We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Calderstones Park

Calderstones Park
Ranked #38 of 203 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Liverpool
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I've been to this park countless times and it never ceases to amaze me. There always seems to be some part undiscovered and just as beautiful as the rest.

The children's play area is great and gives hours of fun to the little ones. You also have the Sensory Garden, which is full of beautiful flowers, paths to follow and places to picnic. The pond area is also outstanding and often have Heron grazing the long grass.

The only thing for me, which is only my own opinion, is that there seems to be many dog walkers. Lots of dogs running around and creating mayhem. Although, saying that, there is also a none dog section of the park, but it seems a little run down... The owners do seem to keep them under control, which is nice...Mostly :)

On a summer's day, there's very few parks to beat it.

The side where the children's play area is by far the best side of the park, plenty of paths to follow, plenty of seat and tables to have a picnic. The side where there's an outdoor gym is more of a mess and even more full of dogs... not the best really...

But still a wonderful park :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMP1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    65
    18
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful & stunning park”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Calderstones park is a beautiful place to visit & relax on the lawn, whilst taking in the surrounding views of nature. there is also lots of active activities you can do especially with children like the play area, botanical gardens & now the house is open to the public too. we visit a lot with our two daughters :) x love this park, it's a very special place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hula-princess30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“really relaxing park”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been to calderstones since I was a small child.It is very spacious with beautiful gardens and a lake where you can fish or go to feed the various types of ducks.geese and other birds ,moorhens etc.There are masses of all kinds of beautiful trees that have been there as long as I can remember.This park is suitable for all ages and is a safe park for children.There is a play park for children as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very pretty”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is for me one of me most relaxing and beautiful park of the city, I love going there just to relax and enjoy these beautiful gardens !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cyril5064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife5
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Like a memorial-bench festival with plants thrown in for measure”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Such potentially beautiful English and flower gardens spoiled with dozens and dozens of empty benches that could never be filled with enough people to fill them. The park keepers have confused keeping a beautiful park for the pleasure and joy of all with a remberance-bench garden. Over 150 benches in two small gardens. The park keepers have lost the flower plot !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calderstones Park also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Calderstones Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing