We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”

The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen
Ranked #145 of 1,737 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went here for lunch, very busy and had to wait 25 minutes for a table, even when seated had to wait at least 10 minutes to be served. 4 of us went to eat and really only one person was completely satisfied with his pizza. 2 of us had steak, which was really tough and one asked for the 'pie of the day' which turned out to be cottage pie, which was nothing special although he was amused by the small dish of peas (about an egg cupful). Cost was average but not for the quality of food served.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    574
    246
    122
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tidy for a quick bite”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a busy lunchtime and were warmly greeted and sat. Plenty of ales/lagers etc to choose from.
To eat, we had the lite bites tapas selection (plenty to choose from here too). We had 3 tapas and a side of chips. Service was prompt and quality of food was great.
Would have liked to spend more time here but we had a train to catch.
We'll be back to sample the rest of the tapas (and beer) menu again some time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

From our first visit me and my boyfriend were really loooking forward to returning. Safe to say we were very dissapointed! Slow service and awful food. The burger was dripping with grease and a stringy greasy piece of bacon was slobbed on top also the hugest portion of coleslaw ive ever seen was put on my plate. Gutted because the first time we had the meal it was soooo nice and thats why we returned. Even the cocktails were nowere near the same as the first time we went (October 2012). Very dissapointed!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Public Relations Manager at The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi there,

We are sorry to hear that your recent experience in The Hub was not 100% spot on and has left you feeling disappointed. We always strive to provide excellent customer service and to ensure that all of our food is produced and presented to a high standard. Unfortunately it appears that we did not meet our high standards during your visit.

As a valued customer of The Hub I would like to thank you for your comments. I was hoping you would contact me directly and provide me with more details of your visit so we can tackle the issue raised. Please email me on cat@bistroqui.com.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write this review, we value all feedback from our customers as it allows us to grow and develop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sliding downhill very fast”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Always a firm favourite and we usually go every month or so on a Saturday night. In the last few visits each meal has gradually gotten worse. Very small changes at first for example last year the steak was very well presented on a wooden board with a small side salad, portobello mushroom and grilled beef tomato and nearly arranged proper chips. In recent months the same order is served in a pasta plate with everything flung on top of each other (a la Wetherspoons).

Last Saturday night was our most recent and sadly will be our last trip to the hub. We both had starters of calamari and Thai fish cakes. The calamari was like rubber and the fish cakes were tiny. We both asked for very well done steaks, both were cooked medium with chips that were very much over cooked. We both skipped desert after being disappointed by the starter and main. The restaurant got quiet at about 10pm so we didn't feel like we needed to rush our wine. Unfortunately the waiter didn't seem to agree and hovered around the table as if we were going to run off.

Overall, there are many fantastic restaurants in Liverpool, The Hub was one but our money and time will be spent elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irishel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Decided to call in prior to heading back to the hotel for a night on the tiles and what a let down! Aesthetically pleasing on the eye and looks to be a better pub then restaurant. After we were seated we waited 10 mins to place our order, 10 mins to get our drinks and a further 20 mins for food!! Had we not been as hungry we would have left. Eventually the food came out. Homemade chips lovely and tasty but the rest was below average the 'hubslaw' was bland and the chicken tasted boiled?! Would not go back in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonricky1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine D, Public Relations Manager at The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi there,

Sorry to hear that you weren't 100% happy with your recent visit The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen. I am surprised to read your comments regarding our food and I just wanted to reassure you that all of our food is prepared from fresh ingredients daily, and that the chicken is definitely not ‘boiled’’. It is a shame the food was not to your taste on your visit. We’d like to thank you again for your valued feedback.

Kind Regards,

Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Hub Alehouse and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing