We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a big wallet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen

The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #137 of 1,651 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Great Wyrley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Take a big wallet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is one of Liverpool's new trendy bars which reflects the prices - £4 for a single malt is what you should expect to pay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrahamParker1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    544
    234
    114
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Visited on an extremely busy Friday night, in spite of which the service was excellent. Every single member of staff I encountered was friendly, courteous and efficient. Food was hot, fresh and really tasty and everyone on our table agreed. I ordered pizza and wasn't holding out much hope with it just being a pub and not an Italian but it was gorgeous. Another plus point was the shared dessert. Often these are small and a bit of a rip off, not at the Hub. Six of us shared the hefty portions and even left a little. All three dishes were beautiful. Another pleasant surprise was the cost which was extremely reasonable as we had 2 courses each, shared dessert and lots of alcohol!! The only negative was the heat, although we are in the middle of a heat wave so il let them off!
I will definitely return and have already recommended to others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ecw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3,275 reviews
2,056 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,455 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Too busy not enough staff! Food was awful and nobody cared. Waited 35 for drinks to arrive. Soup was vile! Chicken was boiled not roasted. Everything tasted pre cooked, frozen or from a packet. The smell outside when you walk in from the kitchens is gross! Toilets were a disgrace. We cut through a side door and ended up in Hanover Street Social. What a discovery! Avoid HUB! Go next door instead!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahCorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ate here last night as a group of 4. Firstly we were brought someone else's drinks. Then the food order was wrong. By the time it was correct the rest of the group had finished. The pizza was barely cooked! They said the pizza would be free as she waited so long for it. When the bill came , not only was the pizza on the bill but a few other items we hadn't had ( red wine, largers etc) no apology made for the error . The manger just left the waiter do deal with everything. Shocking service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerryy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Public Relations Manager at The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi there,

Sorry to hear that you weren’t 100% happy with your recent visit to The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen. I am surprised to read your comments regarding the level of attention you received from our Manager, as your server that evening was actually our General Manager. We apologise for the error with your pizza and are glad that you did not pay for this. I’m also pleased to hear you were offered complimentary desserts for your table. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

Kind Regards,

Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Went here on Tues. very over rated. The food was ok but nothing special. I use a electronic cigarette and was told I couldn't use it. If I wanted to use it had to go outside in smokers area. I am a taxi driver in Liverpool and won't go again or recommend. There are far better places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taxi1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing