent selection of wines and the service feels very personal even though there is only one waitress! Dont take my word for it, try it for yourself if your in Liverpool, you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul's Place also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Paul's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing