We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous.”

Croxteth Hall & Country Park
Ranked #54 of 203 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My partners daughter got married here Friday 14th June 2013, we had a brilliant day everything was perfect and all the staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Thankyou so much for all you help.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wr5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    76
    18
    3
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good day out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Croxteth park is a lovely day out, especially when the sun is shining! The cafe is overpriced but if you prepare and take a cooler box you could be set up for the day! There are two play areas, one specifically for children under five which is good in e school holidays when the bigger park gets a bit full and the older children play a but rough! The farm is good too lots of animals to see!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraHen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice park but disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We bought a Groupon voucher to go to Croxteth hall and in the Web site it said there was a new petting area opening at the end of march in their farm. We arrived and I was impressed by the grounds and pay area, free to enter and great for our 2 year old. The cafe is reasonably priced and the coffee was nice. We stroked the donkeys that were waiting to be ridden. There is a little train ride for £ 2 each but there was no one running it. We went into the Farm... There are lots of pigs and sheep to see. However it is not very interactive. The small animals are difficult for a small child to see and some of the bigger animals are behind high walls. The lambs and kids were very cute. I asked a member of staff about any interaction and she said that when they have lambs the children can give them bottles but there were no lambs that year (I counted at least 6...) my daughter enjoyed running round but missed out on most of the animals. One positive is the little pedal tractors for older children.
I was glad we hadn't paid full price.
Worth a visit for the grounds and the park but there are better farmparks nearby.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Sock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for a day out for any age”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The park it's self was beautifully laid out. There's plenty to see and do around the place the farm with it's fresh eggs!! The house was fantastic they are suppose to be reopening the rooms that were damaged in a fire in the 50s or 60s. The little train has sadly now gone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rivermersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemziboo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good family attraction, just make sure you take cash!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited over Easter weekend for the first time with our three year old and were pleasantly surprised. The grounds are large and free to visit as are the two very good play parks for the kids, our son loved the smaller park but found the bigger park a bit too big for him. We then visited the farm which at £3 each is a bargain with lots of animals to see, as we went over Easter we seen piglets and chicks and my son loved the bird area and the ride on tractors dotted about.
It only started to go a bit wrong when we went to visit the cafe. We had come out without any cash but checked the website which said cards were accepted all over the park so we didn't think it would be a problem. However when we got to the cafe with my three year old on the verge of a meltdown as he wanted a sit down and something to eat and drink we seen signs which said cash only! Very disappointed as this was not stated on their website and there's no cash machine anywhere. Although we didn't eat in there the cafe did look very nice, large with lots of hot and cold food on offer.
We didn't visit the main house as my son decided to have a massive meltdown because he was hungry and wanted to sit down as there was no where to purchase food or drinks using a card when had to leave.
It seems the farm and the house accept card payments but the cafe doesn't and there aren't any cash machines near so be aware and take some cash with you.
We did enjoy our afternoon here, lots to see and do, we may go back when the weather gets nice, although this time we will come prepared with cash.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gemziboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croxteth Hall & Country Park also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Croxteth Hall & Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing