We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acorn Farm

Acorn Farm
Ranked #45 of 203 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Acorn Farm is a visitor attraction offering a fun and educational day out in Kirkby, Liverpool. The farm park offers lots of animals to see and feed, two fantastic play areas, small animal petting and horse rides during weekends and school holidays, a cafe serving delicious home-cooked specials and desserts, a farm shop selling toys and gifts, refreshments and free-range home produced meat, eggs and goats milk ice cream and a plant sales area. The farm also runs a day service for local people with learning disabilities and also hosts Riding for the Disabled lessons on Friday mornings. Admission:Adults £2.50Children £1.50 (under 12 months free of charge)Admission prices correct as of 1st March 2012.Groups of 15 or more must book a guided tour, for which there is an additional charge.Small animal petting sessions and horse rides are available every weekend and during KMBC school holidays - please see our website for times. Petting costs £1 per person and horse rides are £2 per ride.Acorn Farm is a working farm as well as a visitor attraction and sells home-produced free-range eggs, beef, pork and lamb. We also produce our own goats milk ice cream in a wide range of delicious flavours. Special events and activities are often held at the farm, including our Halloween Party and Christmas Grotto. Acorn Farm also run an extensive educational programme, which consists of incubator hire, Animobile mobile farm and guided tours.We have a birthday party room available to hire for £40 and also run an animal sponsorship programme - the perfect gift for any animal lover or fan of the farm!(All prices displayed are liable to alteration without notice. Please call us for prices and availability. Thank you!)
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Took my 21 month old granddaughter, she had a great time feeding the friendly animals and the weekend staff in petting and the cafe have the patience of a saint with young children and are very helpful and friendly. Spent twenty five pounds in total on something to eat and animal food including petting and entrance.Great all day visit on a tight budget.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jean q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Nice to hear you had a good visit over the weekend and that your grandaughter enjoyed her time at the farm! Thanks for your feeback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    95
    17
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lancs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for the children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a lovely day out for the children. You can buy a bag of feed for the various animals: pugs, sheep, goats, chickens, horses. You can also book a horse ride (best before your visit), and then have a little lesson (indoors) with chicks, ducks, guinea pigs etc. There is a little cafe where you can stop off for a snack.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Macca48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi there - lovely to hear you had fun visiting us! Our horse rides and small animal petting sessions are available every weekend and during Knowsley school holidays and tickets for both can be bought on the day of your visit. Bags of feed are available for the sheep/goats and chickens/ducks for 50p per bag :) Hope you come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent day out for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The farm is great, really child friendly. There is a great play area too and picnic benches. I know they need to earn a living but if you take my advice buy the sheep food, buy a horse ride, but a petting zoo ticket. Dont buy the food, the price is extortionate, the service in the cafe is very nice but VERY SLOW and the food value for money is poor, take a packed lunch!

The horse rides are great, justa couple of laps and a bit fo a wait but all the same the kids loved it and my 2 year old was fine having a go too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2024Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi there - glad to hear you had a good day at Acorn and that your children enjoyed our horse rides and small animal petting!

I'm sorry that you felt our cafe prices were too expensive - we do try to keep all of our prices as low as we can to ensure that everybody can enjoy the farm. As you mentioned, we do have lots of picnic benches and visitors are very welcome to bring along their own food :)

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to take the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Liked everything, disliked nothing. Lovely place, reasonable prices, great staff, perfect day out for the family

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tillymint62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornFarm, Administrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks for your review! Glad you enjoyed your time at Acorn Farm and we hope you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and cheerful, great for little ones!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The kids love this little farm, it is cheap to get in compared to other Merseyside attractions, though a little small in comparison. There's a fabulous cafe, animal food for sale and you can book for the kids to sit and pet the small animals (chicks, guinea pigs, rabbits and a cockerel!) and good hand washing facilities just outside. The animals are really well looked after and the layout is easy to get round for buggies or wheelchairs too.
There is a really good play area too...don your wellies and warm coats and the kids will play for hours!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornFarm, Adminisitrator at Acorn Farm, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks for your review - glad to hear that your kids enjoyed their day here! We're open 7 days a week from 10am-4pm year round (except for a short break between Christmas & New Year), so please wrap up warm and come see us again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acorn Farm also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Acorn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing